Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.636365
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

AFRICAMÉRICAS , I shared the written materials with my coworkers who were all in awe. There is an organization here in Nebraska that wants to do some international programming and I will be sharing it with them next week. That was a very dynamic show with powerful images and the catalog was great. That Afro-Cuban and African-Latino connection is one that really needs to be highlighted. You guys did a wonderful job!
D. B.
Nebraska ARTS COUNCIL

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of visiting Young Men and Womens Africian
Heritage Association during the Americas for the Arts Tours this past
June. I had to write to tell you it was the most welcoming place I visited
during my stay in Pittsburgh. In fact, it felt like visiting family
from the
moment we were greeted at the door !! The table was filled with delicious
food, plenty of cold beverages and lots, and lots of warm friendly conversation.

Thank you to your staff for a delightful day and for your gracious hospitality.

Sincerely H.N.
Arts Erie.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013



CROSSING HAVANA EXHIBIT

I attended the percussion workshop, I found the workshop informative, fun and now I am able to
leave feeling more confident about my playing. Excellent Workshop.

rwilliams

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More percussion workshops

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

AFRICIAN-AMERICAS May 6-11

I attended few workshops, film photo exhibits. It was delightful and an educational experience. I have
learned much about the Cuban-Afro Heritage. It was well organized and presented. I would like to recognize YMWAHA for a job well done.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

Crossing Havana Exhitation















































CROSSING HAVANA EXHIBITION MAY
6-11,2013 @YMWAHA ON THE NORTHSIDE,THIS IS AN ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL EXHIBITION. THE PHOTOS IN PARTICULAR, PRESENT A UNIQUE VIEW OF RACE IN CUBA, PARTLY BECAUSE OF THE QUALITY & TRAUMIC BALANCE OF THE IMAGES, BUT ESPECIALLY BECAUSE THEY WERE TAKEN BY BLACK-CUBANS THEMSELVES. RARE !!

L. GLASCO


































































































































































































































































Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

GET THE WORK OUT ABOUT THIS ORGANIZATION

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 25, 2013

Last night during the weekly pick up of items from Panera Bread for distribution to low income families, I rushed the YMWAHA staff because I was excited to to give him a good report. I'm a 17 year ol... more

April 25, 2013

God works through YMWAHA in beautiful ways. Best of all, He's given YMWAHA and friendship to us,
that is the most beautiful blessing anyone could ask for. Thanks for all the helpful ways YMWAHA has
provided to us and the community

Jay & John B

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

Last night during the weekly pick up of items from Panera Bread for distribution to low income families, I rushed the YMWAHA staff because I was excited to to give him a good report. I'm a 17 year old high school senior but all I kept saying was thank you, thank you, thank you so much. It took him a second to realize why I was thanking him.

A couple of months ago while waiting for the bread we struck up a conversation. The YMWAHA staff asked me what I was doing after graduation? I proudly indicated I had been accepted to Kent State University, of course he was elated for me. He asked how I planned to pay for college and I mentioned a mixture of loans, parents, work, etc. He immediately asked for my email address so he could send me information regarding available funding sources for scholarships, etc. A few months went by, that's when he showed up again at my job and I rushed over to tell him I had utilized one of the resources he'd sent and received $22,000 in scholarship for my tuition. A breakdown of the resources looks like this;

Kent State Tuition $26,000
My Scholarship $22,000
Out of pocket $4,000

The scholarship is renewed annually if I maintain a 3.0 or above; meaning over four years I will receive $88,000 in scholarship money to help cover the needed $104,000. My four year out-of-pocket costs will be $16,000, less than a full year's tuition.
My name is Cammie, this is my story and I want the world to know why YMWAHA is a great nonprofit!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

YMWAHA planted a wonderful garden this year and shared their harvest with their neighbors. I work at the library just behind the garden and was treated to some great produce this summer. Thank you so much for all the hard work. I and the rest of the library staff really appreciate all you do, especially beautifying our shared back yards.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Young Men and Women's African Heritage Association is the best thing happening to me. I was 11 years young when I found this association, or should I say when this association found me. I had absolutely no direction. I thought I had a clue but for some odd reason I kept misplacing it. This place, this haven has taught me in numerous ways not only how to get a clue, but how to draw a map. I am in charge of my life because of the music program that was offered to me. The Young Men and Women's African Heritage Association teaches discipline through skills you may already have. Discipline found through art. Patience and planning that is found in quilting. The job employment and training program is phenomenal. Those programs are few of many. The instructors and employees cared for me. I now care about myself. Programs like these are essential to the community not only for recreation but for growth. I am now 23 years young and will do my best to help others the way I was helped by The Young Men and Women's African Heritage Association.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my life. I carry this organization with me everywhere I go. I wear Y.M.W.A.H.A on my chest so people know the type of person they are dealing with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

duplicate the entire program and get like minded people to help run the next facility.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I was the one lost. This group found me.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This place has taught me that I am in charge of every aspect of my life. If I like what I see I will will join and help. If I don't like what I see, I will join and help.

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

YMWAHA was my very first job which I started my first year in high school. It is a very positive organization. It gave me an opportunity to experience a working environment along with responsibility. It is also an organization that empowers black people with an 'I can do anything I put my mind to' attitude.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2011

more

March 24, 2011

YMWAHA is a wonderful resource in my neighborhood. The building opens on Thursdays with free bread and pastries for anyone who brings their own bag. On Tuesdays throughout the winter I stopped by with 2 of my 5-kids for the delicious free soup that believe it or not the Executive Director prepares!
It's been difficult for my family of 7 to manage during these lean economic times. My husband's income can only stretch so far but YMWAHA has been there with clothing, art classes for my school aged kids and the fact that the majority of their programs are free or the cost of a donation is the kind of agency that I have to talk about.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

For many years

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate a year's salary to keep programs going for others who could benefit well into the future.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers