Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
110 Reviews
1234.972735
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
July 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Not many nonprofit could match Youth Journalism International's standards when it comes to empowering the youth to become actively engaged in living out their passions. Here is an extraordinary organization dedicated to helping young people all over the world to become better writers, cartoonists, journalists, designers, photographers and the like. This is an organization where dreams are made into realities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would establish a permanent endowment to help YJI outlive our generation. For one, YJI has what it takes to have its newsroom and permanent staff; besides, it offers global perspectives to topical issues than many mainstream media.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Kids all over the world have come together to write their own stories for this organization, talking about their lives and their experiences. My story is not particularly heartwarming or incredible, but nonetheless it is an incredible experience for young writers, and an excellent chance to show the entire world what's important to you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Youth Journalism International is an extraordinary organization that is the training ground for the Pulitzer Prize-winners of the future. Executive Director Jackie Majerus is an experienced veteran of the newspaper business, and of the journalism education world, having been teaching young journalists since 1994. She, and the others who work with students at YJI, are helping them learn the skills that make a great journalist. And really, isn't that what this is all about?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More staff, which means more money. Fundraising efforts need to be improved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Ever since joining YJI a few month back, it's become an extremely important part of my life. Through this organization, I've met many great people and gained a lot of treasured experiences.
From the day I joined, I was welcomed heartily, and having such a supportive community of writers has
given me a lot more confidence in my own writing.
I've covered stories at the Peace in Connecticut conference for nonviolence and the Inspiration to Action panel, events that I probably wouldn't have attended otherwise, but that I was really glad to have gone to. And just recently I was able to go on the Toronto Tour 2014 and meet up with more YJI students in Canada where we collaborated on a bunch of pieces. I made a lot great friends on the trip and learned about their lives, which gave me great perspective.
So many of the experiences I've had with YJI - ranging from camping, to trying falafel, to traveling to a country that I've never been to before - would not have happened for me without this organization. The best part is that after having these experiences, I get to share them with readers from all over the world.
In addition, I've learned so much about journalism, writing, and about myself as a writer. Jackie and Steve are great mentors; they're incredibly dedicated and encouraging. I could not think of better people to learn journalism from.
For many teens nowadays, it's hard to get their opinions across and be taken seriously. YJI does a great job helping youths around the world express themselves in a sophisticated manner. Even if someone's not looking to become a journalist, YJI is a great organization to be a part of, just for the new experiences and sense of community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

They are a great foundation. I have learned about writing and have even gotten published! A wonderful opportunity and met great people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is a group like no other. They help youth all over the world cover their communities, regions and countries. YJI shows them that their articles and photos can have a positive impact on where they live, that they have a voice. YJI empowers youth. This is a priceless gift and I can think of no other group which has such a impact on youth. Jackie and Steve are tireless in their devotion to these young people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

secure more donations so they could help more young people create more positive change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
June 4, 2013

I'm honored to be part of YJI. They played important role in my life. - They gave me the opportunity to publish my photojournalism. - They helped me when I was attacked in demonstration and my camer... more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is amazing organization where I had life-changing Experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I'm honored to be part of YJI. They played important role in my life.

- They gave me the opportunity to publish my photojournalism.
- They helped me when I was attacked in demonstration and my camera was stolen, they made campaign and brought me other equipment.
- They always
motivate me and taught me many important lessons in photojournalism and personal life.
- They always offer us different opportunities to participate in local and international contest.

YJI is not just educational charity, YJI is awesome family and life that I'm honored to be part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is not only amazing organization, it's also amazing family. They really help young people to make a difference in their community through giving them amazing journalistic skills and giving them platform to show their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is the best opportunity that youth can have. They really give us the space we need to express our opinions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They make really outstanding outcome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing because YJI is really amazing.

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a part of YJI for 6 years now and it has really impacted my life. Jackie and Steve are the best mentors and teachers, and my writing has improved tremendously. Not only have I learned everything about journalism, but the things I've been able to experience are amazing. We've gone to plays, talks and speeches by incredible people and recently we even went on a tour of Toronto, Canada. In Canada, we met with 3 other reporters for YJI who we'd only spoken to online. It was amazing to have something in common with those girls and with other people all over the world. I've gotten to know some great people from right here in West Hartford as well as from other countries, like Uganda and Tunisia, through YJI. Reporters for YJI come from tons of different cultures and backgrounds and share their expeirence through writing which is posted online on YJI's website. It's amazing that readers and other writers can learn about all kinds of events and customs from kids and teens who are right there. I volunteer at all of YJI's public events and I can honestly say that I support the organization 100%.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being part of youth journalism international YJI has been more than just a learning experience, they're a real world wide family that teaches, supports, and share experiences. YJI's learning system offers a real valuable learning in journalism where everything's explained l, and even if you're lost you'll find the answer by being a part of YJI's family.
That's only a breif summary of how is it like to be a part of youth journalism international, my international journalism family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Youth Journalism International is a great organisation, full of pleasant and welcoming people. They are always willing to take the stories their students want to publish, and are set up so that you can write what suits you whenever it suits you, which is extremely helpful when school work means that you need to take a break. When a new person joins Jackie alerts the students, so that we can all welcome the new person into the organisation, and it is clear from the start that you will be cared about.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers