Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.973215
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being part of youth journalism international YJI has been more than just a learning experience, they're a real world wide family that teaches, supports, and share experiences. YJI's learning system offers a real valuable learning in journalism where everything's explained l, and even if you're lost you'll find the answer by being a part of YJI's family.
That's only a breif summary of how is it like to be a part of youth journalism international, my international journalism family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Youth Journalism International is a great organisation, full of pleasant and welcoming people. They are always willing to take the stories their students want to publish, and are set up so that you can write what suits you whenever it suits you, which is extremely helpful when school work means that you need to take a break. When a new person joins Jackie alerts the students, so that we can all welcome the new person into the organisation, and it is clear from the start that you will be cared about.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with YJI is amazing. I've had na huge support from the members, my writing got better and I realized how much certain things are importante to journalism, such as sources and photos, all that can give credibility to the professional and reliability to the readers. I think everyone should be a part of an organization like that, so well organized and supportive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

My son who is 13 years old in Singpaore is interested to be a journailist on TV Can you kindly assist to point him in the right direction to fan his interests and passion and to guide him on how to learn and be a great TV journalist? My email is prlst@yahoo.com Thank you Paul

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Though I have only been a reporter for Youth Journalism International for a short time, the experience is beyond my expectations. I am motivated to work on journalism at a professional level, all thanks to the great tips and comments from Jackie and Steve. What's more, YJI has become a community of aspiring students and journalists that I feel truly attached to. I know that if I travel to distant land, Jackie will be the first to reach out to local YJI reporters, who are glad to help me as I need.

When I think of YJI, I think of enthusiasm and gratitude. We are bound not only by the same passion but also by love and support. It is one of my best high-school decisions to be a part of such an amazing community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 28, 2012

I came to YJI as a 15-year-old high school sophomore with a keen but unfocused interest in writing. Through one-on-one mentoring and on-the-job news training with Jackie and Steve Majerus-Collins, I w... more

May 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I began our journalism careers as students with Youth Journalism International.

We're now both award-winning professional reporters who have been published by a number of newspapers and now work for the News & Record in Greensboro, NC.

We use the skills we learned from
YJI's Jackie Majerus and Steve Collins every day and have been lucky enough to pass them on to other young journalists, students and interns. We've been amazed to see Youth Journalism International grow in the years since we were students and the quality of the journalism they produce with young people all over the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure the group is well funded and promoted for all the work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came to YJI as a 15-year-old high school sophomore with a keen but unfocused interest in writing. Through one-on-one mentoring and on-the-job news training with Jackie and Steve Majerus-Collins, I was set on the path that would make me an award winning professional reporter.

Youth
Journalism International took a raw, burgeoning curiosity and honed it into a passion and skill for investigation and analysis.

It put me miles ahead in my first college journalism classes and gave me a leg-up when I began looking (and competing) for internships.

And ultimately, it taught me ethical and technical lessons I still use everyday in my career as a journalist.

Just as crucially, it introduced me to other young men and women from different backgrounds, classes and cultures -- a number of whom became lifelong friends. Opening a young person's world that way is invaluable and still a vital part of what this group does every day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2010

When I was a high school student Youth Journalism International taught me the ropes of journalism - the essential reporting and writing skills. But more importantly, it taught me why journalism is important and instilled in me the importance of passing that on. Group founders Jackie Majerus and Steve Collins, both professional reporters, take the time to not only teach students what they need to know to become journalists, but instill in them that what they do matters - that they can correct injustices, inform people, connect them to their communities and help them to live better and more freely. My work as a student journalist helped me win scholarships, go to college, secure paid internships at professional newspapers, freelance for professional publications and ultimately land a full-time job as a working journalist. Few if any of those things would have been possible without YJI. The YJI experience also helped me to understand the importance of continuing to teach others and to give them the opportunities YJI gave me. It led to my mentoring young people from students the college paper where I was editor to interns in newsrooms, through YJI itself and in student journalism projects of my own.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced this organization's work as a student who was mentored and educated, as a volunteer where I have seen the difference it makes in the lives of students and as a professional journalist continually impressed by its work.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing the difference it makes in the lives of all sorts of students, from all sorts of backgrounds, and the work they're capable of producing once they're given the skills and mentoring the group provides.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Knowledgeable, committed and tireless in their efforts to instill in tomorrow's journalists the skill and love that will keep an essential civic function healthy well into the future.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach even more worldwide students than it already does, allowing them to tell their stories and teaching them to make a difference in their communities using the skills they learn through YJI.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

YJI inspires and connects aspiring journalists around the world, providing many young people with opportunities they might not otherwise have. I've worked with the professional journalists at YJI's helm, and there's no one better suited to guide them in the tenets of journalism.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... give YJI money to sustain the program for the long haul.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For people like me who love writing but didn't have a patform on which to practise journalism, YJI is a real blessing. The feedback and tips that Jackie and Steve give us are particularly valuable. Add to that the fact that anybody can write for YJI but the quality of writing still remains extremely high, and you've got the reasons YJI is a great non-profit!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started being involved in YJI in December 2010, and it is definitely worth it. As a student in high school, I'm able to report and write and be published already, and it's truly a great feeling. The people who started this, Jackie and Steve, are kind people who have taught me a lot about journalism and writing. Without them, this awesome opportunity wouldn't be there for me or any of the other teenagers all over the world who participate in YJI. Right now I am a junior in high school seriously looking at a job in English education so I can educate young people on the wonders of writing and journalism like Steve and Jackie have done for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

At a time when young people are provided with fewer opportunities to meaningfully explore careers or find positive outlets for expressing themselves concerning serious issues of public debate, Steve and Jackie have created an invaluable resource to promote communication, positive self-expression and meaningful career advancement. Their passion for journalism and willingness to devote their time and resources to young people from all over the world is unparalleled. I wish there were more organizations like Youth Journalism International to push kids in the right direction.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers