Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am taking my second non-fiction writing course at the WriterHouse and I love it!!
The instructors are very professional and very well organized. The articles, essays and exercises have been very useful for my reading and writing. Every workshop is an adventure: very good comments, ideas
and resources come up during the
conversations. The atmosphere is just fine. Awesome!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Writerhouse offers a quiet space for writers, a series of workshops and readings and, most important, courses taught by local writers. I am presently taking my third course through Writerhouse. The instructors and class members are extraordinary, and these courses have given me invaluable opportunities to write, and to read and discuss with others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

This is a great organization. There is nothing else like it in Charlottesville. It is a real asset to our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

I have taken several classes from Writerhouse and have found them to be quite helpful. The networking provided is perhaps of even more value. Janis Jaquinth, who taught 'The Art of the Radio Essay' was actually willing to edit two of my manuscripts and give me the connections to actually get them on the radio. I feel as if I have a second career waiting for me should I find the itme to truly pursue it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm newly retired and was kicking around for something to get involved in. Then I began taking writing workshops at WriterHouse. The workshops were professional and led me to take my writing more seriously. Eventually I got a couple things published and that was rewarding, but the best part was that I found myself sharing in a supportive community. My fellow writers at Writerhouse are a diverse lot; they are people who seek some honesty and some truth in their lives. The process is often therapeutic but it always difficult. Going it alone is isolating and to have a Place like WriterHouse where one can hone their skills and share their stories in a reassuring environment adds so much value to the experience. I feel that everyone who participates in the workshops and seminars provided there walks away a richer person. It would be great if there was money to support the Teachers and help fund the Writers who can't afford such classes. I think Writing in general and WriterHouse in particular are worthy causes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I heard about Writer House from a work acquaintance, and was inspired to check it out. I am taking my second class now, and have found a dedicated group of writers who share a passion for telling the truth well. We enjoy rich conversations and help one another refine our writing. Having put my writing on the back burner for years, I am so grateful for the teaching, the quiet space to work, and the camaraderie of other writers at Writer House. A real treasure in Charlottesville!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2011

I've met a number of kindred spirits at WriterHouse. Fellow writers who became critique group partners. Critique group partners who became friends. I've learned a lot about different forms of writing,... more

May 10, 2012

WriterHouse has reawakened my creative side... more than just a touchy-feely observation, it's a change that has been essential in making life go from good to great!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2011

I've met a number of kindred spirits at WriterHouse. Fellow writers who became critique group partners. Critique group partners who became friends. I've learned a lot about different forms of writing, from short stories to screen plays. WriterHouse helps me to make time for writing, even when time seems in very short supply. Thank you, WriterHouse!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've become a better and more consistent writer - and met some colleagues and friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More consistent and streamlined communication one-on-one would help. It can take weeks to get a return phone call. (The info on the website is updated regularly and is helpful, but getting an answer to a specific question can be tricky.)

May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

WriterHouse helped me connect with two writer groups and win my first community writing contest. WH is a supportive, professional, collaborative resource for writers at any stage. Finding WH has literally changed my life. I would like to see a WriterHouse in every community - many people are "finding their voice" because of this amazing non-profit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

WriterHouse is an amazing community resource. It provides access to great quality instruction, attracts writers of all levels, and offers great value for the cost.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Charity is defined as a generous action to aid the poor, ill or helpless. Writer House as a non-profit organization goes far beyond that! I approached them last year out of sheer desperation and they reached out to me with an astounding sense of generosity, grace, acceptance and kindness.
I'll
describe myself as a typical a middle aged married woman, mother of four and a human being that was drowning in family turmoil following my husband's job loss, the down turn of our economy and simultaneously, as a parent suffering heartwrenching pain from watching a young adult son with mental health and addiction issues fall through the cracks of the healthcare system.
Writing for me, has often been a largely solitary and lonely form of self expression, an art form which I have loved since I could hold a pencil. It is my release when I am unable to make myself be heard or simply lack the inner strength to communicate words that are too painful to utter aloud. It has also brought me great joy, these words, which fall one at a time, knitting themselves like a carpet of leaves at the base of a majestic old tree.
I NEED to write. I need a PLACE to write. I want to LEARN to be a better writer in the hopes that someday, my words might help or bring joy to another human being.
I wrote a letter to the board at Writer House and shared my story. My real life story and enclosed some examples of my writing and asked if I might be considered for a scholarship of any kind. a membership, a place to write, a class so that I could learn.
In just a few days I was contacted by a warm and caring board member who invited me to take an eight week class of my choice for whatever cost I could afford to pay.
My teacher gave me support and guidance and absolutely helped me to reach within myself to become a stronger writer and has continued to encourage and nurture my talents in a way that illustrates the beauty of the educational process that takes place within the walls of Writer House. My teacher is the 2010 National Book Award Winner -Children's Literature, Kathryn Erskine.
Writer House has since become my salvation and the people there have become my friends. I'm delighted that I've been asked to volunteer for special events that Writer House hosts to raise funds and reach out to our community.
I find great security in knowing that I have a place to go, where I can shut the door without apologies or explainations, plug in my computer and just hammer away at the keys. I 'm also grateful that if I "hit the wall" as a writer and need to take a break I can wander out to the community kitchen, a warm inviting and comfortable place. I can make a cup of tea or put on the coffee pot, I can rummage through the pantry for a cookie or crackers with the same freedom you would at your own home or the home of a dear friend and TALK to other writers there for the same purpose: To put the written word down on paper for the benefit of their fellow man.
Whatever the genre or purpose, to share, tickle, delight, inform, teach, inspire or scare the pants off the reader we are a diverse community of people with a bond as tight as glue, where outside differences do not matter. Newcomers are welcomed like freshly discovered cousins. I have found myself a part of a greater whole that I have been searching a lifetime for and consider myself to be a very fortunate person indeed to have been invited into Writer House of Charlottesville, Virginia.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

please read the testimonial above.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is really trying hard to provide more educational opportunities this year that are in a one day or half-day form in addition to eight week classes. I would like to see more focused on writing for children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

online

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

See review above.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Staff the desk during open hours to allow members to use the writing space, staff concessions at Pavilion concerts to raise money