Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I have been a Board member for Wuqu'Kawoq for several years and wish to say how incredibly and continually impressed I am with this organization, its leadership, and the work it does. There are literally thousands of NGOs in Guatemala, many of them focusing on health, but only a small handful address important health issues in ways that are sustainable and sensitive to the culture and language of the people they serve. Wuqu'Kawoq is one of these. It take anthropology and linguistics as serious as it does medicine. Let me give you just one example. One big problem in rural Guatemala is diabetes. A bigger problem than access to meds, however, is education: most people do not really understand the disease, what it is or how medication and diet can help them combat its effects. These things can be explained in Spanish, sure, but most rural Guatemalans do not speak Spanish, they speak a Mayan language. Wuqu'Kawoq staff speak these languages; moreover, to address the problem, they consulted with local Mayan linguists. In the end, they actually created a new word for 'diabetes' in the Kaqchikel language to replace the Spanish borrowing that was in use. The word they used translates directly to 'sweet blood.' This word has now allowed them to explain clearly to diabetics what is wrong with them (they have 'sweet blood') and how to make their blood 'less sweet!' People who have had the disease for years are finally understanding it! And that is allowing them to address their own illness! There are dozens of other examples of WK's amazing and unique effectiveness in addressing such issues (including many women's health issues, child malnutrition, complex surgical procedures, etc.). It is why I have given thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours of my time over the years to this organization and will continue to do so as long as I am able.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

As a Board Member for the past 2 years, I continue to be extremely impressed with Wuqu' Kawoq ,the dedication & skill of our entire team in Guatemala and their ability to make an extraordinarily positive impact on both individuals and the entire communities within which we're fortunate to work. My wife and I have prioritized our own giving by making a significant multi-year financial commitment to Wuqu' Kawoq. We believe deeply in the organization and its ability to make a sustainable positive contribution to the well-being of so many Guatemalan women, children and men. We're most touched by the respect with which our staff treat community members to ensure that they receive the excellent care that they deserve, delivered in their maternal language (Maya languages). I'm looking forward to accomplishing even more in the years ahead, especially with the help of our committed Donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

This is a unique organization that does it's work thoughtfully and respectfully. It is fully deserving of our support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2011

I have been working with Wuqu' Kawoq since nearly its inception, walked it through its incorporation and certification as a not-for-profit, and have watched it grow over the past few years. I have fi... more

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved in this work since its inception in 2007. As the treasurer since we started I can vouch that currently around 95% of every dollar collected in fundraising goes directly to patient care and community development projects. Our programs in water development have been amazing as we have used technology that has been around a long time and through the efforts of our volunteers improved its efficiency. Health care needs continue to outstrip resources, but each day holds opportunity to do real good in the lives of our patients. This is a work I personally support as a Sustaining Donor and am proud to have my name associated with this organization. 2012 and 2013 are years of consolidation as we continue to try to become better and more efficient at what we do and continue to forge Guatemalan network connections both with other organizations and with the government. I cannot speak more highly of this work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2011

I have been working with Wuqu' Kawoq since nearly its inception, walked it through its incorporation and certification as a not-for-profit, and have watched it grow over the past few years. I have first hand knowledge that over 95% of the money donated goes directly to client services. There are always corporate costs, but these are kept to a minimum since all Board members and volunteers fund their own trips and service to the organization. Child nutritions, basic health care services, ongoing diabetic care, community water projects, emergency relief services, I've seen them all completed efficiently and in a context that fosters personal and community self-reliance and integrity. I donate each month to the cause and strongly recommend this to anyone seeking to invest in people's lives in a meaningful way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own understanding that a few individuals can really make a difference, that ideals can be turned into concrete goals and implementable projects, and that long term success largely depends upon involving the community and receiving individuals in the process early on to insure they receive what they need, not what we think they need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing different. This is a grassroots organization rooted in the communities we serve, providing services in a language they understand, and seeking to promote community wellbeing rather than our own personal agenda.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I was asked to become a board member early on.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Fund raising, we have the programs that have documented success, we just lake the resources to apply our models in other communities within Guatemala.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Remain true to our founding vision

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We do not currently have opening for short-term volunteers. However, we do take long-term volunteers on a case-by-case basis.