Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

This is a unique organization that does it's work thoughtfully and respectfully. It is fully deserving of our support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Over the past two years, I have worked with Wuqu’ Kawoq on clean water projects. They have always shown themselves as an organization with a firm understanding of the people they are helping. The Wuqu’ Kawoq staff in Guatemala I have met through volunteering have been a great pleasure to work with and were very focused on community involvement. It is clear that communities are being improved and community members have great trust for the organization. Personally, the time I spent working with Wuqu’ Kawoq had a huge impact on my perspective on development work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been coming to Guatemala and taking note of Guatemalan affairs for 30 thirty years now since 1980. There are many excellent NGO (non-government organizations) in the country that are doing fine work for and with the most impoverished and disenfranchised of the population, which frequently are the Indigenous Maya who make up more than half the total population of the country. 500 years of colonization, has kept and continues to keep the people impoverished. The work of Wuqu Kawoq is truly unique in its mission and approach to meet the needs of the People on their own cultural and language level. How novel and caring to find such people. My granddaughter (indigenous from Okla/ Kans) had hoped to assist as a volunteer during our current time here (July~Oct.5, 2012), but it did not materialize.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

Such a great organization doing incredible work. I have not helped in Guatemala, but I have assisted in some administrative, resource development and fundraisng work (I have spent nearly 2 years living and working in Guatemala since 2002/18 months consecutive in 05-06). I'm mostly interested in working with people with disabilities, general health and clean water projects. All are things that WUQU KAWOQ is involved in. I am planning a trip to Guatemala next year and won't leave the country without visiting WK projects in-country. This organization is vital to the people it serves! I've recommened this group to several people who are traveling to Guate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

These volunteers are doing a great job and are making a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

One of the few organizations who are fully committed to knowing and reaching the people in a meaningful, long-term, life changing way for generations. Teaching the population in their native language, working to preserve their culture as well as their health. Not just missionaries who drop in for a week and never return. Amazing leadership and long-term vision. Training the trainers - educating native midwives. Addressing childhood malnutrition. A first class responsible organization that will make the most of every penny for the Guatemalan population in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

We are donors and my daughter also volunteered in Guatemala as a translator for Wuqu Kawoq. Through her we know of the good work they do to help families and especially children that need health care and nutritional assistance. We also receive email updates from the group so we know our donations are being put to good use. If you can donate please do so. Your money will be well spent!

Photos

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

These volunteers are doing such a great job for a truly needy people I didn't hesitate to try to help. they recently started (or just found out about it recently) a campaign for folks to "Brown Bag" periodically and send in the money you saved. Very clever concept and I am jumping right in.Keep up the good work and don't get fatigued, remember the opportunity to receive blessings by helping the people allows us little couch potatoes get blessed too! THANKS!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2010

I have witnessed first hand the caring and compassionate work of Wuku Kawoq as evidenced by a small medical clinic in an impoverished village of Socorro. Long lines of women with children waited pati... more

September 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I observed first hand, women and children in Guatemala patiently waiting in line for their turn to see the doctor. He had great patience himself; he saw each woman, each child. Most complaints were stomach aches due intestinal parasites. Vitamins were given to the children. The women were so stoic - all wanted their children to be seen with little thought for themselves. Lists were kept; complete documentation of who was seen and when and what complaints. Referrals were made which the non profit would see to it that appointments were kept. The women and children had trust in the medical team - it was a hot day, a long line and all were seen. The clinic was held in a small cinder block home; the non profit is raising money to build a clinic with weekly supportive care,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2010

I have witnessed first hand the caring and compassionate work of Wuku Kawoq as evidenced by a small medical clinic in an impoverished village of Socorro. Long lines of women with children waited patiently to be seen by the volunteer doctor and aide - the day was hot; each client was seen; vitamins and iron pills were dispensed as needed after blood tests were done; cases of worms and lice were seen. The doctor and his aide knew the native language and were able to fluently discuss symptoms with the women and children. This was just one of several clinics administered by Wuku Kawoq. The NGO believes in the people learning to help themselves. Examples: Constructing water filters after introduction and information by Wuku Kawoq to help eliminate diarrhea and intestinal diseases; young Maya women studying maternal and infant health; instruction and education for Maya midwifery, demonstration farms for indigenous to learn better productivity for cacao, bananas and coffee. Wuku Kuwoq is able to retain the loyalty and continued help of all who have volunteered and interned with the NGO. Grants and donations are invaluable to keep up ongoing projects - the board and staff immediately got to work with supplies, water, food, medicines and physical help when the recent hurricane devastated Guatemala - their help and aid knows no bounds. A very important endeavor is the continued study of all volunteers to learn the native dialects to better connect with people. Wuku Kawoq is truly a NGO to be proud of.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Socorro and Chocola, Guatemala

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the good fortune to listen to a talk given by the founders of this organization at our university - I was very impressed with the level of involvement, care, and attention to local values and languages and integration with evidence-based medical care. As a donor, I appreciate learning exactly how our funds have helped serve individuals as well as the advancement of knowledge that will sustain change in this area of the world. I appreciate the humanitarian approach and the long-term change that I see.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We do not currently have opening for short-term volunteers. However, we do take long-term volunteers on a case-by-case basis.