Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I am a repeat donor to Wuqu' Kawoq, and I could not be happier with the organization. Over the past few years I have seen first-hand how effective their programs are. Unlike some other Guatemalan NGOs, Wuqu' Kawoq is widely respected in the communities they serve, and for good reason: they offer high quality medical services in a linguistically and culturally responsible way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I have been a Board member for Wuqu'Kawoq for several years and wish to say how incredibly and continually impressed I am with this organization, its leadership, and the work it does. There are literally thousands of NGOs in Guatemala, many of them focusing on health, but only a small handful address important health issues in ways that are sustainable and sensitive to the culture and language of the people they serve. Wuqu'Kawoq is one of these. It take anthropology and linguistics as serious as it does medicine. Let me give you just one example. One big problem in rural Guatemala is diabetes. A bigger problem than access to meds, however, is education: most people do not really understand the disease, what it is or how medication and diet can help them combat its effects. These things can be explained in Spanish, sure, but most rural Guatemalans do not speak Spanish, they speak a Mayan language. Wuqu'Kawoq staff speak these languages; moreover, to address the problem, they consulted with local Mayan linguists. In the end, they actually created a new word for 'diabetes' in the Kaqchikel language to replace the Spanish borrowing that was in use. The word they used translates directly to 'sweet blood.' This word has now allowed them to explain clearly to diabetics what is wrong with them (they have 'sweet blood') and how to make their blood 'less sweet!' People who have had the disease for years are finally understanding it! And that is allowing them to address their own illness! There are dozens of other examples of WK's amazing and unique effectiveness in addressing such issues (including many women's health issues, child malnutrition, complex surgical procedures, etc.). It is why I have given thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours of my time over the years to this organization and will continue to do so as long as I am able.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I am a current research intern with Wuqu' Kawoq in Tecpan, Guatemala where I am completing my thesis research. The longer I work for WK, the more proud I become of this organization. In fact, I am always so glad when someone asks me about WK because it gives me the opportunity to share about their wonderful work, dedication to ethical practices, and heart to reach those who often slip through the cracks.

Reasons why I am impressed with WK:

1. Dedication to understanding the communities in which we work: Interns are asked to study history, literature, and a Mayan language. In my experience, this context has allowed me to understand the why the communities face the problems that they face and by learning Kaqchikel, I have shown the community that I am here to learn, not to bulldoze my way into the community. We also are able to communicate with patients who may speak "trade Spanish" but may not be able to communicate about a complex health issue. As I have talked with other NGOs in Guatemala, I have learned that this type of in-depth preparation is rare and I have seen that it limits the effectiveness of their intervention programs.

2. Exceptional staff: I am proud that the vast majority of WK staff are Guatemalans who speak indigenous languages and that all staff members are exceptional teachers and team-players. I have been warmly welcomed into the WK family where I continue to learn every day from my co-workers. My experience with WK has allowed me to be independent, but also well supported by the staff.

3. Collaboration with communities and other NGOs: WK actively engages community leaders and women's groups as well as seeks partnerships with other NGOs so that we can be the most effective as possible and not duplicate services. In a country with over 15,000 NGOs (and unfortunately many are poor managed), WK takes the most challenging cases that other NGOs are not equipped to provide services.

I am thrilled that I was referred to WK by a professor and I plan to continue to work with WK.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I am a family physician practicing in rural Vermont. After 30 plus years, I wanted to give my time to a third world country that needed help. My wife, who is a neonatal resuscitation instructor as part of her job as an Obstetrical nurse, accompanied me for a week with Peter Rohloff, MD, PhD and his fabulous team in Guatemala. We worked hard giving instruction to the midwives and seeing patients in Diabetic, Pediatric and general Medical care clinics. After the week was over and we had a chance to breath, we both could not believe how wonderful Wuqu Kawoq is with it's group of caring and dedicated professionals. What separated them from many NGO's is continuity. I was warned that some NGO's will just see patients and leave for 6 months. Wuqu Kawoq had the organization on the ground to be there on a daily basis for the folks that used them for their medical care. In addition, they were involved with nutrition and clean water. The Noble peace prizes were just announced and the two recipients deserved it. But, I would not be surprised if Wuqu Kawoq gets it some day.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I interned with Wuqu’ Kawoq over this past summer of 2014. I cannot speak more highly of this wonderful organisation. I was thoroughly impressed by the work Wuqu’ Kawoq is doing in the communities. As this was my first time volunteering in Guatemala, I was especially impressed by the hard working, knowledgeable and caring staff, who literally work around the clock, to ensure their communities are getting the health care services they need in a respectful and culturally-sensitive manner. I was also highly impressed by how hard Wuqu’ Kawoq is working at supporting and creating relationships between communities, other organisations, local and state government to ensure the needs of the communities they serve. As someone who wants to work on global health care issues in the future I have to say this was an amazing introduction to the field! I hope to work again with this wonderful organisation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

As a Board Member for the past 2 years, I continue to be extremely impressed with Wuqu' Kawoq ,the dedication & skill of our entire team in Guatemala and their ability to make an extraordinarily positive impact on both individuals and the entire communities within which we're fortunate to work. My wife and I have prioritized our own giving by making a significant multi-year financial commitment to Wuqu' Kawoq. We believe deeply in the organization and its ability to make a sustainable positive contribution to the well-being of so many Guatemalan women, children and men. We're most touched by the respect with which our staff treat community members to ensure that they receive the excellent care that they deserve, delivered in their maternal language (Maya languages). I'm looking forward to accomplishing even more in the years ahead, especially with the help of our committed Donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I volunteered with Wuqu' Kawoq as a dental hygienist in January of 2014. A local pediatrician asked me to get involved offering oral health education, applying fluoride varnish and cleanings for children. I was thoroughly impressed with WK and I am eager to be involved in the future. This organization has an amazing variety of health care and nutritional services they offer for free. They care about the people they are serving as evidenced by their relationships. Their record-keeping and continued re-care is very important. Six months after we were there the midwives were applying fluoride varnish for the second time. I was delighted to see the level of commitment to oral health and their determination to see improvements. It was an honor to be involved with such a great organization.
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I work as advisor at Patzun Municipality, a local government in Guatemala.
We started working together with Wuqu' Kawoq' on 2011 when they decided to organize the event "Encuentro Futuros Colectivos: creando redes en Guatemala" in the Municipality.
The event was great because the number of
presenters, the quality of then, the logistic and so on.
But another thing I was to enfasize is the profesionalism how they work and then compromise with the community.
After that event we organized also a Mayan Languajes Meeting two years ago and now we are preparing the next Encuentro Futuros Colectivos for this year.
So, thank you very much to all the people involve on Wuqu' Kawoq' projects!!!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Volunteering with Wuqu' Kawoq was my second international health-related experience, and it exceeded my expectations in every way. I witnessed their commitment to improving patient lives through community capacity building and services in the first language of their patients. The importance of their holistic cultural and linguistic approach to health cannot be understated. My summer spent in rural Guatemala inspired me to make global health a central pillar of my career and I aspire to do so while working with the committed and brilliant staff of Wuqu' Kawoq.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014


I am one of the doctors that works with Wuqu' Kawoq

Since medical school I have worked with many different health NGOs in developing countries including Ghana, Dominican Republic, Mexico and Chile and was been repeatedly disillusioned by global health work until I found Wuqu' Kawoq.
The time I spend working with the organization has been so rewarding because there are the resources and infrastructure to provide high-quality care to my patients (not just "better than the medical care they would have received').

The term "community driven" is often used in global health but the work of Wuqu' Kawoq is truly determined by needs expressed by the communities with which we partner. I have also never encountered a group of people as dedicated and hard working as the staff of Wuqu' Kawoq.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We do not currently have opening for short-term volunteers. However, we do take long-term volunteers on a case-by-case basis.