Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.97985
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
February 3, 2014

more

February 3, 2014

My son who is 13 years old in Singpaore is interested to be a journailist on TV Can you kindly assist to point him in the right direction to fan his interests and passion and to guide him on how to learn and be a great TV journalist? My email is prlst@yahoo.com Thank you Paul

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 22, 2012

YJI is not only amazing organization, it's also amazing family. They really help young people to make a difference in their community through giving them amazing journalistic skills and giving them pl... more

June 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I'm honored to be part of YJI. They played important role in my life.

- They gave me the opportunity to publish my photojournalism.
- They helped me when I was attacked in demonstration and my camera was stolen, they made campaign and brought me other equipment.
- They always
motivate me and taught me many important lessons in photojournalism and personal life.
- They always offer us different opportunities to participate in local and international contest.

YJI is not just educational charity, YJI is awesome family and life that I'm honored to be part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is not only amazing organization, it's also amazing family. They really help young people to make a difference in their community through giving them amazing journalistic skills and giving them platform to show their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

YJI is the best opportunity that youth can have. They really give us the space we need to express our opinions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They make really outstanding outcome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing because YJI is really amazing.

May 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Though I have only been a reporter for Youth Journalism International for a short time, the experience is beyond my expectations. I am motivated to work on journalism at a professional level, all thanks to the great tips and comments from Jackie and Steve. What's more, YJI has become a community of aspiring students and journalists that I feel truly attached to. I know that if I travel to distant land, Jackie will be the first to reach out to local YJI reporters, who are glad to help me as I need.

When I think of YJI, I think of enthusiasm and gratitude. We are bound not only by the same passion but also by love and support. It is one of my best high-school decisions to be a part of such an amazing community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 28, 2012

I came to YJI as a 15-year-old high school sophomore with a keen but unfocused interest in writing. Through one-on-one mentoring and on-the-job news training with Jackie and Steve Majerus-Collins, I w... more

May 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I began our journalism careers as students with Youth Journalism International.

We're now both award-winning professional reporters who have been published by a number of newspapers and now work for the News & Record in Greensboro, NC.

We use the skills we learned from
YJI's Jackie Majerus and Steve Collins every day and have been lucky enough to pass them on to other young journalists, students and interns. We've been amazed to see Youth Journalism International grow in the years since we were students and the quality of the journalism they produce with young people all over the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure the group is well funded and promoted for all the work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came to YJI as a 15-year-old high school sophomore with a keen but unfocused interest in writing. Through one-on-one mentoring and on-the-job news training with Jackie and Steve Majerus-Collins, I was set on the path that would make me an award winning professional reporter.

Youth
Journalism International took a raw, burgeoning curiosity and honed it into a passion and skill for investigation and analysis.

It put me miles ahead in my first college journalism classes and gave me a leg-up when I began looking (and competing) for internships.

And ultimately, it taught me ethical and technical lessons I still use everyday in my career as a journalist.

Just as crucially, it introduced me to other young men and women from different backgrounds, classes and cultures -- a number of whom became lifelong friends. Opening a young person's world that way is invaluable and still a vital part of what this group does every day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2010

When I was a high school student Youth Journalism International taught me the ropes of journalism - the essential reporting and writing skills. But more importantly, it taught me why journalism is important and instilled in me the importance of passing that on. Group founders Jackie Majerus and Steve Collins, both professional reporters, take the time to not only teach students what they need to know to become journalists, but instill in them that what they do matters - that they can correct injustices, inform people, connect them to their communities and help them to live better and more freely. My work as a student journalist helped me win scholarships, go to college, secure paid internships at professional newspapers, freelance for professional publications and ultimately land a full-time job as a working journalist. Few if any of those things would have been possible without YJI. The YJI experience also helped me to understand the importance of continuing to teach others and to give them the opportunities YJI gave me. It led to my mentoring young people from students the college paper where I was editor to interns in newsrooms, through YJI itself and in student journalism projects of my own.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced this organization's work as a student who was mentored and educated, as a volunteer where I have seen the difference it makes in the lives of students and as a professional journalist continually impressed by its work.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing the difference it makes in the lives of all sorts of students, from all sorts of backgrounds, and the work they're capable of producing once they're given the skills and mentoring the group provides.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Knowledgeable, committed and tireless in their efforts to instill in tomorrow's journalists the skill and love that will keep an essential civic function healthy well into the future.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach even more worldwide students than it already does, allowing them to tell their stories and teaching them to make a difference in their communities using the skills they learn through YJI.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

YJI inspires and connects aspiring journalists around the world, providing many young people with opportunities they might not otherwise have. I've worked with the professional journalists at YJI's helm, and there's no one better suited to guide them in the tenets of journalism.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... give YJI money to sustain the program for the long haul.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For people like me who love writing but didn't have a patform on which to practise journalism, YJI is a real blessing. The feedback and tips that Jackie and Steve give us are particularly valuable. Add to that the fact that anybody can write for YJI but the quality of writing still remains extremely high, and you've got the reasons YJI is a great non-profit!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started being involved in YJI in December 2010, and it is definitely worth it. As a student in high school, I'm able to report and write and be published already, and it's truly a great feeling. The people who started this, Jackie and Steve, are kind people who have taught me a lot about journalism and writing. Without them, this awesome opportunity wouldn't be there for me or any of the other teenagers all over the world who participate in YJI. Right now I am a junior in high school seriously looking at a job in English education so I can educate young people on the wonders of writing and journalism like Steve and Jackie have done for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

At a time when young people are provided with fewer opportunities to meaningfully explore careers or find positive outlets for expressing themselves concerning serious issues of public debate, Steve and Jackie have created an invaluable resource to promote communication, positive self-expression and meaningful career advancement. Their passion for journalism and willingness to devote their time and resources to young people from all over the world is unparalleled. I wish there were more organizations like Youth Journalism International to push kids in the right direction.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The work Youth Journalism International is doing is obviously vital to our profession. Yet, most importantly, Steve and Jackie and this wonderful organization is teaching today's young people how to think critically, to speak up and to actively contribute to the discussion of the issues facing our world. Their tireless efforts to share their passion for true journalism is simply unmatched.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

As an IBO teacher I can't but praise Youth Journalism international. When my daughter began collaborating with them I couldn't believe that such a wonderful project would help her improving not only h... more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't but reiterate my appreciation of Jackie and steve job! Keep on, you can't even imagine what you have been doing for young people! Thanks, thanks, thanks

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As an IBO teacher I can't but praise Youth Journalism international. When my daughter began collaborating with them I couldn't believe that such a wonderful project would help her improving not only her writing but also her critical thinking skills. Writing is a powerful weapon of peace and Jackie and Steve have been able put toghether an army of soldiers using their keybord as weapons of peace, human rights, culture, worldover. Thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers