Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this outfit and its pres, Rachel Unkefer. Rachel takes it upon herself to solve even the most minor problem quickly and efficiently as she just did when I questioned how to apply for the WH scholarship to the VQR lit conference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let me think. GIve them a million dollars toward a permanent home?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

WriterHouse is a fantastic resource for writers in the Charlottesville area, offering lasses at a variety of levels, author readings and engagements, student readings, events like an overnight writing party for NaNoWriMo, and provides a space for writers to use any time. I've only been working here for two months, but the rest of the staff is great, and I love being a part of the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2011

more

October 10, 2011

A friend of mine says that to have a successful career, you need three things: support, support and support. That goes double for writers or artists of any kind. I have found excellent support at WriterHouse. Workshops offer an opportunity to improve my writing in a safe, friendly atmosphere, with great teachers. In addition to workshops, WriterHouse invites published writers to read from and discuss their work. I have found all these events enjoyable and inspiring, as well as practical. At a panel of magazine editors, I found out about the Delmarva Review, and decided to send them a poem, which they published. I'd not have known about this magazine if it were not for Writer House's panel. WriterHouse also has a library where members can look at literary magazines, as well as the "Writers' Market." I've enjoyed getting to know other writers -- and their work -- at WriterHouse. In short, what's not to like?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen people develop skill and confidence as writers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just keep up the good work.

November 21, 2010

more

November 21, 2010

A city trailer park on a hot summer's day, not my idea of fun, but when I heard young writers were gathering there to express themselves about their recent visit to a farm, I said yes. Writing is a second career for this 57 year old, which means re-education, serious work, and taken even more seriously after a year of cancer treatments. I believe in the power of words; communication is the solution to world peace. Sweaty, drowsy and shy, these young teenagers took up pens, pencils, and blank paper recluctantly. The four writer/volunteers from WriterHouse talked through the basics with them, helped them recall their feelings and perceptions of the farm visit. The kids shared with us their photographs of the day. Watching their enthusiasm rekindle, and the appearance of an eagerness to discover more universal conclusions from their memories and photographs was inspiring. WH coordinated the request from Bridges, a community arts group that had supplied the cameras and arranged the farm visit. As a volunteer I received email notice of the date and time, an outline of the project, and the necessary directions and contact information. A followup email was sent for feedback and a second folllowup about the release party for the book compiling the teenagers' writings and photographs. A WH rep took photos of the project and posted them on their website and distributed them to local media and to the volunteers for posting on their individual websites. While the scope of the project was small, the impact on the young writers was visible, an expansion of their horizons, and a positive interaction with adults outside of family and school.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Like all the events I have attended at WH, this one was professionally run, well-organized, and community-oriented.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More in depth reporting of events before and after in the local media.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Staff the desk during open hours to allow members to use the writing space, staff concessions at Pavilion concerts to raise money