Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.886365
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

"What you DO speaks so loudly I can't hear what you SAY."
What better witness & sign of respect can we give our children than to allow them to work along side us as we honor those who protected our freedom. "Freedom Isn't Free!"
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

As a Vietnam veteran I appreciate Wreaths Across America for their efforts to honor veterans of all wars. Over and over again they give the message of "Welcome home" to those who did not get a warm welcome when they came home.
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is awesome! As a Gold Star wife it is touching to know that such an organization exists that honors our fallen heroes. The Wreaths Across America program truly pays tribute to this country's greatest gift; our veterans.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

We have been participating in the annual laying of the wreaths since 2005 after the death of our mother. A military wife during our father's 32 years of Naval service, she rests in the Columbarium at Arlington. Our father will be joining her there in a few month's time.

Over the course
of these years, we have seen this effort grow from a grass roots volunteer contingent to an army of dedicated folks - who count this day, as we do, as one of the most important and special days of the Holiday season. The monumental effort on behalf of the Wreaths Across America organization - collecting donations, constructing the wreaths, coordinating their destinations, and handling the incredible logistics - is mind boggling, but never fails to come off with precision.

Their efforts to teach and honor and remember are so very important. Indeed, my husband's Boy Scout troop makes the journey from NJ every December to participate, just one of many Scout troops, Civil Air Patrol contingents, Future Farmers of America, groups of all sorts - all there to make a difference. There is a group of friends and family that also accompanies us, and once they've participated, they earmark the next WAA Day to come again.

The poignant yet heartwarming moments abound. People of all ages - young, old, widowed, married with small children, groups of all sorts, Veterans, families of the fallen . . . the list goes on and on of those who take part in this day. To lay a wreath at the headstone of a hero - and to remember their sacrifice and honor them in this way - and sometimes to see the face of a grateful grieving friend or relative - just cannot be described.

It is our honor to participate each year, to support Wreaths Across America, to spread their story and share their mission.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I am in the Civil Air Patrol - Green River Composite Squadron, in Auburn, Washington.

I participated in WAA for the first time last year. I am thankful for the opportunity to participate in such a meaningful tribute and ceremony at Tahoma National Cemetery in Kent. This year, we have
invited our senior members and cadets, as well as various service members, city officials, and members of the public to stand with us. We all look forward to supporting Wreaths Across America again this year! https://www.facebook.com/GRCSCAP
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I am a 100% disabled veteran and a member of the Civil Air Patrol. I learned about WAA in the CAP and last year I was invited to join the convoy to Arlington. One of the best things I have ever done and am doing it again this year. Karen and Morrill are two of the most wonderful people in the world.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

This is such a wonderful organization. We have participated with our Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts in Canton Georgia for several years. It is such a good event to involve young people and grow an appreciation for all who serve. Remember Honor Teach!
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

My husband is buried in Florida National Cemetery in Bushnell. I've hosted a community fundraiser for the last two years in support of WAA. It's how my son and I honor and remember our fallen service men and women, friends, family, and others who served our great nation. I'm proud to say that by doing so we're helping others understand the importance of remembering the fallen, because after all, being forgotten is the worst possible thing that can happen to someone!
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

A dear friend and Chaplain with the Civil Air Patrol got our local squadron involved at Riverside National the first year and we have been volunteering ever since. Having our cadets participate each year so they will know and understand the sacrifices that were made on their behalf as Americans is a priceless gift. My dad was a WW2 vet, served in the Army, was a POW in Germany and we honor him each year with a wreath in remembrance of his service. We have 2 sons active duty Army and one Army Reserves and as a Blue Star Mom, WAA is a way to raise funds for care boxes we send to our deployed sons and daughters as well as an opportunity to reach out to the Gold Star families, sharing in their memories and honoring the service and sacrifice of their loved ones, -- an opportunity to stand shoulder to shoulder with others, giving support and feeling supported. For our family it's become and American tradition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

--I don't think I would change a thing. It is easy to get involved, helping with the ceremony and interacting with the organization is always a pleasure, even in bad weather! It's not just a wreath, its a message.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Wreatha Across America is without a doubt the best organization I have ever had the opportunity to be involved with. I became involved in 2011 and my wife the next year. We not only support the Dec activities but participate throughout the year. Every person involved at the organizational level truly lives to "Remember, Honor & Teach. Every person I have met through this program anxiously awaits the next opportunity to be involved. As a vet with 22 years of active service I feel it is not only an honor to be involved but my duty as well.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join us on National Wreaths Across America Day and help place wreaths Volunteer