Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this outfit and its pres, Rachel Unkefer. Rachel takes it upon herself to solve even the most minor problem quickly and efficiently as she just did when I questioned how to apply for the WH scholarship to the VQR lit conference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let me think. GIve them a million dollars toward a permanent home?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I had the opportunity to teach a Writing Workshop/Summer Camp with middle school students at WriterHouse this past summer and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was so helpful and student-centered, and atmosphere was conducive to helping student-writers focus on their craft in a fun and creative way. I am a classroom teacher, and being a part of this workshop inspired me to take more risks and try new things in my own classroom. I am so so thankful to have been a part of this program, and am excited for all of the programs and workshops that WriterHouse continues to offer to kids and adults in our community!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

I taught a writing course to 3rd, 4th and 5th graders this summer at WriterHouse. The camp was well run, great fun and has inspired me to begin writing more myself! I am looking forward to joining a writing group here this fall.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am taking my second non-fiction writing course at the WriterHouse and I love it!!
The instructors are very professional and very well organized. The articles, essays and exercises have been very useful for my reading and writing. Every workshop is an adventure: very good comments, ideas
and resources come up during the
conversations. The atmosphere is just fine. Awesome!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Writerhouse offers a quiet space for writers, a series of workshops and readings and, most important, courses taught by local writers. I am presently taking my third course through Writerhouse. The instructors and class members are extraordinary, and these courses have given me invaluable opportunities to write, and to read and discuss with others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

This is a great organization. There is nothing else like it in Charlottesville. It is a real asset to our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first started taking Fiction Workshops at WriterHouse in 2009. I had no idea what I was doing, just trying my hand at fiction. I am now a Poe/Faulkner Fellow in the MFA program at the University of Virginia. I cannot think of a better testament to the quality of teachers, classes, and support that WriterHouse offers to the community. Without WriterHouse, I would still be writing in the wilderness, or worse, I may have just given up. Writing is a solitary, lonely, and more often than not, vexing vocation. But the folks at WriterHouse work tirelessly to help fledgling writers, even those with a passing interest, work past those obstacles to see that it can also be liberating and fulfilling.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I moved to Charlottesville, Va., one of the first things I did was seek out people with similar interests and Writer House fit the bill perfectly! Besides offering a variety of challenging classes for writers of fiction and non-fiction, Writer House provides published authors with a forum from which to share their works and their experiences. These experiences inspire and teach everyone who attends these sessions.
I've been so impressed with the organization's offerings that I have become a volunteer, and I am eagerly looking forward to the annual fundraiser, "Words and Wine." I've bought two tickets to the event and can’t wait to meet more members!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own writing by attending author sessions and learning from other writers/authors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more of their terrific author sessions and critique groups, and expand their class offerings (of course, all of this takes money and Writer House is a nonprofit!).

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

How many nonprofit organizations center around supporting and nurturing the writer????

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I am a published writer who has benefited enormously from WriterHouse since it opened. The board members and officers give of their time and talents generously to make ends meet for this nonprofit. WriterHouse offers different levels of participation, and provides just the right atmosphere for serious work. WriterHouse has helped me take my own work seriously.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first came to Writerhouse as a debut novelist, traveling throughout the South promoting my book. My welcome was so rich, so warm that in a sense I've never left. Now whether I knock on the door as a novelist wanting to talk craft, a student wanting some much needed instruction, or just a friend wanting to say "hello," I'm always happy I've found my way back.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Staff the desk during open hours to allow members to use the writing space, staff concessions at Pavilion concerts to raise money