Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

My husband and I were two of the lucky volunteers who participated with the Xela Aid project in August 2014. We were instantly hooked when we went to the home of Leslie Baer for our first orientation in Huntington Beach. The people going on the trip were committed and excited to return to continue the on-going projects. When we arrived at the clinic, we were greeted as family and the joy and appreciation was felt the duration. To see what Xela Aid has accomplished over the past 22 years is more than impressive. Because of Xela Aid, houses for the impoverished were built, a clinic was built and now has 14 staff, the nearby schools have seen improvements, such as bathrooms, classrooms, and playgrounds, and much more. Nothing can be more satisfying than working along side the local people in their endeavor to better their lives. For sure, our lives have been enriched.
August 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a physician and have had the opportunity to go to Guatemala twice in the past six months with two groups of wonderful volunteers of Xela AID nonprofit organization. Each trip has exceeded all expectations on many fronts. First of all, the trips have been well organized with group leaders being capable and pleasant people. The spirit and camaraderie of the other participants have been exceptional. The Mayan people who we work with and help are warm, caring and appreciative. They are quick to welcome you with a smile and a hug.
Xela AID seems to be at a point in it's long standing existence of over 20 years, where it is growing and gaining momentum. Much of this is do to the outstanding people involved and the special mission of helping and caring that is the cornerstone of Xela AID. This organization focuses on a comprehensive approach that facilitates self reliance and sustainability, both being so important for long terms success.
I highly recommend to anyone who wants to help others, find meaning in life and share some special time with special people, sign up and go down to Guatemala with Xela AID.
August 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 16, 2013

We first heard about this project 8 years ago from our former pastor's wife. She made a presentation at our church and we signed right up to sponsor a student's education. Our $1/day would make the ... more

August 17, 2014

Having retired a few years ago from 40 years in public education as a teacher then an administrator, I welcomed the chance to get back into a classroom and teach some kids. My husband knew how much I had enjoyed my career in education and said he'd give a try being a teaching assistant. We loved it last year, we loved it this year, we'll probably go next year too. The students and staff in the San Martin area are amazing and we absolutely learned more from them than we taught them. As a professional educator, I can tell you that they have model programs where students not only master the basics but also have meaningful art, music and physical education programs. From an early age, students are encouraged to think about the future and choose a meaningful career. It is certainly a bonus to be a volunteer who speaks Spanish, but there are plenty of ways to contribute if you only speak English.

There were other projects this trip such as in working in adult literacy, in the newly-expanded medical clinic, with the young leaders. There was also a project to build a house for four orphaned children being cared for by their loving aunties. It was called "A House for Julia" and you should read all about it on the XelaAid website or FB page. My husband and I worked in the schools for three mornings and on the house the rest of the time. Earlier volunteer teams had it built, and it needed to be painted inside and out and furnished. The cooperation of the community with the volunteers was heartwarming and effective. We will never forget the tears of joy shed by our amazing leadership (Leslie, Luis and Mel), our team who worked on it, the local artisans and volunteers...and mostly the children and the aunties who never dreamed they would have a safe home with a roof that didn't leak, a real concrete floor, real beds, basic furniture, a stove and even a peach tree in the yard. This is an amazing non-profit and I am so glad we are a small part of it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are to be commended on the teamwork, careful research, enthusiasm, cost control and choice of projects. The leadership always asks for input, and they really listen.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2013

We first heard about this project 8 years ago from our former pastor's wife. She made a presentation at our church and we signed right up to sponsor a student's education. Our $1/day would make the difference between him staying in school or not. Over the years, we mailed, emailed and Facebooked with that student and watched him grow up. When our beloved pastor died a few years ago, we sponsored an additional student in his honor, since this was one of his favorite projects.

Most students never meet their sponsors face to face. At the encouragement of our new Xela family, my husband and I volunteered for a summer work team, partly to meet these two "godchildren" and partly because we thought so highly of Leslie and Mel and all of Xela's well-thought-out, sustainable projects. Over the past 20 years, this project has grown from sponsoring the education of a few children to planning a comprehensive and sustainable program to keep these educated students in their villages and truly become the future leaders of the area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actually, we very much respect the values of the organization and the way it has slowly and methodically selected new projects. Can't think of a thing we'd change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I recently came back from a trip from Guatemala with XELA Aid. From the moment that we were greeted into the San Martin community, it became clear that this organization has become family and a consistent source of empowerment, aid, and joy for many of the people there. Headed by smart, hard-working people both in Guatemala and the U.S., the leaders are constantly working to improve and stretch dollars to help people help themselves. Especially exciting programs that I saw were the youth leadership group (empowering youth to be community leaders and raise money through micro-loan businesses); a restructuring of the clinic with an energized, committed, and accomplished new doctor; a literacy group of women who are learning to speak Spanish for the first time; sponsored students who are going further in school than they ever would have imagined; construction of new homes and schools to make survival and education possible; and a continuation of a woman's weaver's co-op that generates income and preserves an important artistic tradition. These are just a few of the MANY ways that XELA Aid affects the community. Beyond these initiatives, XELA Aid trips and events with the community are filled with love and cross-cultural communication and respect. I have amazing new friends on both side of the border. I am proud to now be a small part of this organization and am excited to see what wonderful work they will continue to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I guarantee you will be changed forever working with Xela AID to give a "hand-up" and not the proverbial "hand-out". The results are evidenced by the houses and schools being built. The leaders being trained to take care of those in their community. The education for better health and nutrition is helping the children become more confident and simply do better in school. It was so satisfying to work with these happy children. They are so interested in learning and trying new things.

The women are becoming even more literate and better able to take care of their families. They are being shown how to create micro businesses and either help support, or become the bread winner for their family. It is so empowering.

I was fortunate enough to have my sixteen year old daughter volunteer with me. Every once in awhile I would stop for a moment to watch the wonder, and see the sparkle in her eyes as she connected, played and shared with the children. She worked with all the other "grown-ups" on different projects like slinging concrete blocks helping to build a house for four orphans, assisting with testing and giving out eyewear for those that could not see well, and helping in the art class for the children.

The most wonderful outcome was on our last day, she wanted to sponsor a little girl so she would be able to complete her schooling. I was overjoyed.....I had already decided we would do that but it was even more meaningful to have her bring it up and we could share it with her "new sister" as she called her. She never left our side the rest of the day! My daughter is going to babysit, rake lawns or other things to make money to help sponsor her. She wants to be partially responsible for her personally. Talk about a life changing experience for my daughter and how proud I am of the choices she is now making. Her eyes have been opened and her heart has been touched because of Xela AID.

We will be going on more trips to visit (our new sponsoree) and help in many more ways. Maybe next time I'll get to help put in water filters in more of the homes like some of the others on our team did this trip. That is why I think Xela AID is so special...they are there in the community for the looooooong haul. Twenty two years and counting, not a once and done.

Thank you Xela AID for adding to our family through the awesome group members we worked with and all the new friends we made!

Till we see you all again, (soon)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make so many more aware of this amazing organization!!! Somehow get them on more peoples radar so there could be more funds coming in....so we could effect more change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

Now is the time for confession--I am still seeking balance after this life-changing experience. I've experienced life-changing experiences before; nothing before like this. My husband Glen and I work at living a life which is aware of the plenty which those of us living in the US have by consuming less, 'living simply so that others may simply live.' Now again I am keenly aware of the accidents of birth.

Just living in that climate, up high in the 'cloud forest,' as our Costa Rican colleague called it, is challenging. Nothing ever really dries! In the centuries old traditions of the Mayan people, the weaving, is of cotton. The women (in the village of San Martin) make a length of beautiful fabric, then wear it as a skirt, wrapped around their bodies more than 1-1/2 times, tied tightly at the waistline with a doubled around sash woven of more heavy cotton. Very beautiful textiles. Always damp.

These people are so grateful for the assistance provided by Xela Aid that they do not question our motives at all. There is no bitterness or resentment, or begging for more. And they see Xela Aid volunteers 3 to 4 times per year, for the past 22 years. They see our willingness and respond and we see their willingness and respond. Reina seemed to want to find a place in my heart, or perhaps I wanted to find a place for her there. Both, and both have succeeded! It is a marvel I will reflect on for the rest of my life.

Now a few words about such a well-thought out and organized trip. It seems to be designed so that working people can take 6 days of their vacation time only, or 5 days and a sick day, easy to work into your schedule. The trip starts in beautiful Antigua, moves on to 4 days of organized yet flexible work with the people of San Martin, then ends in gorgeous Lake Atitlan.

The 4 days of work is divided into mornings and afternoons. The San Martin people cooked us hot delicious lunches each day--some with Asian influences, others more traditional corn tortillas (black and yellow corn), chicken, and beans. Always the beans! Each lunch was punctuated by a different salsa, from mild to hot, with very different ingredients. The work ranged from hard physical work of building a house, to distributing eco-water filters for improved hygiene, to teaching new sweets to cook and hopefully create a micro-business, to providing 'reading' glasses so the women can continue to sew, to art projects with the kids. That's what I organized, two art projects where we taught 22 10 year olds to tap holes into fresh eggs, blow out and preserve the egg, and paint the egg with colorful designs. Not one egg got broken during the tapping of the holes! Amazing. They have such skilled hand-eye coordination at very young ages. The second project, star weaving, which you may be more familiar with as Eyes of God (but we did not impose that name on them) or even sometimes as Dream Catchers, was a huge hit! Altogether over 40 kids aged 5 to 12 caught on to the weaving and started making their own designs the very first time! Both of these projects are sustainable, do not require resources they do not have, and can become artisan objects which could be sold. They did not wait to be taught—sometimes not long enough for the next step! They were eager to learn.

One of our young male colleagues worked on the construction project every day, morning and afternoon. Hard, dirty work. In what I learned to be his characteristically understated way, he said the work could be done much more effectively by machine, but this way of work gave him much to think about. Another, a woman gifted in many ways, taught the women to knit, an art they were not familiar with and which they learned eagerly. She was surrounded by up to 25 women daily, carrying their babies on their backs, with all the sounds and smells that many people and babies crowded into a damp room bring.

There is no religious talk. (Perhaps that is why the San Martin’s do not question our motives; we are there at their disposal.) There is sharing of thoughts and feelings in twice-daily 'check-ins.' From the very first time I realized that 'check-in' meant more than just seeing if you still had a pulse, I looked forward to learning what the others had felt and to lightening my burden while they listened. The founder and leader, Leslie Baer Dinkel, has a unique gift. She can speak of the pain and misery in an objective manner, and balance it out with humor, education, and sensitivity. I hope we had a fraction of the impact on these peoples' lives as they had on ours. Actually, I can be sure of that because Xela Aid has been around so long and yet approaches the work with fresh eyes and optimism each trip.

Not only Leslie, but everyone on this particular trip, had a sense of self and of wonder and of purpose which melded us into a very effective and congenial group. I have new old friends for life. Good leadership, Leslie!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing! I will, however, learn a bit more about the Mayan people, whom my education had taught me were extinct as both a people as well as a civilization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

Xela AID and the Guatemalan trip we just took is one of the BEST trips which my wife Myra and I could have ever imagined. Leslie who leads the experience of a lifetime is one finest human beings and shows this at every turn. Her energy and spirit is one of the most amazing ones that I have seen in my 70 years. From the outset, she was responsive to all our concerns. Her staff and her husband Mel make for one of the finest teams for this type of immersion experience. The hotel accommodations were outstanding, as well. A private bus took us everywhere, and the driver was most careful along the many highways and byways.
Antigua, Quetzaltenango, and Lake Atitlan were all so very impressive. Leslie threw in several wonderful surprise excursions which kept us smiling and delighted. I have told my two children (ages 27 & 29) that I will pay for them to join a Xela Aid trip, believing that such a memorable time will be with them for many years and give them insights that young folks can benefit by. I HIGHLY recommend Xela Aid for all. Enjoy!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of changes that I would suggest. This is a Class Act and best remain as is.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 9, 2013

Back in the very early 1990's the second year that Xela Aid went to Guatemala my friend and I joined the team to help with the optometry clinic. We were the only Canadians on the team. Back then we wo... more

June 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have just returned from an amazing trip working in Guatemala with Xela Aid. I have been before, in fact many times, but every trip brings new satisfaction in seeing how this group has expanded their horizons and included extra projects that have literally changed the lives of the people living in San Martine Chiquito. This trip I taught some of the women to make candy and cookies that they might be able to sell to earn some money. It was so much fun to share their kitchen, their experiences, and their great sense of humour and friendship. I was also able to dispense reading glasses to about 50 people who needed single vision readers to enable them to continue to sew, weave, or read. It's a privilege to be a part of Xela Aid and to make a difference in the lives of those we work with. It has definitely changed my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to have trips that last a bit longer. It always seems to be too short.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2013

Back in the very early 1990's the second year that Xela Aid went to Guatemala my friend and I joined the team to help with the optometry clinic. We were the only Canadians on the team. Back then we worked in tents and moved from place to place. Over the years following we returned well over a dozen times and watched this amazing charity grow into a very effective NGO that settled in the town of San Martine, built a clinic, and really made a difference in the lives of the people of that village and beyond. We sponsored a brother and sister who are now both teachers and he is the Director of Education for the district he lives in. They were the first children in their village who ever went to high school. Being a part of Xela Aid changed our lives too. We made lifelong friends in Guatemala. Our outlook on life broadened to include another culture, another way of sharing what we could give, and receiving the wisdom, friendship, and experience of being a part of an extraordinary group of people who truly put others before themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to have trips at various times of the year .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 25, 2014

more

June 25, 2014

In the seven years we've been part of Xela AID, first as volunteers and now as part of the Board, I've been struck by the amazing changes that the various programs have on the people of these communities. The balanced approach of working on the four pillars of development, health, education, environment and work opportunities, provides the best template I've seen for true sustainability. As a model for integral community development this should be enough. However, there is also the personal, deep and emotional involvement with people that become your friends and family for life. Sponsored children given an opportunity of education and health become young adults with high dreams and unending energy; humble women become community leaders and master teachers, empowered business women and public speakers; shy young students become group leaders and movers of humanitarian projects. Xela AID saves lives, builds capacity, deals with emergencies, gathers resources and empowers people. There is so much potential, so many opportunities, and already so many accomplishments. I look forward to many more years of partnering with these communities working together for their future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Xela AID is growing and becoming more professional. The only thing I would suggest is to continue to think big and search for larger grants that would allow the consolidation of the programs and the spread of the successful model. Efforts towards an endowment would help achieve this goal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2014

more

June 25, 2014

The First time I came on a Xela AID volunteer trip was 7 years ago and I have been coming ever since! This project is not just another pilot project like you see in so many places. It has been going strong for over 20 years and it gets stronger and bigger every day! The Maya's we work with are amazing people and they make the decisions about what they need help with and many times I have seen them put the need of others before their own. The projects include health, education, clean water, micro loans and emergency help for those who are in dire need. The volunteer trips are amazingly beautiful, efficient and somehow everybody seems got get along wonderfully and we have made great friends not only with the locals but also other volunteers. There is no drama and no personality clashes, it's amazing to see!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more and get even more people involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help collect needed school supplies Volunteer