Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.857145
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

Wreaths across American was started out of the live and respect of our heroes both accounted and those that are still listed ad POW/MIA. The wreath company minutes and transmits thousands upon thousands if wreaths at Christmas time for our national cemeteries. then volunteers transport, unload, place and clean up. having myfother as one of the ? MIS that have been accounted it was great to have a wreath placed st huh headstone. Ihave purchased 4 erected a year fir several yrs now. one for ny door, one for moms door, and I donate two to our iCal national cemetery

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

My father, a US Navy veteran, passed away unexpectedly over Thanksgiving 2011. Fast forward a month later, and it was Christmas. As much as I wanted to visit my father’s grave over the holidays, it was still too soon for me to return to the Washington’s Crossing National Cemetery. I felt terrible about leaving him ‘alone’, but mentally, I wasn’t ready.

As Father’s Day approached, I jumped online to find my father’s exact grave location so that I could go and pay my respects. I came across a picture of my father’s grave and sure enough, there was a wreath on it. This is how I found out about the Wreath’s Across America program. It was truly comforting to know that a stranger had taken the time to honor my father over the holidays, especially since I was unable to do so. I knew that I had to “pay it forward”, and have since volunteered for the program in 2012 and will continue to do so in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I do a lot of volunteer work for Military related causes. It is my passion to remember ALL those who gave so much. Wreaths Across America is one of my favorite and I feel honored to remember these great Americans by placing a wreath on their final resting place. This organization is one of the greatest groups I have worked with and I am proud to have participated at Arlington National Cemetery and here in Columbus, Ohio.

It brings the community together to remember the sacrifices made, to thank those who gave all and the opportunity to educate younger generations about our great heritage. If you are not involved, you should be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Wreaths Across America's most visible effort is the huge national remembrance day in December, when over 700 locations in 50 states and beyond have SIMULTANEOUS wreath laying ceremonies. Think about that. During the busy holiday season, thousands of people are collectively pausing to reflect and be grateful for those willing the make the ultimate sacrifice. But this organization also works all year to encourage people to be audacious in their appreciation of our service men and women, their families and veterans. They reach into schools to encourage them to start conversations across generations as local veterans can make history come alive, and help youg people appreciate how precious freedom is. I have come to know this organization by assisting the family with its start-up. The organization was created in response to the flood of people who wanted to help the family in their personal mission to donate wreaths to Arlington every year. I am continually impressed with this family, and the people they have brought into the organzaition, for thier fierce devotion to this effort, for their visible respect for family members who continue on after they lose thier loved ones, and for the way they cherish each and every story they hear about heroism, loss and honoring memories.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I’m writing in response to the earlier post that provided information to readers that is not accurate. Quite to the contrary, Wreaths Across America (WAA) is governed by an independent Board of Directors that assesses a competitive price requirement at the end of each contract term and the feasibility of soliciting bids from other companies is currently being conducted by committee. WAA relies on a partnership with our founding company to provide fresh, Maine- made wreaths to our locations that are affordable and delivered on time. All wreaths are made in Maine, using Maine Balsam, farmed specifically for this purpose.
WAA, although not required, has an outside audit conducted annually. In addition, an outside firm is engaged to help provide oversight in complying with IRS nonprofit regulations. The relationship with our founding company providing wreaths was presented in the initial 501 c3 application and a subsequent audit conducted by the Internal Revenue Service found no irregularities in this relationship.
Our mission, ‘Remember, Honor, Teach,’ is carried out in part by coordinating wreath laying ceremonies nationwide in December. We also coordinate veteran services and recognition through a variety of programs, and provide schools with teaching aides for projects throughout the year. We believe in our mission and the meaning it has to our soldiers and their families.
Thank you, Amber

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work with this organization since before it became a non-profit in 2007. I am responding largely because of the earlier(negative and anonymous) review that called into question the validity of the 501-c-3 status. The official records and IRS filings will address most of this. What I wanted to share was how WreathsAcrossAmerica.org came to be. You can read the full story here: http://www.wreathsacrossamerica.org/about-us/the-arlington-story/ But after donating 5000+ wreaths each year as a company project for over 15 years, the response in 2005 was so overwhelming, that others wanted to know how they could get involved. In 2006 we (Worcester Wreath and the Wreaths Across America working group) informally added all the state and national veterans cemeteries. In 2007 WAA received status as an official 501(c)3. It is an honor to participate in this project. It would help if reviewers would get the facts correct, and not leave reviews anonymously if they really feel there is merit in their reviews. Signed Tobin Slaven.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I currently write for the WAA newsletter and work with the social media channels. I have personally talked to hundreds who have been touched by the Wreaths Across America and the mission to Remember - Honor - and Teach.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization was started from and is driven by grassroots support. There is a small staff at WAA HQ and often not enough hands to get everything done. I would wish them resources and corporate supporters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

As stated above - I worked with Worcester Wreath Company for years when it donated wreaths (still the single largest donor) and helped work with the organization as it became a 501(c)3.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

We have over 800+ participating locations nationwide. Our goal is to one day place a wreath in December for every veteran, to honor his or her service and sacrifice (and their family's sacrifices) to our Country.

What is its top priority in the long run?

We are working hard to expand our network of volunteers, both individuals, groups, and businesses in all across the Country. We hope it will become a well known and accepted tradition to take a moment during the holiday season to honor our veterans.

September 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This "non-profit" is run by the owners of a for-profit wreath company which sells the "non-profit" millions of dollars worth of wreaths each year. The "non-profit", which gets donations from all over the country and free services donated by trucking companies, does not buy from any other Maine wreath-makers as far as I know. In fact, one other Maine wreath-maker told me that "he buys Canadian wreaths for $5 and sells them to his own non-profit for $15". It is a nice cause, but seems like a scam. Probably too noble a cause for anyone to actually question, though, but perhaps it is time they did. Even though it was his idea, I think he needs to very publicly put the wreath-buying process out for bids or divide it up among the wreath-makers in his area. He is potentially violating IRS regulations by selling to his own non-profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers