Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

My family and a friend and part of her family have helped on Tuesday sorting and preparing literally tons of food that gets donated and then on Wednesday getting it packaged for handing out to the hundreds of people who line up starting in the pre-dawn hours.
The other volunteers welcomed us
warmly and made us feel appreciated and all showed us what needed done and helped us plug in quickly. That so many volunteers work together as a team in harmony in what one of the volunteers called organized chaos was inspiring. A lot of smiles and encouragement are visible.
The recipients of the food from the pantry vary from babies and toddlers hanging on to moms skirt to elderly widows and widowers. Husbands and fathers asking for help for their families. Worried mothers grateful for something to feed their children.
It was heartwarming and inspiring to have the distinct pleasure of teaming up together with this great group of volunteers and non-profit organization and myself and my family are blessed to get to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My company, DLD Insurance Brokers, volunteered here on April 15th 2014. We had the most amazing, humbling experience! Michelle is amazing and what her and her husband have undertook for this community is mind blowing. We where so honored to be able to serve with them and pack bags for them to hand out the following day to those in need. Everyone made us feel so welcome and we were able to jump right in and fill in where needed. There was plenty of work to go around, and was a great bonding experience for our office. I have since been approached by people at the office telling me what a superb organization YAS is and how honored they were to be able to help! If your office is looking for a bonding event this is the way to go!!
March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My company was blessed to be apart of this amazing organization by volunteering for a special event involving YAS. It is hard-work, fulfilling, necessary, inspiring and all for the Glory of God. Thanks YAS!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since retiring I wanted to find somewhere to do volunteer work. My sister & brother were already going to YAS as volunteers , and kept telling me how much they liked the people there. I've been going now for over a year, and we help sort food on Tuesdays, and distribute it on Wednesdays to many very needy families in Orange. It's awesome how many people are being helped from such a small space. I really enjoy serving at YAS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

YAS is God’s hand extended!
I am volunteering to help YAS sign up families to receive a fresh or frozen turkey along with food items for a complete Thanksgiving dinner. Recently, a friend approached me and asked if YAS could provide food for her co-worker whose husband is dying. This young
woman has four children and works long hours to provide for her family since her husband is unable to work. She cries in the shower so her kids won’t see her break down. YAS has been so very awesome! The first time she received the food, she said her kids were so very happy because they had real milk instead of powdered milk! This program provides her with cereal, milk, eggs, chicken and various items that make her life just a little more tolerable under such duress!
Thank you a million times for ministering to those in need!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 9, 2013

I found out about YAS thru a friend and wanted to give back to the community . Not only are the owners Michelle and Eric Hensley great people they are able to pull off the most incredible outpouring ... more

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the food pantry for over a year now, I had been in a bad medical accident prior to this and needed to get out in the world again . A friend of mine suggested donating time and energy to a volunteer group and Michelle's site just happened to pop up in a newspaper my sister gave me . I can truly say this experience has helped me get back on my feet and taught me many valuable lessons in life . I'm continually amazed as to how much we do with so little at times .The people I work with and the people I've become friends with in the lines has enriched my life in so many ways ,, I can"t thank them enouigh for taking me onboard and helping me while I help them . forever gratefull ,Hodge L. Moore

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope they get more grants to help feed the ever increasing food lines we've seen this last year .Michelle and Eric are two of the most non-stop working people I've met in many yearsand always have a smile and time to speak to me if I'm having problems in my life ... again Mahalo for all you've done and continue to due,Hodge

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 9, 2013

I found out about YAS thru a friend and wanted to give back to the community . Not only are the owners Michelle and Eric Hensley great people they are able to pull off the most incredible outpouring of food and giving I don't know how they do it . I have volunteered there for alomost 9 months know and they people they help are truly in need and I've been blessed to meet some of them and become friends . They truly do a wonderful job and I thank them for being there and in my life .Hodge L Moore

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

You Are Special is a Great Place to serve. My sons and I, look forward to serving every Wednesday morning. It is hard work, but its such a joy to be part of YAS. The people that come all have such a heart breaking story, and their need is great. It is a pleasure to serve them and see some of the peoples gratitude be so genuine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If funding was not an issue, I would have a computer with special software program be available for all guest to check in via their drivers license or id (expired or not) or what ever form of id that would identify same address. And information would keep a log of guest numbers. Currently this type of system is a great expense. The current logs used work well and is inexpensive. Just a thought.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hey this program is amazing... I have been volunteering for over three years and have been blessed by it.. It is a great experience with great personal benefits.... Thank you YAS...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With what little time I've been able to donate, I will say that I've seen some of the hardest working people I've met to date. Every week YAS gives back to the community, not just physical needs, such as food and often times clothing, but they give their time and attention to those who have very little. It's inspiring; they are doing a great good for so many people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

My family and I have had the pleasure to volunteer here for the past couple of years, and I have to say that this organization is amazing. My 12 year old son and I look forward to going every Wednesday morning and we are sad when we are not able to make it. It is so amazing to see the leaders of this organization serving side by side with the rest of the volunteers day in and day out as well.The quality of the food is great considering it is rescued food. A Great Organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Unload, sort and pack food to hand out! Volunteer