Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1.752345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

Senior citizens become persona-non-grata at the Weekley Y. Recently our evening water aerobics class was eliminated. In addition, the events and attitudes that led up to cutting this 10 year old program made many of us feel marginalized and discriminated against. We have a brand new pool that no one uses, while the one we use is taken away. I blame poor planning, and a lack of sensitivity for the aging for the demise of this much need program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 25, 2012

I loved the YMCA in Pearland. I had been a member for 16 years, and enjoyed their pool and workout/weight facilities. But due to continued monthly membership rate increases, I was finally forced to go elsewhere. No one seemed to question why the Houston Area YMCA's pay 55% of there gross operating revenues in salaries. Most of these facilities are run by part-time minumum wage college students. They must pay the top administrative people who run these branch quite well. My membership fee had doubled during the 16 years I was a member, and no one seems to ask why? Thats more than the inflation rate. Yes they offer reduced membership rates for people below a certain income level, but just try and qualify. I question whether they should even be allowed to operate as a non-profit organization. Members are asked to fund the salaries of the few.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family has been members or employees of the YMCA and YWCA for over 90 years. Although the “Y” is a non-profit, we like to have reasonably nice facilities. Fundamentally nothing is free. Ys cost money to operate. Those that pay nothing to use the facilities often don’t take care of the facilities because they have no vested interest. Each the summer our local Y pool becomes a real cesspool. Overcrowded, and utterly revolting. Those that create the situation are freeloaders. As a devote Christian I am all about charity… for those that respect the gift and themselves contribute labor where possible. The Y should not simply be a dumping ground for ill behaved children while their mother takes off to visit a “friend”.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I think when Organizations grow so much they lost the Mission. I realized the YMCA is not for all people withouth an income or a job can't have services at the YMCA. There is not any free program for the low income communities. I have see so many low income people get to the YMCA and not be able to get services for their children. I think they should run the YMCA like a bussiness not like a Nonprofit Organization. Is totaly about money not ablout people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Frustration because I refer people and they did not help them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to review their Mission and run like a nonrpofit or take a way their status and run like a bussiness

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers