Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.979175
Write A Review
June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There are so many wonderful aspects that it's not easy to articulate just how amazing of an organization YSF is but I'm going to try anyways. As a Head Mentor/Mentor/Volunteer Big Show Performer over the last 3 years, I've been able to see first hand the impact of this organization's work on children. Giving students the ability to use their imagination in a supportive, positive environment enables these students to create brilliant stories they might not have ever been able to write. The volunteers that work for YSF are fantastic and are alike in the tremendous enthusiasm they bring to their work with the young writers. YSF gives an outlet to those all students to express their creativity especially the shy, reserved ones.

My favorite story from YSF is that we had a young girl in our session that was painfully quiet and reluctant to share throughout the first 7 weeks. We did everything we could to try to encourage her and create a safe environment for her to share. The 8th meeting came and she had a chance to see her story performed on stage by professional actors and her face absolutely lit up. The final wrap-up meeting we couldn't stop her from talking! Unprompted, she shared one thing that she liked about every one of her peers' stories and even thanked the YSF mentors for their hard work over the semester. It was a total transformation and an absolute joy to witness.

The staff that runs YSF is fantastic, easy to talk to, and goes out of the way to ensure that you are set up for success as a volunteer. Get involved with this organization - you won't regret it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to get YSF in more schools!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 4, 2011

The Young Storytellers Foundation is both wonderful and inspiring to be apart of inside and out. I've performed in their shows, written stories with the students, and led groups as a Head Mentor. For ... more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It has been such a great experience to work with both those in the office and the kids. Those in the office have so much passion for what they are doing it's contagious. And I get to take that into the classrooms and watch how words become stories become screenplays become actors bringing it all to life. A journey worth traveling every session. What I love the most are the moments when a student comes across a problem in the story and finds their own solution ---- the light the flashes over the faces --- so very momentary, and such a gift.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide the funding to expand the office staff that this program could be run in many more schools.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2011

The Young Storytellers Foundation is both wonderful and inspiring to be apart of inside and out. I've performed in their shows, written stories with the students, and led groups as a Head Mentor. For me, seeing an idea come alive first in the face of a student, and then see that idea move to the page is more than enough to complete my day. Being a part of a student's journey over a 7-8 week period, seeing how they begin to find their voice, express what they want, and seeing their own satisfaction at bringing their vision to life is exactly why this foundation is so integral to the children throughout Los Angeles.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am able to be more articulate in my communications with others. I also have gained a tremendous amount of respect for the teachers throughout the school system and the amount of work they seek to accomplish every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the staff in order that the current staff weren't so stretched thin. Of course, I would like to see the foundation get more funding as well.

September 2, 2010

I have been involved with Young Storytellers for the last four years. Every session is an experience that amazes me and humbles me. the children we get to work with, their imaginations, and the support of the program is a gift in my life. There are few things in life that are as inspiring as seeing a child ignited by their own imagination. And at times it can be frightening for me as some of the children have harrowing stories to tell. It reminds me that this program specifically gives kids safe harbor, to think, to speak, to imagine and to believe.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By the end of the session, I've got kids who can't stop writing! Kids who want more time, to write, and get all their ideas out on the page. It's a shame we can only do five pages. Even the shyest kids have got a lot to say!

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What a fantastic opportunity for creative children to experience their words coming to life on stage in front of their very eyes! The love and care given to every aspect of this organizations purpose is truly wonderful and certainly makes a difference in the lives of the kids who participate and watch the performances. As an professional actor who has had the pleasure of performing in several BIG SHOWS, I know that the gifts I receive are immeasurable, as well! Thanks YSF!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

YSF is an amazing experience for all involved. As a mentor, spending time working with the students and being a part of their processes in developing their scripts is so much fun! The best part of the program is seeing the kids' faces light up when the script they have written in the matter of weeks is brought to life by professional actors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with the funding to have a dedicated YSF liaison at every participating school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am an actress and got an email through a group that I belong to that the YSF were looking for actors to help bring one act plays of fifth graders to life at the Wonderland School in LA. I'm always up for something new so I said, Yes. And I have to say that it's one the most fun and most gratifying things I've done as an actor in a long time.
To see these young creatives being mentored, encourage and supported made me smile for days after the event. And I'm still talking about it. And I look forward to doing it again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That all scripts be provided to all the actors. So the actors creating the background world could read ahead and be prepared. Not just listen to the narrator for cues of what needs to be done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I just finished acting in my first Big Show a few days ago, and I have to say - the kids and mentors are so inspiring! I fully support YSF, and I will continue to support it any way I can. It's amazing reading and performing scripts written by 5th graders! So imaginative, bold, and uninhibited!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Young Storytellers is nothing if not addicting. The impact on our students is one thing, but the experience is beyond rewarding for those of us who volunteer. For the head mentors who teach the class, the mentors who guide the kids one-on-one and the actors who perform in the BIG Shows have all found it hard not to get sucked in and need more. We get to play once a week, and when our schools aren't in session, we miss it terribly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Having the opportunity to witness the impact this program has in a child's life is an invaluable gift. In my 8+ years I've been honored to be a part of Young Storytellers, I've seen countless numbers of children grow out of their shells and despite the adversities they may be facing, blossom into confident and happy children again. The role Young Storytellers and the mentors play will never be forgotten - by the children or the mentors. It creates a cycle of positivity and support for children who may be lacking in some form or another and the results last a lifetime. I am an avid fan of YSF and continue to support their dedication to enriching the lives of young children and exposing them to creative outlets that they may not have known were available. All children have a story to tell and deserve to be heard - YSF allows a child's story not only come to life, but inspires them to continue exercising their creative spirit long after their semester has finished.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Wonderful program! Inspires so much creativity in children, and empowers them to use their unique voices!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have volunteered regularly throughout my life and have never felt more strongly about a program than I do about Young Storytellers. Not only does the program promote creative writing and give kids a place where they are consistently listened to and respected, but it gives so much back to the mentors at the same time. Each week I hear mentors exclaim how their weekly volunteering with YSF is the brightest spot in their week. Being able to teach the students how wonderful writing and the arts in general can be is so special, as is the bond that develops between the mentors and the kids over the course of the program. Seeing their faces absolutely light up when their scripts are performed at the Big Show is nothing short of amazing. I've seen the shyest of children absolutely blossom when they see their words acted out on stage by professional actors. Giving kids this amazing opportunity to participate in a program that allows their interests and talents to flourish is something I wish everyone could be part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers