Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.983335
Write A Review
March 29, 2015

more

March 29, 2015

It is great to help young children get acquainted with the art of storytelling. I admire the worth this foundation is doing and encourage people to help them out all them can.
March 28, 2015

more

March 28, 2015

A FANTASTIC organization to be a part of, the kids grow a LOT and have an amazing time. It really does make an impact...but not only on the kids...I've seen grownups cry when the session ends, hehe...I've seen kids cry too :(
March 28, 2015

more

March 28, 2015

I love witnessing the talent supported and developed by this organization.
March 28, 2015

more

March 28, 2015

The Young Storytellers Foundation is, hands down, my favorite organization that I get to support as an artist (I both mentor and perform for them). The work we do with kids is so unique and so uplifting and empowering; I've seen child after child transform. Children really find their voices through the program -- many experiencing creative expression and public recognition for the very first time. I love everything about YSF, and I intend to be a lifelong supporter of this beautiful organization.
March 28, 2015

more

March 28, 2015

I have volunteered for Young Storytellers Foundation as a mentor and as an actor and it was one of the most rewarding and fun times I've ever had. The pride we see in the kids when their script comes to life is indescribable and the parents are so proud and grateful that I'm touched every time I volunteer. As an actor bringing the kids' scripts to life is so fun too. The laughter you hear from the kids and their classmates as their watching is so great and really makes your day. I love you guys at Young Storytellers Foundation and definitely will keep volunteering!
March 27, 2015

more

March 27, 2015

fantastic group! i volunteered as a mentor last year and had a wonderful time getting to know these brilliant kids and watching their creative minds flourish.
March 27, 2015

more

March 27, 2015

I volunteered with YSF last fall in its first San Francisco program at Daniel Webster Elementary. The training and leadership provided by YSF and our lead mentor, Michael Karsh, were so helpful — I knew nothing about writing screenplays, but they guided me through the entire process with understanding and care so I could be a great mentor to our kids. And the kids . . . they were simply amazing. It was so unbelievable to see these kids who were so quiet and shy — or distracted or bored — become engaged and excited about writing and telling stories.

YSF is simply an amazing organization. Highly recommended.
March 27, 2015

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

Young Storytellers is nothing if not addicting. The impact on our students is one thing, but the experience is beyond rewarding for those of us who volunteer. For the head mentors who teach the class,... more

March 27, 2015

"Some are volunteers. Some are volun-told."

YSF really speaks to the creativity in one's soul and compels them to keep coming back.

I've been involved with this program for the past 6 years and the impact it has on not just the students but the mentors can be life-changing.
November 15, 2012

Young Storytellers is nothing if not addicting. The impact on our students is one thing, but the experience is beyond rewarding for those of us who volunteer. For the head mentors who teach the class, the mentors who guide the kids one-on-one and the actors who perform in the BIG Shows have all found it hard not to get sucked in and need more. We get to play once a week, and when our schools aren't in session, we miss it terribly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2015

more

March 27, 2015

Quite honestly, one of the most fulfilling and rewarding experiences I've ever been a part of. I was lucky enough to get involved with YSF in 2001, and am thrilled with how it's grown over the years while still staying true to its core and mission. As both a mentor and head mentor, I witnessed time and time again how this simple idea -- how this kind of attention, feedback and encouragement -- affected and transformed the lives of students involved. I've watched kids discover a voice and a focus that surprised even them; I've been hugged by grateful and tearful parents; I've been thanked by teachers who say they see the positive effects throughout the classroom. (All this from something so incredibly fun as well -- can't tell you how many mentors I've heard describe this time as the "best hour of my week.") Bottom line, an incredible organization that supports the arts in schools, builds community, and inspires children in a very real and lasting way. Amazing.
March 26, 2015

more

March 26, 2015

I was an elementary administrator in the school district where Young Storytellers Foundation works with fifth graders in their script-to-stage program. With limited budgets there are no district programs provided for students to express themselves creatively. Without this program students would never get the opportunity to explore their creative talents. YSF works hard raising funds, finding and training mentors, and supporting the next generation of storytellers.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers