Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Youth Action Coalition meets youth where they are, and inspires deep creativity and social justice at the same time. It is a unique and valued organization that has been a safe place and a place of great hope for many youth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am a licensed social worker who has focused on community integrative practice and creative arts as a tool with which to educate and empower youth, thier families, and of course the broader community. I feel strongly that Youth Action Coalition (YAC) is a heroic and fierce force in the work that they do, effecting all whom participate on many levels: from the youth who are served, the board members to do serve, and the families that witness thier children grow from thier engagement. I also have been an intern and an employee of YAC over many years (although not currently) and it has additionally provided me with a sense of community, empowerment of my own as an adult- and at the onset as a young adult trying to identify what was important to me- and I will forever credit this experience with YAC as an enormous role in the work I do today, and the pride I feel in being part of something proactive, authentic, and beautiful. The youth I worked with have gone on to do various things in thier lives, however when I have run into them in the community, they always share how valuable the lessons about self, social justice and creativity are to them. It is continually inspiring to see this evidence, and this should be recognized in all aspects of non-profit work, beyond the communities in which YAC works. To note: below it is asked what year of affiliation I have.... I have had ten years in affiliation with YAC but was only able to check one year in the dropdown menue and checked the most recent of my direct work with YAC. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see change in the financial support that YAC receives in order for the organization to serve more communities, reach youth in more varied demographic areas, as well as to be able to support thier staff financially on a full time basis- with benefits, etc.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The staff at Youth Action Coalition come to our school with creativity, high energy and a sense of loyalty to our students. They help foster passion and confidence for students who , at times, may not be able to see themselves through a more traditional lens. We are so fortunate to have them as part of our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase time and provide transportation to students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Through the years I have been involved in funding YAC through the Lydia B. Stokes Foundation and have found the organization incredibly consistent in providing wonderful services to their students. They are creative, responsible, effective, forward thinking and very caring. The provide a safe space and a place from which young students can really find their creative and productive way.

Here's to a great organization!

Tom Willits
Lydia B. Stokes Foundation Trustee

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 12, 2010

more

February 12, 2010

The Youth Action Coalition is an incredible asset to our community. Not only have I attended great events they have hosted for the community, the visit that their Video Vanguard youth made to my college classroom, sharing their own videos about their personal social identity stories, was the most powerful class of the entire year! The videos were wonderful and the ability of these youth to verbalize complex issues and share from their own experiences was incredible. My college students learned a great a deal from these young women. Their visit came up in our discussions all year!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing their students' art, photography and videos.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the enthusiasm, creativity and great spirit!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Energetic, affirmative, and empowering of the youth.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Empower thousands of youth to know themselves, help others and change their world.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers