Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Your Dog's Friend is one the best resources on the internet for positive training, about kids and dogs, to be able to recognize when a dog is stressed, dog behavior and so much more. Debra Ekman is a very caring and knowledgeable person that she is willing to answer any question you may have or refer to someone who may specialize in training a dog with a particular type of behavior. She has been instrumental in helping me learn the many things I never knew about dogs.

When someone is a first dog owner, I always refer them to YourDogsFriend web site so they can learn on how to be a responsible owner but to make that permanent commitment.

Thank you Debra!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I have been a dog owner for many many years. That said, I find the Your Dog's Friend newsletter extremely helpful. The information is always helpful and practical - no pitches to buy expensive stuff or spend unrealistic amounts of time trying to "fix" problems.
I also have taken classes
through the organization and I think the classes were extremely helpful - again, very practical advice.
Staff seems very dedicated and thinking of welfare of both the animals and owners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more classes at more convenient times if possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2014

more

June 22, 2014

Committed people working toward a needed goal -- keeping owners from surrendering their dogs! Everyone in the group is progressional, passionate and helpful. Since finding this resource, I have suggested it to many other new dog owners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! They are perfect as is!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 6, 2013

Your Dog's Friend is an absolutely outstanding resource for all things related to dog training and behavior. The reference materials on the website are written by professionals in the respective area... more

June 1, 2014

I have been working with Your Dog's Friend in a number of capacities for about 2 years. I'm currently assisting with Puppy Kindergarten and Puppy 1st Grade classes. I am so impressed by the caliber and commitment of the trainers at YDF. All are committed to using only scientifically-based, force-free, positive reinforcement methods....and they work!! It's so exciting to see the reaction of dog parents when they realized that they don't have to punish their dog in order to teach them manners. Training should be fun for both dog and human, and it is with the fantastic trainers at YDF. I also work with a local animal recue organization, and I strongly encourage all of our new adopters and foster parents to avail themselves of the many terrific resources available through YDF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the size of the training center....or better yet, add another training center in upper Montgomery County or Northern Virginia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2013

Your Dog's Friend is an absolutely outstanding resource for all things related to dog training and behavior. The reference materials on the website are written by professionals in the respective areas and are full of helpful information about common behavior issues, as well as great info for those who are just considering bringing a dog into their lives. And the free workshops are absolutely incredible!! I've learned so much invaluable information from the trainers and experts that Deb brings in. I have worked with a dog rescue group in the past, and the Foster Dog Alliance is an incredibly rich source of information and support for those who are providing temporary care for rescued dogs that may have issues that are keeping them from being adopted. I have been so impressed by my experiences with YDF that I now volunteer with them. And I'm finally acting on a long-dormant desire to study animal behavior and am now taking classes on becoming a clicker trainer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

We took our extremely anxious, bonded pair of Labs, Lola and Toby to Your Dog's Friend for their "Reactive Class" convinced that we were the only people with dogs that acted like wild beasts on walks. We were pleased not only by the amount of personalized attention given to our dogs, but by the amount of sympathy and understanding we received from all of the trainers. Michelle and Debra are fantastic leaders, and we wanted to extend a special thanks to our personal dog trainers Jeff and Jill for supporting us with everything we needed to curb their wild and anxious behaviors.

The class uses positive reinforcement and game techniques that not only squashed my anxiety on walks, but strengthened the confidence of two overly anxious Labs. I don't panic taking them out anymore, thank goodness. :D

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, we love it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

I have been taking my two 1 3/4 year old dachshunds to Your Dog's Friend now for a little while with great results! We did the Dog Improv: Design Your Own Training Class and a few sessions of the Puppy Party. We are signed up for It's All Just Fun and Games to start this Saturday, and are arranging some private intro to agility lessons.

Debra Ekman really helped me first on the phone with choosing classes and contacting the instructors with other questions. The trainers Jeni Grant, Susan Sanderson, and Sarah Stoycos have all been great helping my dogs with their shyness issues. The training techniques are very gentle and very positive. They go slowly and cautiously, really watching out for the dogs' body language. It is a great positive environment! My pups are making great progress!

My other training class was at PetSmart and while I liked the trainer there, these folks know a whole heck of a lot more about dogs and training, especially with helping fearful dogs overcome their issues. Your Dog's Friend is a great place! I highly recommend it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

As first time dog owners, we really appreciated the information and education we received (as well as the personal attention from the director) as we learned how to handle our high-energy dog. Great idea--help dogs by educating their people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014

more

May 6, 2014

Talk about an unbeleivable site and resource for your dog! Whether a puppy or an senior citizen, this is the place to go for help and advice. I also volunteer for a local rescue and have 2 rescue dogs of my own. Because of the direct help I recieved 2 years ago, we were able to get a special dog adopted to wonderful parents who were able to further work with the dog. Thank you, Your Dog's Friend!
April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

I volunteer for a local rescue, foster and have two dogs of my own. I'm always learning about dogs. I am a forever student in how to better love and care for them. Your Dog's Friend is my #1 recourse for dog training in all metro DC--and they're a 40 minute drive away for me. I recommend them all the time. I take my own dogs there. I've used their Foster Alliance program. I attend their workshops. I completely trust all the trainers and speakers they bring in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their efforts beyond Rockville to DC and Northern Virginia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

Our experience with Your Dog's Friend in Rockville was....simply incredible! We are so, so thankful for their help with our Lucy. Lucy is a rescue from KY, and had not been at al easy since we'd adopted her December of 2012. Since her Basic Manners class, she has become such a love! The positive training that we learned in the class has made all the difference in the world - the level of trust and love, both ways, has been wonderful. I can never thank the staff at YDF enough!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add more locations, as we traveled from "up-county" to attend the class. Otherwise, I would not change a thing! I have already referred at least a few friends to YDF because of our truly positive experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers