Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.973215
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I feel privileged to be a reporter in youth journalism international, YJI is best described as the voice of the voiceless youth, they help us to be heard, I really enjoy learning new things there and I encourage all the youth to write and share their stories with YJI, it worth the try.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kids all over the world have come together to write their own stories for this organization, talking about their lives and their experiences. My story is not particularly heartwarming or incredible, but nonetheless it is an incredible experience for young writers, and an excellent chance to show the entire world what's important to you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

They are a great foundation. I have learned about writing and have even gotten published! A wonderful opportunity and met great people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is a group like no other. They help youth all over the world cover their communities, regions and countries. YJI shows them that their articles and photos can have a positive impact on where they live, that they have a voice. YJI empowers youth. This is a priceless gift and I can think of no other group which has such a impact on youth. Jackie and Steve are tireless in their devotion to these young people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

secure more donations so they could help more young people create more positive change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a part of YJI for 6 years now and it has really impacted my life. Jackie and Steve are the best mentors and teachers, and my writing has improved tremendously. Not only have I learned everything about journalism, but the things I've been able to experience are amazing. We've gone to plays, talks and speeches by incredible people and recently we even went on a tour of Toronto, Canada. In Canada, we met with 3 other reporters for YJI who we'd only spoken to online. It was amazing to have something in common with those girls and with other people all over the world. I've gotten to know some great people from right here in West Hartford as well as from other countries, like Uganda and Tunisia, through YJI. Reporters for YJI come from tons of different cultures and backgrounds and share their expeirence through writing which is posted online on YJI's website. It's amazing that readers and other writers can learn about all kinds of events and customs from kids and teens who are right there. I volunteer at all of YJI's public events and I can honestly say that I support the organization 100%.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with YJI is amazing. I've had na huge support from the members, my writing got better and I realized how much certain things are importante to journalism, such as sources and photos, all that can give credibility to the professional and reliability to the readers. I think everyone should be a part of an organization like that, so well organized and supportive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
June 4, 2013

I'm honored to be part of YJI. They played important role in my life. - They gave me the opportunity to publish my photojournalism. - They helped me when I was attacked in demonstration and my camer... more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is amazing organization where I had life-changing Experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I'm honored to be part of YJI. They played important role in my life.

- They gave me the opportunity to publish my photojournalism.
- They helped me when I was attacked in demonstration and my camera was stolen, they made campaign and brought me other equipment.
- They always
motivate me and taught me many important lessons in photojournalism and personal life.
- They always offer us different opportunities to participate in local and international contest.

YJI is not just educational charity, YJI is awesome family and life that I'm honored to be part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is not only amazing organization, it's also amazing family. They really help young people to make a difference in their community through giving them amazing journalistic skills and giving them platform to show their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is the best opportunity that youth can have. They really give us the space we need to express our opinions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They make really outstanding outcome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing because YJI is really amazing.

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started being involved in YJI in December 2010, and it is definitely worth it. As a student in high school, I'm able to report and write and be published already, and it's truly a great feeling. The people who started this, Jackie and Steve, are kind people who have taught me a lot about journalism and writing. Without them, this awesome opportunity wouldn't be there for me or any of the other teenagers all over the world who participate in YJI. Right now I am a junior in high school seriously looking at a job in English education so I can educate young people on the wonders of writing and journalism like Steve and Jackie have done for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

As an IBO teacher I can't but praise Youth Journalism international. When my daughter began collaborating with them I couldn't believe that such a wonderful project would help her improving not only h... more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't but reiterate my appreciation of Jackie and steve job! Keep on, you can't even imagine what you have been doing for young people! Thanks, thanks, thanks

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As an IBO teacher I can't but praise Youth Journalism international. When my daughter began collaborating with them I couldn't believe that such a wonderful project would help her improving not only her writing but also her critical thinking skills. Writing is a powerful weapon of peace and Jackie and Steve have been able put toghether an army of soldiers using their keybord as weapons of peace, human rights, culture, worldover. Thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As one of Youth Journalism International's first student reporters, I have been thoroughly impressed by how much this organization has grown and how much it has helped connect young journalists. Prior to working with Jackie and Steve, the founders of YJI, my interests were mostly in creative writing. However, with their guidance, I found a new writing outlet. Had I not been involved with YJI as a high school student, I would never have had the courage to apply to be a student reporter at my college's newspaper. I worked my way up through the ranks and even held an editorial position. I do not believe I would have chosen this path had it not been for YJI, and I'm grateful to Jackie and Steve for their continued support. Part of what is so fantastic about YJI is that the contributors are teens from around the world reporting on issues that matter to them. Another great thing about YJI is that the network doesn't end once you are no longer a teen. Many YJI student reporters have traveled or studied abroad and have had the opportunity to connect with other YJI members. I myself have experienced this and feel that it is one of the many things that makes YJI special. Youth Journalism International fosters a respectful atmosphere and connects budding journalists from around the globe, allowing its members to hone their journalistic skills and create lifelong friends in the process.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers