Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.896555
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

WriterHouse is such a valuable resource for the Charlottesville literary community. I began taking Poetry and Fiction workshops there when I moved to the area from DC several years ago, and now I'm going back to school for an MFA. I've found the courses offered to be wide-ranging in content and consistently well organized. Instructors are experienced and dedicated. WriterHouse also hosts community events and offers quiet space for writers to work. A great place for anyone interested in writing!
February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am taking my second non-fiction writing course at the WriterHouse and I love it!!
The instructors are very professional and very well organized. The articles, essays and exercises have been very useful for my reading and writing. Every workshop is an adventure: very good comments, ideas
and resources come up during the
conversations. The atmosphere is just fine. Awesome!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Writerhouse offers a quiet space for writers, a series of workshops and readings and, most important, courses taught by local writers. I am presently taking my third course through Writerhouse. The instructors and class members are extraordinary, and these courses have given me invaluable opportunities to write, and to read and discuss with others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

This is a great organization. There is nothing else like it in Charlottesville. It is a real asset to our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

I have taken several classes from Writerhouse and have found them to be quite helpful. The networking provided is perhaps of even more value. Janis Jaquinth, who taught 'The Art of the Radio Essay' was actually willing to edit two of my manuscripts and give me the connections to actually get them on the radio. I feel as if I have a second career waiting for me should I find the itme to truly pursue it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm newly retired and was kicking around for something to get involved in. Then I began taking writing workshops at WriterHouse. The workshops were professional and led me to take my writing more seriously. Eventually I got a couple things published and that was rewarding, but the best part was that I found myself sharing in a supportive community. My fellow writers at Writerhouse are a diverse lot; they are people who seek some honesty and some truth in their lives. The process is often therapeutic but it always difficult. Going it alone is isolating and to have a Place like WriterHouse where one can hone their skills and share their stories in a reassuring environment adds so much value to the experience. I feel that everyone who participates in the workshops and seminars provided there walks away a richer person. It would be great if there was money to support the Teachers and help fund the Writers who can't afford such classes. I think Writing in general and WriterHouse in particular are worthy causes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I heard about Writer House from a work acquaintance, and was inspired to check it out. I am taking my second class now, and have found a dedicated group of writers who share a passion for telling the truth well. We enjoy rich conversations and help one another refine our writing. Having put my writing on the back burner for years, I am so grateful for the teaching, the quiet space to work, and the camaraderie of other writers at Writer House. A real treasure in Charlottesville!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2011

I've met a number of kindred spirits at WriterHouse. Fellow writers who became critique group partners. Critique group partners who became friends. I've learned a lot about different forms of writing,... more

May 10, 2012

WriterHouse has reawakened my creative side... more than just a touchy-feely observation, it's a change that has been essential in making life go from good to great!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2011

I've met a number of kindred spirits at WriterHouse. Fellow writers who became critique group partners. Critique group partners who became friends. I've learned a lot about different forms of writing, from short stories to screen plays. WriterHouse helps me to make time for writing, even when time seems in very short supply. Thank you, WriterHouse!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've become a better and more consistent writer - and met some colleagues and friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More consistent and streamlined communication one-on-one would help. It can take weeks to get a return phone call. (The info on the website is updated regularly and is helpful, but getting an answer to a specific question can be tricky.)

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

WriterHouse helped me connect with two writer groups and win my first community writing contest. WH is a supportive, professional, collaborative resource for writers at any stage. Finding WH has literally changed my life. I would like to see a WriterHouse in every community - many people are "finding their voice" because of this amazing non-profit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

WriterHouse is an amazing community resource. It provides access to great quality instruction, attracts writers of all levels, and offers great value for the cost.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Staff the desk during open hours to allow members to use the writing space, staff concessions at Pavilion concerts to raise money