Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

We took our extremely anxious, bonded pair of Labs, Lola and Toby to Your Dog's Friend for their "Reactive Class" convinced that we were the only people with dogs that acted like wild beasts on walks. We were pleased not only by the amount of personalized attention given to our dogs, but by the amount of sympathy and understanding we received from all of the trainers. Michelle and Debra are fantastic leaders, and we wanted to extend a special thanks to our personal dog trainers Jeff and Jill for supporting us with everything we needed to curb their wild and anxious behaviors.

The class uses positive reinforcement and game techniques that not only squashed my anxiety on walks, but strengthened the confidence of two overly anxious Labs. I don't panic taking them out anymore, thank goodness. :D

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, we love it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

I have been taking my two 1 3/4 year old dachshunds to Your Dog's Friend now for a little while with great results! We did the Dog Improv: Design Your Own Training Class and a few sessions of the Puppy Party. We are signed up for It's All Just Fun and Games to start this Saturday, and are arranging some private intro to agility lessons.

Debra Ekman really helped me first on the phone with choosing classes and contacting the instructors with other questions. The trainers Jeni Grant, Susan Sanderson, and Sarah Stoycos have all been great helping my dogs with their shyness issues. The training techniques are very gentle and very positive. They go slowly and cautiously, really watching out for the dogs' body language. It is a great positive environment! My pups are making great progress!

My other training class was at PetSmart and while I liked the trainer there, these folks know a whole heck of a lot more about dogs and training, especially with helping fearful dogs overcome their issues. Your Dog's Friend is a great place! I highly recommend it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

As first time dog owners, we really appreciated the information and education we received (as well as the personal attention from the director) as we learned how to handle our high-energy dog. Great idea--help dogs by educating their people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

I volunteer for a local rescue, foster and have two dogs of my own. I'm always learning about dogs. I am a forever student in how to better love and care for them. Your Dog's Friend is my #1 recourse for dog training in all metro DC--and they're a 40 minute drive away for me. I recommend them all the time. I take my own dogs there. I've used their Foster Alliance program. I attend their workshops. I completely trust all the trainers and speakers they bring in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their efforts beyond Rockville to DC and Northern Virginia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

Our experience with Your Dog's Friend in Rockville was....simply incredible! We are so, so thankful for their help with our Lucy. Lucy is a rescue from KY, and had not been at al easy since we'd adopted her December of 2012. Since her Basic Manners class, she has become such a love! The positive training that we learned in the class has made all the difference in the world - the level of trust and love, both ways, has been wonderful. I can never thank the staff at YDF enough!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add more locations, as we traveled from "up-county" to attend the class. Otherwise, I would not change a thing! I have already referred at least a few friends to YDF because of our truly positive experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

My pup and I have taken multiple classes with Your Dog's Friend over the years (basic maners, basic maners II, reactive dog and agility). The classes and trainers changed our lives and behavior in positive ways (and by positive methods)! In addition to boosting my pup's confidence, the folks at YDF boosted mine by being available in/out of class for any/all questions. This is a wonderful organization that fully supports dogs and thier humans!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

I adopted a senior poodle mix who proved to have many puzzling behavior problems. The folks at Your Dog's Friend took the time to answer my questions on the phone and in e-mails. They directed me to the New Dog Adoptor class, which was very helpful. I also attended the Dog Body Language class as well. The teachers were funny, informative, and encouraged discussion among all the class members-lots of shaggy dog stories! It's good to know that you and your buddy aren't the only one with issues. Your Dog's Friend helps humans and their canines forge better bonds. My and my Buddy Keebler are saving up to do a Bark Box with Your Dog's Friend. Thanks, jefkeeb

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

I recently took a reactive dog class with Your Dog's Friend and I can't say enough positive things about this organization. The individual attention (with "coaches" assigned to each owner/dog pair) was something that was truly special about this class. It is evident how much the teachers and trainers care about the pets and improving their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

I don't have the privilege of living in the Maryland area, but was sent a web link, that took me to Your Dogs Friend. I was in need of training advice & even knowing that I lived in a different region of the country, they spoke to me several times on the phone, directed me towards other websites with answers that related to my questions, provided additional support by having some of their breed specific trainers directly contact me, provided book information & lastly, connected me with trainers in my area that best suited my needs. If I received such outstanding customer service & live 6 hours away, I could only imagine the level of professionalism when you actually get to be apart of such a helpful & dedicated organization. What an impact they make in their community, in the lives of their clients & most importantly the exceptional life for dogs they help provide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more frequent newsletters ~ I enjoy them so much & read each article fully! More articles please :)!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

What a great group! I adopted a Great Pyrenees who is a lovely rescue, but I had some back issues that effected my control of the dog on walks and had a near disaster when I fell and the dog got away from me. I called Your Dog's Friend and got immediate help, caring, and genuine concern for my dog and me. I was worked in for a harness fitting within a day and got loads of encouragement, advice and a practical perspective when I felt overwhelmed. The harness is far superior to what we had, and costs no more than we paid for the first one on Amazon, and it works! It is clear My Dog's Friend is not in this for the money. They love dogs! My sweet Pyrenees and I are now working on being a success story and are on the waiting list for training with Your Dog's Friend. This group is marvelous because the people who make it work are marvelous!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers