Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 6, 2013

Your Dog's Friend is an absolutely outstanding resource for all things related to dog training and behavior. The reference materials on the website are written by professionals in the respective area... more

June 1, 2014

I have been working with Your Dog's Friend in a number of capacities for about 2 years. I'm currently assisting with Puppy Kindergarten and Puppy 1st Grade classes. I am so impressed by the caliber and commitment of the trainers at YDF. All are committed to using only scientifically-based, force-free, positive reinforcement methods....and they work!! It's so exciting to see the reaction of dog parents when they realized that they don't have to punish their dog in order to teach them manners. Training should be fun for both dog and human, and it is with the fantastic trainers at YDF. I also work with a local animal recue organization, and I strongly encourage all of our new adopters and foster parents to avail themselves of the many terrific resources available through YDF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the size of the training center....or better yet, add another training center in upper Montgomery County or Northern Virginia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2013

Your Dog's Friend is an absolutely outstanding resource for all things related to dog training and behavior. The reference materials on the website are written by professionals in the respective areas and are full of helpful information about common behavior issues, as well as great info for those who are just considering bringing a dog into their lives. And the free workshops are absolutely incredible!! I've learned so much invaluable information from the trainers and experts that Deb brings in. I have worked with a dog rescue group in the past, and the Foster Dog Alliance is an incredibly rich source of information and support for those who are providing temporary care for rescued dogs that may have issues that are keeping them from being adopted. I have been so impressed by my experiences with YDF that I now volunteer with them. And I'm finally acting on a long-dormant desire to study animal behavior and am now taking classes on becoming a clicker trainer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014

more

May 6, 2014

Talk about an unbeleivable site and resource for your dog! Whether a puppy or an senior citizen, this is the place to go for help and advice. I also volunteer for a local rescue and have 2 rescue dogs of my own. Because of the direct help I recieved 2 years ago, we were able to get a special dog adopted to wonderful parents who were able to further work with the dog. Thank you, Your Dog's Friend!
April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

Your Dog's Friend has changed my life and the life of my dogs for the better. I particularly recommend the Reactive Dog class which is totally awesome. If you have a dog who hates other dogs and barks like a maniac at the end of the leash, this class will teach you how to help your dog learn that other dogs are not terrible. It is truly wonderful. Also, the puppy classes are awesome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More classes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Your Dogs' Friend is a wonderful non-profit organization that focuses on helping dog owners get the training and information they need to be better dog owners, particularly of rescued dogs. Their training location is convenient to Rockville and their director is always willing to answer questions and help out with advice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Your Dog's Friend is a unique resource for dog owners. The organization offers extremely practical workshops that address issues that often cause dogs to be surrendered by owners who are at their wit's end. As a volunteer and client of this organization, I am touched by the genuine concern for both people and animals that everyone shares. The organization has brought together some of the best dog trainers in the area that realize that working together to educate pet owners not only benefits their clients but also their businesses. And making sure that a dog is not taken to a shelter because of a problem that can be solved with some expert advice and commitment not only makes people and dogs happier, but it also helps reduce the drain on shelter budgets and staff. The workshop and classes offered help give people better canine companions and a community resource for advice and support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers