Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I was an intern for the Youth Action Coalition for two years, and was so incredibly impressed with the effect they have on the Amherst and Ware communities in MA. YAC strives to provide a safe space for youth to be creative, build confidence, and learn about how they can improve their communities in meaningful ways. Their art and social justice-based curriculum is top-notch and engages youth to explore new art forms while learning about struggles that communities face in today's world. I would definitely recommend this program to youths in the area, as well as to community members who are looking for a meaningful organization to devote their time to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it to more towns! I think YAC's youth programs would flourish in more towns than just Amherst and Ware. Hopefully they will eventually have the funds to do so!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I joined Youth Action Coalition's family as a V.V member when I was a sophomore in H.S. Friends told me to come along to a Video Vanguards meeting and I stayed! The atmosphere created at Amherst Media with other youth and a super group of talented artists and students from Hampshire College was like none other. I found myself, my voice and my path by participating in YAC programs and I know my friends and peers could say the same. YAC also helped steer my art and bring me to my current role as an artist, specializing in video and media work! GET INVOLVED IF YOU"RE A YOUNG PERSON AND AVAILABLE!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To create their own spaces instead of renting/borrowing/receiving from local places.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Youth Action Coalition meets youth where they are, and inspires deep creativity and social justice at the same time. It is a unique and valued organization that has been a safe place and a place of great hope for many youth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 11, 2010

I began my connection to Youth Action Coalition as a parent. My daughter graduated from participant in Girls Eye View to peer leader and then to participant and peer leader in Video Vanguard. I watc... more

October 27, 2013

I became a board member after my daughter became a participant in YAC programs. The connections she made to other students and staff were important at a time when she was struggling through teenage years. My daughter grew as a person, as a film maker and learned to see herself as agent of change. This gave her a sense of identity and purpose that infuses her life to this day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish there were not a constant struggle for funds for this excellent organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 11, 2010

I began my connection to Youth Action Coalition as a parent. My daughter graduated from participant in Girls Eye View to peer leader and then to participant and peer leader in Video Vanguard. I watched Girl’s Eye View transform the life of my 13 year old, full of 8th grade angst, depressed and isolated from her family and friends. Girl’s Eye View became a lifeline. I believe YAC holds out hope to our young people. I saw hope blossom first hand through the strength of my daughter’s growing connection to a community that took her in, gave her meaning and taught her the skills that would take her down the path to her passion. I have continued to be part of Youth Action Coalition as a Board member even after my duaghter has grown and moved on to other parts of her life. I believe strongly that this organization is a gem in our community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the growth of the young people who move through it's programs. They find their voice, they learn they have the power to effect change in their community and they are respected for their insight and knowledge.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

keep it's efforts focused on the needs of the youth it serves and the programming it delivers so well without the constant stress of funding them.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am a licensed social worker who has focused on community integrative practice and creative arts as a tool with which to educate and empower youth, thier families, and of course the broader community. I feel strongly that Youth Action Coalition (YAC) is a heroic and fierce force in the work that they do, effecting all whom participate on many levels: from the youth who are served, the board members to do serve, and the families that witness thier children grow from thier engagement. I also have been an intern and an employee of YAC over many years (although not currently) and it has additionally provided me with a sense of community, empowerment of my own as an adult- and at the onset as a young adult trying to identify what was important to me- and I will forever credit this experience with YAC as an enormous role in the work I do today, and the pride I feel in being part of something proactive, authentic, and beautiful. The youth I worked with have gone on to do various things in thier lives, however when I have run into them in the community, they always share how valuable the lessons about self, social justice and creativity are to them. It is continually inspiring to see this evidence, and this should be recognized in all aspects of non-profit work, beyond the communities in which YAC works. To note: below it is asked what year of affiliation I have.... I have had ten years in affiliation with YAC but was only able to check one year in the dropdown menue and checked the most recent of my direct work with YAC. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see change in the financial support that YAC receives in order for the organization to serve more communities, reach youth in more varied demographic areas, as well as to be able to support thier staff financially on a full time basis- with benefits, etc.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I'm highly impressed with the achievements & goals YAC Amherst have pursued. Last time I seen them was at the Juneteenth event 2013 and they had a wonderful display in the center of town.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 11, 2010

As a community member, I really appreciate the oppurtunity that YAC gives me to participate, enjoy, and support the work of local youth. I've been to every Video Vangaurd's event over the last two ye... more

October 23, 2013

YAC is a community instutition--without it, the youth in our area would lack important visibility. Youth are envisioning and creating change, and YAC continues to support, cultivate, and give credibility to our youth community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2010

As a community member, I really appreciate the oppurtunity that YAC gives me to participate, enjoy, and support the work of local youth. I've been to every Video Vangaurd's event over the last two years - and I would not have traded a minute of it for anything else!

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

bring meaningful and socially conscious arts curriculum to all interested youth in Western Massachusetts! "Youth are apathetic" would never be heard again. Instead, our are would be known for our articulate youth who are changing the world!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I could not have more enthusiasm for this organization. YAC does such a great job empowering youth and giving them a safe place to learn and create and grow. I have learned how to be a great ally to youth through my time volunteering and I have found the most wonderful mentors. I have watched young people go from shy kids with some ideas about art to becoming leaders and activists in their schools and communities. It is so inspiring, and I know that the Youth Action Coalition has played a huge role in the lives of these young people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The staff at Youth Action Coalition come to our school with creativity, high energy and a sense of loyalty to our students. They help foster passion and confidence for students who , at times, may not be able to see themselves through a more traditional lens. We are so fortunate to have them as part of our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase time and provide transportation to students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I love YAC's vision and creativity and have seen and applaud the positive and lasting impact of its work on the young people of western Massachusetts.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers