Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

This past year I joined with other members of the John Paul Jones Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution as we assisted the Navy Wives Club of the Nortwest lay Wreaths at the Tomb of the Unknown replica in Bremerton Wa and throughout Ivy Green Cemetery. Our chapter also bought 4 of the larger Memorial Wreaths that were placed on Christmas Eve on Veterans Memorials throughout our county, remebering Veterans of WWI, WWII and Sailors of all wars and conflicts. It was a proud event for our chapter and one that we plan on doing again this year. What an awesome program to remeber those that have gone on before us. From a proud Navy retired Senior Chief Cook, it was an honor to assist in this program!! Mick Hersey. mick143fely@hotmail.com

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Wreaths Across America's most visible effort is the huge national remembrance day in December, when over 700 locations in 50 states and beyond have SIMULTANEOUS wreath laying ceremonies. Think about that. During the busy holiday season, thousands of people are collectively pausing to reflect and be grateful for those willing the make the ultimate sacrifice. But this organization also works all year to encourage people to be audacious in their appreciation of our service men and women, their families and veterans. They reach into schools to encourage them to start conversations across generations as local veterans can make history come alive, and help youg people appreciate how precious freedom is. I have come to know this organization by assisting the family with its start-up. The organization was created in response to the flood of people who wanted to help the family in their personal mission to donate wreaths to Arlington every year. I am continually impressed with this family, and the people they have brought into the organzaition, for thier fierce devotion to this effort, for their visible respect for family members who continue on after they lose thier loved ones, and for the way they cherish each and every story they hear about heroism, loss and honoring memories.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I’m writing in response to the earlier post that provided information to readers that is not accurate. Quite to the contrary, Wreaths Across America (WAA) is governed by an independent Board of Directors that assesses a competitive price requirement at the end of each contract term and the feasibility of soliciting bids from other companies is currently being conducted by committee. WAA relies on a partnership with our founding company to provide fresh, Maine- made wreaths to our locations that are affordable and delivered on time. All wreaths are made in Maine, using Maine Balsam, farmed specifically for this purpose.
WAA, although not required, has an outside audit conducted annually. In addition, an outside firm is engaged to help provide oversight in complying with IRS nonprofit regulations. The relationship with our founding company providing wreaths was presented in the initial 501 c3 application and a subsequent audit conducted by the Internal Revenue Service found no irregularities in this relationship.
Our mission, ‘Remember, Honor, Teach,’ is carried out in part by coordinating wreath laying ceremonies nationwide in December. We also coordinate veteran services and recognition through a variety of programs, and provide schools with teaching aides for projects throughout the year. We believe in our mission and the meaning it has to our soldiers and their families.
Thank you, Amber

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work with this organization since before it became a non-profit in 2007. I am responding largely because of the earlier(negative and anonymous) review that called into question the validity of the 501-c-3 status. The official records and IRS filings will address most of this. What I wanted to share was how WreathsAcrossAmerica.org came to be. You can read the full story here: http://www.wreathsacrossamerica.org/about-us/the-arlington-story/ But after donating 5000+ wreaths each year as a company project for over 15 years, the response in 2005 was so overwhelming, that others wanted to know how they could get involved. In 2006 we (Worcester Wreath and the Wreaths Across America working group) informally added all the state and national veterans cemeteries. In 2007 WAA received status as an official 501(c)3. It is an honor to participate in this project. It would help if reviewers would get the facts correct, and not leave reviews anonymously if they really feel there is merit in their reviews. Signed Tobin Slaven.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I currently write for the WAA newsletter and work with the social media channels. I have personally talked to hundreds who have been touched by the Wreaths Across America and the mission to Remember - Honor - and Teach.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization was started from and is driven by grassroots support. There is a small staff at WAA HQ and often not enough hands to get everything done. I would wish them resources and corporate supporters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

As stated above - I worked with Worcester Wreath Company for years when it donated wreaths (still the single largest donor) and helped work with the organization as it became a 501(c)3.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

We have over 800+ participating locations nationwide. Our goal is to one day place a wreath in December for every veteran, to honor his or her service and sacrifice (and their family's sacrifices) to our Country.

What is its top priority in the long run?

We are working hard to expand our network of volunteers, both individuals, groups, and businesses in all across the Country. We hope it will become a well known and accepted tradition to take a moment during the holiday season to honor our veterans.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers