Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

I've been on 1 missions trip with YMI, and I've also helped with sports camp, and it's great to see the impact they've made in not only my life, but in the lives of the people who've crossed paths with them. They are a great organization encouraging teens, like myself to go on trips to share the gospel! I'm excited to be going to Brazil this upcoming summer through them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Over the past few years I have led 2 different types of mission trips with Youth Missions International. The first summer, I led a mission trip to Costa Rica with my youth group. YMI made all the connections we needed and made sure our team was trained and equipped for the work we were going to do. The second summer, my wife and I led a trip to Japan with students from around the country. Everyone we ministered with in Japan commented on how well trained our students were. On both trips I felt that we were well supported by the YMI team back home. Furthermore we came back from each trip encouraged about what God is doing around the world and excited about the role we were able to play. I would recomend YMI to any youth group that would like to take a mission trip but is not sure where to go or what to do. I would also recomend YMI to any individual who would like to serve God in another country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was connected with YMI in the summer of 2012. I got the opportunity to go on a mission trip to Brasil through them. YMI's mission trip was different then any other mission trip I'd been on before though. YMI wants (and makes it very clear) to see you have the best experience possible. They don't just want you to go out into the field unprepared; they help you every step of the way. I was also given the opportunity to be a sports ministry intern during the 2013 summer. So I got to work with YMI all summer and help run church camps at local churches. The way they impacted me most though is how relational they are. They don't treat you like you're just another person going on a mission trip. They treat you like family. They want you to feel at home. They want to see you enjoy and have the best mission experience possible. Most of all though, they want to see and help you build you're relationship with God. They are an organization that is centered around God. All in all, they helped me grow in my faith, be more confident in my faith and in my sharing of faith. They helped me better understand the true purpose of life; to live for the one true God.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been involved with YMI for the past three years running sport camps. I have had a great time teaching others about God and sports. Love to meet kids who haven't heard of God before because I get to share with them about the All Might, Powerful God. Can't wait to go overseas this year with YMI for a missions trip to Zambia!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Back in 2009 I went on my first mission trip ever- to Cape Town South Africa. It was an absolutely amazing experience! During my time there I was able to work with both children and adults through AWANA based programs, as well as leadership roles in a 200+ student camp. Since YMI made sure to train the youth team so thoroughly, I felt like I was ready for anything! Even when a few curve balls were thrown at us during our time there, we were taught to be flexible and everything worked out great!

During the summer of 2012, I went on my second mission trip- this time to Costa Rica. This was different from my first trip because the team I was on consisted of my church youth group. I was grateful for this aspect of YMI because other organizations don't always have an option for church groups. However YMI was able to train and send all fifteen of the teams members of all ages down to Costa Rica where we were able to help the local missionary with several construction progjects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have led several trips through Youth Missions International and would highly recommend it as a great organization to help you plan your next church missions trip. Also, if you are an individual who would like to go on a missions trip, Youth Missions International would be the one for you. Their material says, "More than a missions trip." and that is so true. Their training is far superior to any other mission trip organizations that I know of. Participants get full exposure to missions while being adequately prepared to make the missions trip a success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

This past summer i helped lead a team to Northern Ireland. It was one of the best experiences i have ever had. YMI prepares young adults with the ability to be diverse in so many tools. The youth were prepared to work with any age and in most scenarios. The team i helped with went door to door to share the gospel during the day and at night worked with a youth center. Because of their training and support these youth were able to impact so many people.
I now get the privilege of sending my son on a YMI trip this year. Since his training in August he is more prepared with his testimony, sharing Bible stories, leading worship at church. Plus he has so much support from his team leaders and other team members during prep work for his mission trip!
if i ever have the chance i will defiantly lead again. I also cant wait for my son to be able to go on a college trip and possible intern through YMI.
The impact that YMI has on my family is truly a blessing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to travel to Costa Rica with 8 teen students and 1 other adult leader, in July of this year. It was so great to have YMI as our sending agent. They did an awesome job of training us and our students. Our trainers went above the call to transport us serve us, lead us and prepare us for our trip. And the Students were top of the line young adults. If you have ever wanted to Travel and enjoy learning about people in their own culture, this is a great way to do it. Not as a tourist, but as a servant. You get the real people. Carla and Jeff Floyd

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Last year, I went to Brasil for 2.5 weeks with YMI. This year, I will be going to Brasil for 5 weeks. Though, going does not make it a good program. The thing that makes it a solid non-profit is the organization. For being a small non-profit, they are very organized and communicate efficiently. Also, while planning the trip to Brasil, last year, I was on board with the trip about 4 months later than the optimal time to sign up. Even with that, they still worked with me, with love and patience, to be able to go to Brasil. As the time neared to leave, I was still $100 short. Yet, they had patience about that to. Of course, that money did get given to them. Still, through all of it, they had patience. John Stiffler, the college program director, communicates effectively and in a timely manner, which many non-profits do not do. It is clear that YMI cares about their mission enough to be organized, responsible, and everything that makes a non-profit amazing to work with! From a less personal level, it is also clear that they care about raising future leaders for the LORD. Although I am not involved, I have heard many good things about the intern program. I am a strong advocate for YMI and their mission!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have been on 9 overseas mission trips, 3 of them being with Youth Missions International. I went to South Korea as a student leader, I spent an entire summer interning with YMI in which I went to Guatemala with a team, and then I returned to South Korea as a team leader. Having filled three completely different roles, I have been changed and poured into by my team leaders, and in turn, was able to pour into the lives of my peers in Guatemala - then as a team leader (S.Korea) into the lives of my team. It has been a life-changing and humbling experience as I have watched God, time after time, change lives and grow His children so that they can learn how to live their faith, and teach the people in their circles how to do the same. It has been confimed in me that the Lord wants me to ultimately be teaching English in the Dominican Republic as my life ministry, for which I am striving towards - and it is through these trips that He has not only revealed that to me...but He has also used them to change me, mold me, and prepare me for what He has ahead in His plan that I am priviledged to join in on. How exciting!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers