Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.973215
Write A Review
July 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Not many nonprofit could match Youth Journalism International's standards when it comes to empowering the youth to become actively engaged in living out their passions. Here is an extraordinary organization dedicated to helping young people all over the world to become better writers, cartoonists, journalists, designers, photographers and the like. This is an organization where dreams are made into realities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would establish a permanent endowment to help YJI outlive our generation. For one, YJI has what it takes to have its newsroom and permanent staff; besides, it offers global perspectives to topical issues than many mainstream media.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Youth Journalism International is an extraordinary organization that is the training ground for the Pulitzer Prize-winners of the future. Executive Director Jackie Majerus is an experienced veteran of the newspaper business, and of the journalism education world, having been teaching young journalists since 1994. She, and the others who work with students at YJI, are helping them learn the skills that make a great journalist. And really, isn't that what this is all about?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More staff, which means more money. Fundraising efforts need to be improved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Ever since joining YJI a few month back, it's become an extremely important part of my life. Through this organization, I've met many great people and gained a lot of treasured experiences.
From the day I joined, I was welcomed heartily, and having such a supportive community of writers has
given me a lot more confidence in my own writing.
I've covered stories at the Peace in Connecticut conference for nonviolence and the Inspiration to Action panel, events that I probably wouldn't have attended otherwise, but that I was really glad to have gone to. And just recently I was able to go on the Toronto Tour 2014 and meet up with more YJI students in Canada where we collaborated on a bunch of pieces. I made a lot great friends on the trip and learned about their lives, which gave me great perspective.
So many of the experiences I've had with YJI - ranging from camping, to trying falafel, to traveling to a country that I've never been to before - would not have happened for me without this organization. The best part is that after having these experiences, I get to share them with readers from all over the world.
In addition, I've learned so much about journalism, writing, and about myself as a writer. Jackie and Steve are great mentors; they're incredibly dedicated and encouraging. I could not think of better people to learn journalism from.
For many teens nowadays, it's hard to get their opinions across and be taken seriously. YJI does a great job helping youths around the world express themselves in a sophisticated manner. Even if someone's not looking to become a journalist, YJI is a great organization to be a part of, just for the new experiences and sense of community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
June 4, 2013

I'm honored to be part of YJI. They played important role in my life. - They gave me the opportunity to publish my photojournalism. - They helped me when I was attacked in demonstration and my camer... more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is amazing organization where I had life-changing Experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I'm honored to be part of YJI. They played important role in my life.

- They gave me the opportunity to publish my photojournalism.
- They helped me when I was attacked in demonstration and my camera was stolen, they made campaign and brought me other equipment.
- They always
motivate me and taught me many important lessons in photojournalism and personal life.
- They always offer us different opportunities to participate in local and international contest.

YJI is not just educational charity, YJI is awesome family and life that I'm honored to be part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is not only amazing organization, it's also amazing family. They really help young people to make a difference in their community through giving them amazing journalistic skills and giving them platform to show their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is the best opportunity that youth can have. They really give us the space we need to express our opinions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They make really outstanding outcome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing because YJI is really amazing.

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being part of youth journalism international YJI has been more than just a learning experience, they're a real world wide family that teaches, supports, and share experiences. YJI's learning system offers a real valuable learning in journalism where everything's explained l, and even if you're lost you'll find the answer by being a part of YJI's family.
That's only a breif summary of how is it like to be a part of youth journalism international, my international journalism family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Youth Journalism International is a great organisation, full of pleasant and welcoming people. They are always willing to take the stories their students want to publish, and are set up so that you can write what suits you whenever it suits you, which is extremely helpful when school work means that you need to take a break. When a new person joins Jackie alerts the students, so that we can all welcome the new person into the organisation, and it is clear from the start that you will be cared about.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 28, 2012

I came to YJI as a 15-year-old high school sophomore with a keen but unfocused interest in writing. Through one-on-one mentoring and on-the-job news training with Jackie and Steve Majerus-Collins, I w... more

May 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I began our journalism careers as students with Youth Journalism International.

We're now both award-winning professional reporters who have been published by a number of newspapers and now work for the News & Record in Greensboro, NC.

We use the skills we learned from
YJI's Jackie Majerus and Steve Collins every day and have been lucky enough to pass them on to other young journalists, students and interns. We've been amazed to see Youth Journalism International grow in the years since we were students and the quality of the journalism they produce with young people all over the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure the group is well funded and promoted for all the work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came to YJI as a 15-year-old high school sophomore with a keen but unfocused interest in writing. Through one-on-one mentoring and on-the-job news training with Jackie and Steve Majerus-Collins, I was set on the path that would make me an award winning professional reporter.

Youth
Journalism International took a raw, burgeoning curiosity and honed it into a passion and skill for investigation and analysis.

It put me miles ahead in my first college journalism classes and gave me a leg-up when I began looking (and competing) for internships.

And ultimately, it taught me ethical and technical lessons I still use everyday in my career as a journalist.

Just as crucially, it introduced me to other young men and women from different backgrounds, classes and cultures -- a number of whom became lifelong friends. Opening a young person's world that way is invaluable and still a vital part of what this group does every day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2010

When I was a high school student Youth Journalism International taught me the ropes of journalism - the essential reporting and writing skills. But more importantly, it taught me why journalism is important and instilled in me the importance of passing that on. Group founders Jackie Majerus and Steve Collins, both professional reporters, take the time to not only teach students what they need to know to become journalists, but instill in them that what they do matters - that they can correct injustices, inform people, connect them to their communities and help them to live better and more freely. My work as a student journalist helped me win scholarships, go to college, secure paid internships at professional newspapers, freelance for professional publications and ultimately land a full-time job as a working journalist. Few if any of those things would have been possible without YJI. The YJI experience also helped me to understand the importance of continuing to teach others and to give them the opportunities YJI gave me. It led to my mentoring young people from students the college paper where I was editor to interns in newsrooms, through YJI itself and in student journalism projects of my own.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced this organization's work as a student who was mentored and educated, as a volunteer where I have seen the difference it makes in the lives of students and as a professional journalist continually impressed by its work.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing the difference it makes in the lives of all sorts of students, from all sorts of backgrounds, and the work they're capable of producing once they're given the skills and mentoring the group provides.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Knowledgeable, committed and tireless in their efforts to instill in tomorrow's journalists the skill and love that will keep an essential civic function healthy well into the future.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach even more worldwide students than it already does, allowing them to tell their stories and teaching them to make a difference in their communities using the skills they learn through YJI.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For people like me who love writing but didn't have a patform on which to practise journalism, YJI is a real blessing. The feedback and tips that Jackie and Steve give us are particularly valuable. Add to that the fact that anybody can write for YJI but the quality of writing still remains extremely high, and you've got the reasons YJI is a great non-profit!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 24, 2012

I was lucky enough to become involved with Youth Journalism International in 1996, when I was a sophomore in high school. At that point I was a teenager who wanted to get into writing and reporting,... more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began with Youth Journalism International during my sophomore year of high school, over a decade ago. I can say, in all honesty, that it was one of the best decisions of my life. Through my work for YJI, I learned how to become an effective writer, researcher and communicator. I had the opportunity to write stories about issues of real local interest: whether it was school board happenings, local sports results, or human interest stories, YJI gave me the opportunity to make my thoughts heard. My work at YJI helped me obtain a substantial scholarship to college, journalism awards, and helped put me on the road that has ended up with my becoming an attorney. Through the years, Steve and Jackie have continued to give that same opportunity to young people all over the world. They are truly wonderful people who have given life to a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to become involved with Youth Journalism International in 1996, when I was a sophomore in high school. At that point I was a teenager who wanted to get into writing and reporting, but had no idea how and where to start. Over the next three years, I learned about writing, reporting and researching, skills which helped me through college, law school, and continue to help me in my career as an attorney. I also learned that if you truly care, if you truly have a passion for something, you can make a difference. I learned that because Steve and Jackie truly care about introducing teens to the world of journalism, and they have made a difference to teens all over the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2010

I was involved with Youth Journalism International when I was a high school student, from 1996-1999. It is hard to explain just how important that experience was to my development, both academically and as a person. I learned to write effectively for a variety of audiences. I also learned to research topics so that I was telling a complete story for the readers of our newspaper. I learned that when you work on a team, with a group, it is important to follow through on your work, because, in a way, everyone is depending on you. Even more importantly, I gained self-confidence, in that I found out that with hard work I could put out a news story that was of interest to people in my area. Steve and Jackie are two of the most thoughtful, most dedicated people I've ever met. They truly care about the members of YJI, and have done everything in their power to make sure that everyone has a positive experience. You can find people positively affected by YJI on a local level, a national level, and a global level. The lessons I learned from Steve and Jackie served me well in college, in law school, and now as I practice law. I can never thank them enough, and I can't say enough positive things about YJI.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that YJI has been crucial in my development as a student and professional. The writing and researching skills I learned will serve me well for the remainder of my career.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

working with Steve and Jackie, and learning about writing, researching, and working as a team to put out a great end product.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind people from a variety of backgrounds. Everyone worked hard and truly wanted to learn how to write and produce news stories.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

have an even greater global reach, and could help improve journalism education for students across the world.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 25, 2012

I got involved with YJI during my freshman year of high school, 15 years ago. Jackie and Steve were excellent mentors who taught me the skills necessary to research, write, and publish news and opinio... more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started working with Youth Journalism International more than a decade ago. From the beginning, Jackie and Steve served as mentors, honing my writing and interviewing skills. Their efforts led me to be more inquisitive, more thoughtful, and more capable of sniffing out a story from miles away. Although their efforts were directed through the lens of journalism, the results have served me well throughout college, medical school, and now a neurosurgery residency. Jackie and Steve, through Youth Journalism International provide young students with the skills necessary to develop as critical thinkers and flourish in any field or career.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I got involved with YJI during my freshman year of high school, 15 years ago. Jackie and Steve were excellent mentors who taught me the skills necessary to research, write, and publish news and opinion articles. They empowered me, as a teenager, to ask questions of the adults around me, and they taught me to do this in a respectful, but persistent, manner. The technical skills have been tremendously helpful throughout my work as a medical student and researcher. More importantly, my time with YJI gave me ye skills and confidence needed to succeed as a woman in the male-dominated field of neurosurgery.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers