Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I arrived at Thrive a few days before my chemo began, terrified about the toxic drugs coming down the pike and their potential effects on my otherwise healthy body. Fast forward a few months--all eight rounds of chemo completed--and I can tell you that two things got me through this physically and emotionally grueling time: support from my family and friends plus the services and community provided by You Can Thrive. The holistic modalities on offer (acupuncture, reiki and nutritional counseling to name a few) are top notch in easing pain and aiding healing, but it goes far beyond that. The practitioners who volunteer their time and expertise do so with such openness, warmth and a genuine desire to help the women they serve. As a client, I always felt welcomed and fully accepted by the providers, volunteers and founder Luana herself. It's a safe environment where breast cancer patients can doff their wigs, reveal their fears and share their stories, all while receiving wonderful, complementary treatments to balance the harsh effects of traditional cancer protocols. I'm grateful I found Thrive, through a survivor at a SHARE support group, and I'm happy when I can return the favor to another newly diagnosed woman. It's as if I'm passing along a treasured key that opens the door to surviving cancer with just a little more ease and grace and a lot more happiness and good health.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I was introduced to YCT by a friend during my chemo treatments, the first time I went to YCT location, couldn't believe the welcoming I received, everyone on this organization offers positive, caring and loving energy, I finished my chemo treatments, however as so many of us go thru the healing process, I was struggling with pain and no strength in my legs, YCT still have been offering me help to deal with my healing process, one of the treatments that has help me tremendously is reflexology, the improvement on the strength of my legs is incredible and the pain has lessen a great deal, along with the physical treatments they gave me spiritual guidance, I am very grateful to Luana and all her staff for a great work that they do, I wish there were more organizations like this one to help millions of us during these hardships.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Upon hearing the diagnosis of breast cancer, needless to say i was beyond being upset. I was told about You Can Thrive through a doctor's office. Since going and meeting with Luana and her team of incredible people I have come in contact with many other foundations and groups. You Can Thrive is so unique in it's approach. It takes into account the entire person and what will benefit her the most. From Nutrition, acupuncture. aroma therapy, the love and support and above all the positive energy that is felt as soon as you walk in just to name a few of the things that are offered far exceeded any pre conceived ideas i may have had. Because of Luana I now know there is a bright journey ahead of me and I live in hope as opposed to being sad. May her and her foundation continue their mission to help those of us afflicted with a disease that most everyone fears and nobody wants.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I came to YCT recommended by my hospital. They kept trying to put me in groups where women sat in circles and spoke about how terrible their illness were and all the bad things happening to them, including all their fears and . I'm not a "group" person, but had done therapy in the past, so wasn't closed off to talking about what was going on through dealing with my (hopefully ex) cancer. The moment you step into You Can Thrive! you breath deep and are very relaxed. All the volunteers treat you like old loved friends who ask how you are ad offer advice on how to Thrive after this experience. I went there so scared, my hospital was an incompetent mess and I wanted to give up on going forwad with treatment. Every week I was at YCT, who ever the volunteer doing reiki, nutrition, acupuncture, reflexology or tapping was would first get to know you. To see how you were doing not only physically, but mentally. I get sooo much more care,love, time, attention and personal knowledge about my case then I have ever EVER gotten from my surgeon, plastic surgeon or oncologist. I can honestly say that without YCT I would have given up. Without their encouragement, offering nutritional and stress reducing services like massage, reike, reflexology and acupuncture I woudln't have been able to get through my radiation and all the errors at NYP that made we wonder if I was going through all this just to have them screw up and not catch a reoccurance later on. Luanne the founder spoke with me on how all systems are broken and how we need to advocate for ourselves every step of our treatment. So it's not just having wonderful treatments...It's having them from people who thoroughly understand what you are going through and who genuinely care about you thriving.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a charity for breast cancer patients and survivors. They provide guidance and support on nutrition, intermediating on your health care such as contacting your doctors on behalf of patients but most important, they provide free holistic services (acupuncture, reiki, massage etc.) to women like me who couldn't otherwise afford it. Getting cancer treatment is horrific in a physical and emotional way and the hospitals who treat us do not offer these very necessary services. They helped me when I needed it most. And we meet other survivors which assists in our recovery.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am SO grateful to have found You Can Thrive; it is a place like no other! I followed standard treatment protocol for breast cancer and suffered many side effects from radiation and drugs. You Can Thrive not only provided an amazing support system but offered complimentary therapies such as acupuncture, nutritional support, massage, reflexology, Reiki, meditation, wellness workshops, healthy food prep demos and much more. You Can Thrive offers an opportunity to connect with a community, a "whole-being" support team. I would highly recommend this foundation to anyone diagnosed with breast cancer; you will find love, support and invaluable tools to meet the challenges ahead.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

You Can Thrive is a blessing, there is no where else like it. They focus so much on the person emotionally and spiritually with so many wonderful treatments available. You leave there with such a feeling of peace and relaxation. A great space to meet and share with others on their Cancer Journey.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

You Can Thrive is the greatest gift to women with breast cancer that you one could ever wish for. I was fortunate enough to be told about You Can Thrive while I attended a support group during my treatment and it has enriched my world. The services that are offered - acupuncture, massage, reiki, nutritional counseling, reflexology-too many to list-are essential to healing - both emotionally and physically. Luana, all of the volunteers and all of the survivors you meet there are the most compassionate, knowledgeable and fun people you could ever want in your life. You Can Thrive is a blessing and I am grateful I found it when I needed it and grateful to be able to offer my services back to them whenever I can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been so blessed to receive the support and genuineness of YCT all the way in Atlanta. I met Luana via Urban Zen Integrative Therapy training in NYC and she took me in. I happen to be a Hodgkin's lymphoma fighter and survivor, but I've been embraced my the clients and volunteers just the same. I lost my grandmother to metastatic breast cancer. She tried to learn as much as she could about complementary therapies, but had no where in our small city to turn. I think about her and how she would've really thrived had she had a place like YCT. I feel as though I thrive when I connect w/ my YCT family via facebook, twitter, and when they send me reiki. I can go on and on about how important and how vital the services provided by YCT are to women like myself. We are more than tumors and regardless of financial status need to be cared for as whole beautiful beings who matter. Much love to Luana and all those who make YCT possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am very greatful for the help of You Can Thrive, It helped me a great deal facing the outcomes of chemo in a very practical ways like reiki, accupuncture, reflexology and aromatherapy. I have met wonderful people there and also I have been introduced to new, delicious, nutricious food. Simply speaking: if you need help-you will get there!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with Social Networking or volunteer at our front desk. If you are an experienced integrative practitioner join our truly integrative community for one shift a month. Work with others for an ideal volunteer experience. Volunteer