Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Massage and Polarity Therapist and I love giving session at YCT. The atmosphere is warm, friendly, easy to share your gifts and help women on their journey through/with Breast Cancer. Being a part of YCT helps me feel and remember the basic truth of just being with someone is the best medicine in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love working at You Can Thrive! I have met some of the most extraordinary and inspiring people there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a photographer and I photographed the services that You Can Thrive brings to women. Seeing the wonderful service they provide to women, and having a mother with breast cancer, it made me very proud to use my photography to spread the word about this wonderful, caring center. You Can Thrive not only helps women cope with Cancer, they truly help women thrive with the disease and live with it, raising their spirits! That is so meaningful to the women who feel no one else understands. It's a positive place where they encourage each other - laughter is the best medicine and they encourage and give women, who are devastated, a reason to laugh and be happy! Empowering!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My experience at You Can Thrive! has been phenomenal. I really enjoy my volunteering there on Sundays. It is a beautiful and supportive atmosphere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2011

You Can Thrive is showing us the way. Women of all ages who are undergoing intense and long-term medical treatments associated with breast cancer and experience the trauma associated should be offere... more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

You Can Thrive Foundation's services are cutting edge. YCT fills a gap where no gap should be and I am happy to be part of it. I offer Reflexology sessions to YCT clients who also receive other integrative services, as well as advocacy. YCT sets an example and has been doing so for years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2011

You Can Thrive is showing us the way. Women of all ages who are undergoing intense and long-term medical treatments associated with breast cancer and experience the trauma associated should be offered the kind of treatments that You Can Thrive provides.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It is very rewarding to see that a client's breathing has moved from chest to belly, that stress and anxiety have been replaced with a smile. This is when true healing can take place. Reflexology does that! Reflexology should be part of any integrative care offered and integrative care should be offered at every hospital. Reflexology is non-invasive and is effective even when very little pressure is used.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add links to a referral listing of all former and current professional practitioners offering sliding scale fees to YCT clients so they can continue to get treatments to sustain well being after they leave You Can Thrive and/or link to professional associations to enable clients who no longer can take advantage of the YCT service to easily locate professional practitioners throughout the state or even country....

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I met Luana DeAngelis through a friend and her dedication to the cause of providing complimentary treatment to women wit breast cancer inspired me to get involved in her cause. I am now both an intern and a volunteer for You Can Thrive and it has been one of the most fulfilling and rewarding experiences of my life. The healing nourishment and group support that this foundation provides has by now become an indispensable resource for the community and the women suffering from this illness. If you want to make a difference in people's lives, there is no better way and no better cause than this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I have volunteered at YCT many times and it has never failed to help me feel gratitude and wonder at how much more I receive when I give my time and service to others. Meeting the loving volunteers, and the courageous clients have made a big difference in understanding how community should truly work. Great organization, wonderful support and information for patients undergoing difficult life transistions. Cudos and Rewards for YCT, a great organization with true healing at it's heart. Geraldine Lesser

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

Being involved in You Can Thrive has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. You can see the difference being made in the lives of these women while there. This organization is so desperately needed as people are impacted by the emotional and financial burden that comes with a diagnosis like cancer. I'm so grateful You Can Thrive exists!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2012

You Can Thrive Foundation offers great healing support for women with breast cancer. The women receiving services come from all walks of life and are wonderful. Volunteer practitioners offer acupuncture, massage, energy healing, nutritional counseling, etc. The quiet, relaxed environment allows practitioners to exchange helpful information with each other. The executive director and program coordinator are professional women with a great vision that they've been able to put into action. I am so very grateful to be a volunteer practitioner for an organization that is offering such important, needed work. I highly recommend this organization to women who need healing support from breast cancer and to anyone looking for a special place to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I do not remember my first day working with You Can Thrive; the days blend together as a single, thematic experience — checking in clients and looking out at the waiting room, seeing people talking about the weather, their families, and what they've been up to on the weekends. Chit-chat wafting around the room interspersed with spurts of chuckles. An occasional sigh. The underlying pulse is clear — that this space is safe and loving. Many women, especially in underprivileged communities, suffer from cancer and do not have access to palliative care. You Can Thrive is exceptional. It's a treasure created and nurtured by so many hands and spirits. Although each day brings its own challenges, the animating force of You Can Thrive is the commitment of its community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My reason for volunteering has evolved. When I first joined, I thought volunteering would be a good way to give back to New York City, a city that has been my home for many years. After meeting Luana and working at the wellness center, my reason for volunteering became supporting my friends work through tough times. Today, I live five hours away, going to school upstate. My reason for volunteering (albeit intermittently), is to support my You Can Thrive family, which grows bigger each time I return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm so grateful for having the opportunity to work for You Can Thrive. If I could make changes to this organization, I would expand the resources. By supporting You Can Thrive and donating, I believe that we are enhancing the ability of You Can Thrive to reach out to and serve more people. Thank you for all that you do.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with Social Networking or volunteer at our front desk. If you are an experienced integrative practitioner join our truly integrative community for one shift a month. Work with others for an ideal volunteer experience. Volunteer