Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.979175
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Love YSF. Great people, great mission. They're helping kids, allowing them greater access to the arts, while also promoting literacy. Could not be happier with these guys.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Young Storytellers Foundation is an absolute gem and a welcome miracle to the students they serve. The leaders and staff of this organization are incredibly dedicated, kind, passionate, and incredibly hard working. I've had the pleasure of visiting a school and seeing the volunteers at work and how much value and knowledge they bring to the students and how much joy the students get from taking part in the program. I've also been fortunate to attend multiple Big Shows where Hollywood actors act out the scripts written by 5th graders. There is something uniquely special about how YSF makes sure the KIDS are the stars and that their work is celebrating. YSF is invaluable because they not only help kids learn to love to read and write, but they teach them the power of their own voices and imbue them with a love of storytelling that will last a lifetime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put this program in even more schools all over the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is amazing to see the students over the course of eight weeks transform and come together to experience the art of storytelling. Even the most shy or uninteresting kids become engaged. It is also a treat for the mentors and I look forward to my YSF session every week - my favorite power lunch!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 2, 2010

I cannot say enough about what a wonderful program Young Storytellers is. There is no set reason a child is picked to be in the program so you have a tremendously diverse group of children. Some are ... more

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am proud to be part of the YSF family. This organization teaches literacy through the art of storytelling, but the kids (and mentors!) learn far more than that. The transformation of these children in the 8 weeks they are a part of this program is impossible to quantify- but as a mentor, you can't help but notice the drastic positive changes in these children. I have seen children who hid in the corner for the first four weeks do stand up routines at the wrap party. I have seen children who couldn't sit still for 30 seconds sit and for an entire hour focused on finding a creative solution to a problem in their story. It is life altering for the children and adults who participate. You will not meet a single person who has been a mentee, mentor, actor or audience member at a Big Show who has not been insprired to do more.


In addition to that, the Young Storytellers Foundation as an organization is outstanding. I am constantly in awe of the amount of things that their small staff is able to accomplish on a day to day basis. While focusing on big picture ideas, the small stuff never falls through the cracks. They are truly top notch!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2010

I cannot say enough about what a wonderful program Young Storytellers is. There is no set reason a child is picked to be in the program so you have a tremendously diverse group of children. Some are excellent writers, others are perhaps the class clowns, some need a little extra one on one time- all are amazing! My mentee this past year was a brilliant writer, but extremely shy. You couldn't have gotten him to speak up in front of the group no matter how hard you tried. A few weeks in to the program, after getting a ton of praise for his written work, he would waive his hand in the air almost begging to read his story aloud to the group. It was amazing to see a change in such a short amount of time. As a mentor, I can tell you that my time at Young Storytellers is my best hour all week. To be surrounded by these intelligent, silly and fearless children is an experience of a lifetime. I was amazed how easy it was to get out of my comfort zone in order to inspire these children to do the same. And the pride on their faces at the Big Show while watching actors perform their work in front of their fellow students will forever remain engraved in your mind and heart.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son, Radley Balboa, a 5th Grade student at Wilshire Crest Elementary School was mentored by Mr. Terence Anthony. As a parent of an 11 year old boy, I was surprised to watch The Big Show to find out that he wrote a script entitled, "Johnny and Chase's Adventure". I was so proud of him. I didn't know that he could do it. The YSF opened a new door for my son that anything is possible and that he can do it. I hope that he can participate more and write more scripts. Thank you very much YSF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It's an honor to be a part of something like YSF. Seeing these kids come out of their shells is the highlight of my week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Youngstory Tellers is a great organization, youngstory teachs the children so much more than just literacy and the art of story telling it's such an awesome experience for both the students and volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Young Storytellers Foundation is a wonderful and inspiring organization that helps to encourage kids to be themselves! All the while teaching them to unitize the fundamentals of writing, acting, and to think outside the box. As a mentor I was able to really see the kids progress and become confident and empowered by their own scripts. It gives them a sense of pride and it enables them to really open up. As a volunteer and mentor I couldn't have been more proud of my group, and my student. This was a remarkable experience for me, and truly rewarding. The kids have so much heart and so much to give and with programs like these it allows them to use their imaginations and really dig deep. In a generation with so much going on and life moving so fast its crucial for groups like the Young Storytellers Foundation be accessible to kids everywhere.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reach out to more schools!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There are so many wonderful aspects that it's not easy to articulate just how amazing of an organization YSF is but I'm going to try anyways. As a Head Mentor/Mentor/Volunteer Big Show Performer over the last 3 years, I've been able to see first hand the impact of this organization's work on children. Giving students the ability to use their imagination in a supportive, positive environment enables these students to create brilliant stories they might not have ever been able to write. The volunteers that work for YSF are fantastic and are alike in the tremendous enthusiasm they bring to their work with the young writers. YSF gives an outlet to those all students to express their creativity especially the shy, reserved ones.

My favorite story from YSF is that we had a young girl in our session that was painfully quiet and reluctant to share throughout the first 7 weeks. We did everything we could to try to encourage her and create a safe environment for her to share. The 8th meeting came and she had a chance to see her story performed on stage by professional actors and her face absolutely lit up. The final wrap-up meeting we couldn't stop her from talking! Unprompted, she shared one thing that she liked about every one of her peers' stories and even thanked the YSF mentors for their hard work over the semester. It was a total transformation and an absolute joy to witness.

The staff that runs YSF is fantastic, easy to talk to, and goes out of the way to ensure that you are set up for success as a volunteer. Get involved with this organization - you won't regret it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to get YSF in more schools!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 4, 2011

The Young Storytellers Foundation is both wonderful and inspiring to be apart of inside and out. I've performed in their shows, written stories with the students, and led groups as a Head Mentor. For ... more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It has been such a great experience to work with both those in the office and the kids. Those in the office have so much passion for what they are doing it's contagious. And I get to take that into the classrooms and watch how words become stories become screenplays become actors bringing it all to life. A journey worth traveling every session. What I love the most are the moments when a student comes across a problem in the story and finds their own solution ---- the light the flashes over the faces --- so very momentary, and such a gift.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide the funding to expand the office staff that this program could be run in many more schools.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2011

The Young Storytellers Foundation is both wonderful and inspiring to be apart of inside and out. I've performed in their shows, written stories with the students, and led groups as a Head Mentor. For me, seeing an idea come alive first in the face of a student, and then see that idea move to the page is more than enough to complete my day. Being a part of a student's journey over a 7-8 week period, seeing how they begin to find their voice, express what they want, and seeing their own satisfaction at bringing their vision to life is exactly why this foundation is so integral to the children throughout Los Angeles.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am able to be more articulate in my communications with others. I also have gained a tremendous amount of respect for the teachers throughout the school system and the amount of work they seek to accomplish every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the staff in order that the current staff weren't so stretched thin. Of course, I would like to see the foundation get more funding as well.

September 2, 2010

I have been involved with Young Storytellers for the last four years. Every session is an experience that amazes me and humbles me. the children we get to work with, their imaginations, and the support of the program is a gift in my life. There are few things in life that are as inspiring as seeing a child ignited by their own imagination. And at times it can be frightening for me as some of the children have harrowing stories to tell. It reminds me that this program specifically gives kids safe harbor, to think, to speak, to imagine and to believe.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By the end of the session, I've got kids who can't stop writing! Kids who want more time, to write, and get all their ideas out on the page. It's a shame we can only do five pages. Even the shyest kids have got a lot to say!

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers