Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.979175
Write A Review
June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What a fantastic opportunity for creative children to experience their words coming to life on stage in front of their very eyes! The love and care given to every aspect of this organizations purpose is truly wonderful and certainly makes a difference in the lives of the kids who participate and watch the performances. As an professional actor who has had the pleasure of performing in several BIG SHOWS, I know that the gifts I receive are immeasurable, as well! Thanks YSF!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

YSF is an amazing experience for all involved. As a mentor, spending time working with the students and being a part of their processes in developing their scripts is so much fun! The best part of the program is seeing the kids' faces light up when the script they have written in the matter of weeks is brought to life by professional actors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with the funding to have a dedicated YSF liaison at every participating school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a former K-5 teacher, literacy is an important part of a child's education and helping those that do not have as many available resources is imperative. Helping kids find their voice is invaluable. This is a wonderful program that inspires kids, helps them succeed and makes them feel like they have accomplished something by seeing their end product come to life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am an actress and got an email through a group that I belong to that the YSF were looking for actors to help bring one act plays of fifth graders to life at the Wonderland School in LA. I'm always up for something new so I said, Yes. And I have to say that it's one the most fun and most gratifying things I've done as an actor in a long time.
To see these young creatives being mentored, encourage and supported made me smile for days after the event. And I'm still talking about it. And I look forward to doing it again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That all scripts be provided to all the actors. So the actors creating the background world could read ahead and be prepared. Not just listen to the narrator for cues of what needs to be done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with Young Storytellers Foundation was at their Biggest Show back in October 2012. I had never heard of the program and decided to attend on a whim (drove 5 hours to do so). As it turns out it was the best decision I had made all year! Before the show started I got some background on the organization & thought "That's pretty cool!" But then I listened to each child & mentor's story, not the one they wrote for the show but the one telling about their experiences through the process, & I was moved. Then to see what these students put together & to see the joy on their faces when their stories were performed...Amazing! I am so glad this program exists for these students and I am looking forward to attending this year's Biggest Show!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've seen Young Storytellers Foundation productions and have absolutely adored them. As a teacher, I think their process and ethos has a profoundly positive effect on students. The attention they give to individuals is so unique, and it is a significant ingredient to creating a force that will push students curiosity and creativity into adulthood. Awesome group!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I have experienced all levels of this outstanding program and I must say that the lives being transformed are immeasurable! Freeing the creative mind is a gift that never stops giving. Arts Education brings communities together and this program sparks hope and joy in all who are involved!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I just finished acting in my first Big Show a few days ago, and I have to say - the kids and mentors are so inspiring! I fully support YSF, and I will continue to support it any way I can. It's amazing reading and performing scripts written by 5th graders! So imaginative, bold, and uninhibited!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Young Storytellers is nothing if not addicting. The impact on our students is one thing, but the experience is beyond rewarding for those of us who volunteer. For the head mentors who teach the class, the mentors who guide the kids one-on-one and the actors who perform in the BIG Shows have all found it hard not to get sucked in and need more. We get to play once a week, and when our schools aren't in session, we miss it terribly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Having the opportunity to witness the impact this program has in a child's life is an invaluable gift. In my 8+ years I've been honored to be a part of Young Storytellers, I've seen countless numbers of children grow out of their shells and despite the adversities they may be facing, blossom into confident and happy children again. The role Young Storytellers and the mentors play will never be forgotten - by the children or the mentors. It creates a cycle of positivity and support for children who may be lacking in some form or another and the results last a lifetime. I am an avid fan of YSF and continue to support their dedication to enriching the lives of young children and exposing them to creative outlets that they may not have known were available. All children have a story to tell and deserve to be heard - YSF allows a child's story not only come to life, but inspires them to continue exercising their creative spirit long after their semester has finished.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers