Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.5755
| 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next
Write A Review
May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

Put it this way. After seeing a number of YMTC productions, I had the opportunity to see "Wicked" at the Orphium in San Francisco. It was about 5% better than any of the YMTC productions, and that might be due to the elaborate big budget props!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YMTC is the best youth company I have seen anywhere! Their productions are eagerly anticipated by the community and usually sold out. My daughter studied briefly with Jennifer and YMTC and her experience was life changing. She started with a little raw talent but virtually no training and in a short period of time made major breakthroughs in her vocal range and ability. She is now singing light opera in addition to Musical Theatre. We had to move out of state last year and she really misses her friends and teachers at YMTC, and I miss their wonderful productions. Highly recommended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

Youth Musical Theater Company exceeds the expectations of youth theater for both the audience and the students who are lucky enough to be a part of the program. As a student, I have had the chance to be under the direction of brilliant directors, musical directors, choreographers, and designers; who not only taught me how to perform, but also allowed me the freedom to develop my own identity as a performer. It is a very professional environment, but because we are all encouraged to allow ourselves to be vulnerable as artists, there is a level of trust that is built among the cast, something all teenagers should have the opportunity to be a part of. I have also been an audience member at a YMTC performance, and it was the shows that i saw were phenomenal. Because it is a youth group there is a certain honesty and rawness that the actors exude, and the stories that YMTC actors tell are always powerful and moving. YMTC empowers teenagers, and gives them the extraordinary opportunity of telling the community a story.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

I have been volunteering as the costume designer/manager for many of YMTC's shows since around 2003-04. Before that I was a parent volunteer who helped with costumes. Both of my children were in YMTC and loved it. When my youngest went to college in Fall 2006, I kept volunteering. That's because I am so impressed with the high expectations Jennifer, Dave, Pam, and others have for the kids and how, every time, the kids meet those expectations and even go beyond them. As a costume person, I spend most of my time back stage, which is great, especially during the last couple of shows I did, which involved large, diverse casts. It was wonderful to observe kids from different backgrounds get to know and love each other. Then there's the day I finally get to use my comp tickets to sit with my now adult children (the alums) in the audience and see the show the cast and crew have all worked so hard on. Yes the production values (including the costumes!) are high, but we are always most thrilled with the story-telling, the acting, the singing, and the passionate unity of purpose.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been in two YMTC productions (Anything Goes and Parade), and both were wonderful experiences. I think it is very cool that seventh through twelfth graders like myself get the opportunity to rehearse and perform high caliber shows, and I hope that the tradition continues. From the teen actor's perspective, I have only positive things to say about this organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

I've had an amazing time being in several productions of YMTC's shows. I recommend anyone who's in middle school-high school who's into acting to join them. It's a fantastic experience, and I'm glad I could be a part of it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YMTC identifies immensely talented young singer/actors, provides them with professional training, and produces outstanding community theater with a passion and depth that compares with any professional show in the SF Bay Area performed by seasoned professinals. YMTC provides opportunities and training for all capable and interested young people regardless of their means and offers compelling theater at an affordable price.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

My son participated in 8 YMTC shows from 7th grade to 11th grade, including several lead roles, and had a wonderful time. Jennifer is a brilliant, amazing director, and she has gathered a wonderful group of mentor/professionals in the organization. my son learned so much about singing, acting, being part of a team, and ultimately modeling and leading for the younger students. and he gained so much confidence, which has helped him in many other endeavors over the years. YMTC is truly a priceless jewel. And I think the whole crew would really know how to take advantage of greater stability in its funding, to serve even more young people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

The Youth Musical Theater Company is so important in the community. It provides professional level acting experience for youth. I was in the audience for their production of "Ragtime," and I was shocked to learn that the oldest actor was in his early 20's. I was shocked because they were so good, so well rehearsed, and seemed to be so experienced. This production also required singing and dancing, which were also excellent. My 13 year old friend was in the production, and his parents told me that of all his experiences with different companies, this one stood out because the director held very high standards for his cast. We need this company to thrive so that not only cast members can benefit, but also audiences from the community. They are very very inspiring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

My intro to this organization was a performance of Les Miserables, which still ranks as one of the best I have ever seen. And these were middle-and high-school performers... Then, my shy daughter participated in several YMTC workshops, where she learned she could indeed sing, dance, and have a stage presence. Which led her to realize she could also speak up in school classes...I have seen numerous performances since, all of exceptional musical quality. YMTC is by far the best youth musical theatre in the SF Bay Area, and its director, Jennifer Boesing, is exceptional for her ability to inspire and educate young singers and performers, and for her own musical gifts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers