Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I had the opportunity to teach a Writing Workshop/Summer Camp with middle school students at WriterHouse this past summer and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was so helpful and student-centered, and atmosphere was conducive to helping student-writers focus on their craft in a fun and creative way. I am a classroom teacher, and being a part of this workshop inspired me to take more risks and try new things in my own classroom. I am so so thankful to have been a part of this program, and am excited for all of the programs and workshops that WriterHouse continues to offer to kids and adults in our community!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

I taught a writing course to 3rd, 4th and 5th graders this summer at WriterHouse. The camp was well run, great fun and has inspired me to begin writing more myself! I am looking forward to joining a writing group here this fall.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I moved to Charlottesville, Va., one of the first things I did was seek out people with similar interests and Writer House fit the bill perfectly! Besides offering a variety of challenging classes for writers of fiction and non-fiction, Writer House provides published authors with a forum from which to share their works and their experiences. These experiences inspire and teach everyone who attends these sessions.
I've been so impressed with the organization's offerings that I have become a volunteer, and I am eagerly looking forward to the annual fundraiser, "Words and Wine." I've bought two tickets to the event and can’t wait to meet more members!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own writing by attending author sessions and learning from other writers/authors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more of their terrific author sessions and critique groups, and expand their class offerings (of course, all of this takes money and Writer House is a nonprofit!).

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

How many nonprofit organizations center around supporting and nurturing the writer????

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I am a published writer who has benefited enormously from WriterHouse since it opened. The board members and officers give of their time and talents generously to make ends meet for this nonprofit. WriterHouse offers different levels of participation, and provides just the right atmosphere for serious work. WriterHouse has helped me take my own work seriously.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I've been writing for publication since I was fifteen. It's hard finding other people, in a setting conducive to creativity, and safe for the open discussion of one's efforts. But WriterHouse is such a place. Here there is collegiality, humor, encouragement, opportunities, and a physical environment that is ideal for putting words on paper— or on the computer screen, as the case my be.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've found out about such opportunities as writing residencies and literary magazines.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Employ a part-time grant writer.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Staff the desk during open hours to allow members to use the writing space, staff concessions at Pavilion concerts to raise money