Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

Wuqu' Kawoq partners with communities to make a difference in people's lives, and not only that, but they coordinate with many other organizations in order to improve the complex network of NGOs in Guatemala. Good work, WK! Thank you for what you do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been coming to Guatemala and taking note of Guatemalan affairs for 30 thirty years now since 1980. There are many excellent NGO (non-government organizations) in the country that are doing fine work for and with the most impoverished and disenfranchised of the population, which frequently are the Indigenous Maya who make up more than half the total population of the country. 500 years of colonization, has kept and continues to keep the people impoverished. The work of Wuqu Kawoq is truly unique in its mission and approach to meet the needs of the People on their own cultural and language level. How novel and caring to find such people. My granddaughter (indigenous from Okla/ Kans) had hoped to assist as a volunteer during our current time here (July~Oct.5, 2012), but it did not materialize.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

These volunteers are doing a great job and are making a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2010

I have witnessed first hand the caring and compassionate work of Wuku Kawoq as evidenced by a small medical clinic in an impoverished village of Socorro. Long lines of women with children waited pati... more

September 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I observed first hand, women and children in Guatemala patiently waiting in line for their turn to see the doctor. He had great patience himself; he saw each woman, each child. Most complaints were stomach aches due intestinal parasites. Vitamins were given to the children. The women were so stoic - all wanted their children to be seen with little thought for themselves. Lists were kept; complete documentation of who was seen and when and what complaints. Referrals were made which the non profit would see to it that appointments were kept. The women and children had trust in the medical team - it was a hot day, a long line and all were seen. The clinic was held in a small cinder block home; the non profit is raising money to build a clinic with weekly supportive care,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2010

I have witnessed first hand the caring and compassionate work of Wuku Kawoq as evidenced by a small medical clinic in an impoverished village of Socorro. Long lines of women with children waited patiently to be seen by the volunteer doctor and aide - the day was hot; each client was seen; vitamins and iron pills were dispensed as needed after blood tests were done; cases of worms and lice were seen. The doctor and his aide knew the native language and were able to fluently discuss symptoms with the women and children. This was just one of several clinics administered by Wuku Kawoq. The NGO believes in the people learning to help themselves. Examples: Constructing water filters after introduction and information by Wuku Kawoq to help eliminate diarrhea and intestinal diseases; young Maya women studying maternal and infant health; instruction and education for Maya midwifery, demonstration farms for indigenous to learn better productivity for cacao, bananas and coffee. Wuku Kuwoq is able to retain the loyalty and continued help of all who have volunteered and interned with the NGO. Grants and donations are invaluable to keep up ongoing projects - the board and staff immediately got to work with supplies, water, food, medicines and physical help when the recent hurricane devastated Guatemala - their help and aid knows no bounds. A very important endeavor is the continued study of all volunteers to learn the native dialects to better connect with people. Wuku Kawoq is truly a NGO to be proud of.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Socorro and Chocola, Guatemala

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 3, 2012

more

September 3, 2012

This is a rare and much-needed health service in one of the most remote areas of the Western Hemisphere.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

I had the experience of visiting Guatemala & touring this beautiful, but ravaged country, whose history of military unrest has devastated its people. WUKU KAWOQ is a non-profit organization which seeks to bring medical aid, nutrition, improved sanitation, and humanitarian aid to an indigenous group of Guatemalans. The updates on programs ( like the provision of Plumpy-Doz nutritional supplement to children) & pictures of the results in improved growth & health of children are inspiring. Being able to provide this in their native language has the advantage of increasing compliance with programs & improving their quality of life from infancy. WUKU KAWOQ is deserving of financial assistance for the benefits it brings to the people it serves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 23, 2012

Wuqu' Kawoq, in my experience, stands alone among Guatemalan NGOs in its commitment to both linguistic and cultural competence in every single one of its endeavors. Every project that I have seen th... more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've had the privilege of volunteering for Wuku' Kawoq: Maya Health Alliance for the past four years, and I keep coming back for a reason...they know what they're doing.

WK's unique blend of in-depth, mixed-methods ethnographic research and their policy of providing excellent health care
free of charge to those who need it most has made, and continues to make, huge differences in the lives of people who are still recovering from the structural effects of a decades-long genocide and centuries of structural racism.

Their approach is unique in the area, and uniquely effective. I've seen the data myself (I'm a PhD student in applied anthropology); their success in ameliorating childhood malnutrition alone is well worth a five-star rating, and they do so much more than that. In my time with them, I have seen them successfully treat diabetics, amputees, ophthalmology cases, cleft palates, congenital heart defects, various cancers...the list goes on and on. In addition to arranging and providing free health care to those who truly can't afford it, WK acts as patient advocates in a world where the non-Spanish speaking indigenous individual is all too often swept aside.

I can't say enough about the beauty of their politics, their ethnography, their nutritional interventions, their hands-on care, and their research. As far as I've seen in the past four years, they've excelled in everything they've attempted.

If you're truly interested in making a difference, if you want assurance that your money goes directly toward changing someone's life for the better, in the most efficient way possible, without being re-routed through administrative chains and lost somewhere in the process (which is the case with so many NGOs in the area) you could not choose a better NGO than WK.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2012

Wuqu' Kawoq, in my experience, stands alone among Guatemalan NGOs in its commitment to both linguistic and cultural competence in every single one of its endeavors. Every project that I have seen them take on, and every individual within the organization, is consistently striving for excellence...a rarity in a world where the catchphrase of many non-profits is "most anything is better than nothing". Spanish is not the first language for many Guatemalans-- this, combined with a pluralistic medical system and often extreme structural constraints can make decent health care an impossibility for a large part of the population. WK's commitment to providing excellent care in Spanish, Kaqchikel, and Quiche, as well as their long-term ties to many communities, and their commitment to solid ethnographic research can-- and has-- meant the difference between life and death for many individuals, and given the organization's trajectory, will mean life and better health for many more. I am currently training as a medical anthropologist, and my first introduction to WK was three years ago, during preliminary dissertation fieldwork and language training. Since then, I have only grown more impressed with the organization and with the individuals involved, and I plan on continuing to work with WK throughout my graduate studies. Wuqu' Kawoq is a blend of pragmatic healthcare and applied anthropology that I had only once hoped existed...and I feel privileged to be a volunteer for such an excellent and unparalleled institution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2011

I was lucky enough to be able to work with Dr. Rohloff and the clinic staff for a short time last summer, and I came away very impressed with WK's personnel, staff, and mission. Not only are they providing a much needed service, but they are doing it in ways that are culturally and linguistically competent- something that adds relevance to their work, and with it, efficacy. The will to create change is not unique among NPOs, but their ability to do so can often be hampered by their ignorance of the cultural, structural, and material constraints that surround their area of interest. This is not the case with Wuqu' Kawoq, and I doubt it ever will be, given its current trajectory. Two thumbs way up.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was inspired enough by the work down by WK that I added Dr. Rohloff to my dissertation committee (thanks!) and am planning my PhD project around projects that I hope will benefit the clinic network.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n't.

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

I visited a rural town in Guatemala a few years ago and got to know many of the people there. This organization is great because it works with members of local communities to establish solutions to problems such as health and nutrition, and clean water. Some of their projects include diabetes care and education, child nutrition, water filters and midwife training. I really like the fact that the local community is strongly involved because that will help to create long term solutions for these problems, rather than just a band-aid.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I donated some money and viewed their progress through their many online updates through various mediums. They are easy to contact and will provide whatever information you seek.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give it more funding so more individuals could be helped. I would also like to eventually see something like where are they now.....like, for example, after a few years what are the children you helped doing now kind of thing. I think that would be good to help show all the wonderful things they have acomplished.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

Friends.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

I had the opportunity to visit a remote Mayan village in Guatemala, several years ago, and observed first hand, the care provided, on a specific occassion, to 48 poor children, 1-5 years old, by medical examination and measurements of their growth against norms, and by interviewing their mother, on their medical history and diet. On that day, 12 children were determined to be mal-noursished, and I could see their orange hair and unhealthy faces. I was deeply moved and have been a supporter of Wuqu' Kawoq ever since!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I visited a remote poor jungle village in Guatemala and witnesssed a nutritious mixture of milk and ground corn offered to 12 malnourished Mayan children, medication and vitamins dispensed, and their mother coached to proper diet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their visibility for boader fund raising to enable them to grow their activity and the good they do !

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

I encountered the work of Wuqu' Kawoq last year and was deeply impressed by the vision behind the organisation. As a professional linguist working in developing countries, I was greatly relieved to find an organisation taking a well-argued, positive stance towards indigenous languages. Wuqu' Kawoq embraces local linguistic and cultural heritage by bringing primary health care to the people in their own language.

It is one thing to make primary health care physically available; it is another thing to make it culturally intelligible. Many ambitious projects fail to take into account this second, crucial step. As a result, they often contribute to language loss; but not only that, their results are also less than optimal because of linguistic and cultural barriers.

In a time when so many non-profits operate with Western monoglot ideologies and simply use the major Western languages (which in developing countries often happen to be languages of former colonial oppressors), it is refreshing to see a non-profit realising the importance of local cultural heritage and language diversity. This choice is one of the keys to WKs remarkably successful work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I encountered the work of this nonprofit during a conference on how to respond to issues of language endangerment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think I would change anything. Well if anything, I would try to generalise the vision to other cultural settings so that other projects too can benefit from the insights that help make WK so successful.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We do not currently have opening for short-term volunteers. However, we do take long-term volunteers on a case-by-case basis.