Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

We have been involved with this program since 2006. After seeing the U-tube clip on the Arlington Project. Our first thoughts was disbelief as no one does this for living veterans, let alone those who are buried in National Cemeteries. After checking on the internet we found this to be true and have been involved ever since.
We would work 24/7 to help them to Remember, Honor, Teach. It is the most heart-felt thing we have ever done, to be able to give back to those that can no longer give, during the holiday season, here at Ft Sam Houston National Cemetery.
It is an honor to hand out the "Thank You for your Service Cards" to those still serving, and to Veterans thru-out the community. We especially give them to the Vietnam Vets, shake their hand and welcome them home. We still get those vets who tell us that is the first time in over 40 years that they have been welcomed home.
It is so gratifing to go out in the military retirement community and take grave specfic requests when they are unable to walk the cemetery terrain or have loved ones in El Paso or West Point or at the cemeteries that do grave specific.
Please attend a ceremony near you this year. We promise that it will change your life.
Shorty & Midge Salmans

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would not change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

My father passed away almost four years ago, and the compasion this foundation has shown me is wonderful. Mrs. Carlile has devoted her time and efforts to raise money to be able to have every veteran's grave covered with a beautiful wreath during the holidays. This time of year is the most difficult for me, and seeing the uniformity of the wreaths on the laying ground of so many soldiers, causes me to stop in awe. While I still sorely miss my father, I appreciate the beauty, respect, and recognition this organization has created.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no suggestions. This foundation could not do a better job.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

My husband passed away last October. After the funeral my daughter told me she had heard about Wreaths Across America and I tried to contact them. Messages were left on both sides of the phone and I knew I had missed the deadline to add my husband to their list. The holidays were upon us and I went to Ft. Sam to put flowers on his grave and as I approached his grave I discovered to my delight that they had placed a wreath on his grave. That act of kindness truly meant so much to me and made my holiday so very special. From now on they will always have my support. My children and I will be at Ft. Sam to join them in placing wreaths on others graves this and every holiday.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

Wreaths Across America, San Antonio, has changed my life in a way I never expected. I wanted to find a way to honor the men & women in our Armed Forces...that's where WAA, SA comes in.
12/2013 was the first time I purchased Wreaths & laid them & others at Ft Sam Houston. The ceremony was
emotional and beautiful and seeing so many veterans there made me more proud than anything I've been involved with in my life. I have asked friends & family to be involved in 2014 & they have all agreed. I've picked up order forms to hand out later this year.
I also returned in January, 2014 to remove the wreaths & was overwhelmed by an invitation to a high school graduation from a daughter to her father who was killed in Iraq. I knew then that the best way to honor and show respect for our military was by being involved with WAA. I thank Judy Carlile for all her hard work & devotion to this amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 9, 2013

I did not know about WAA until I lost my precious husband in 2008. Jim was and is my heart!!!! I wanted to know all about this program and in 2009, God laid the program right in my lap, and it has bee... more

May 29, 2014

Wreaths Across America has brought more love and joy into my life that.....there are no words to describe it. It truly is a blessing that is indescribable. The joy from working on this program all year long, and to see the wreaths roll in on the trucks from Maine.....makes my heart throb. To know that the drivers have carried my heart in the back of their trailers is a joy unmatchable. After the rush of the unload, and to be able to lay wreaths on Saturday to honor our fallen heroes that are laid to rest at the Ft Sam National Cemetery, is a blessing no one can put into words. At the end of the day, my children and family and I lay my husbands wreath, (and to be able to continue to honor that precious man).....and the joy of the year comes in full circle.......my precious Jim took my heart with him when God took him home, but to honor him at Christmas time is a joy that I can not put into words. WAA thrills my heart and to hear the stories of family members that have been helping us is a huge joy!!!!! You have to lay your first wreath to know the love and joy of this program. WAA is ABSOLUTELY my heart!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes to make......except get the support of the community....and be able to lay a wreath on every headstone at the Ft Sam National Cemetery for the Christmas holidays.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

I did not know about WAA until I lost my precious husband in 2008. Jim was and is my heart!!!! I wanted to know all about this program and in 2009, God laid the program right in my lap, and it has been a blessing I can not describe since that day. To work all year long on a program to honor our fallen heroes and veterans that are laid to rest in a National cemetery is a blessing by itself. But to be able to part of a program that brings almost 4000 people together that have broken and heavy hearts from the loss of a loved one that was so dear, and see the love in a crowd that big...thrills your heart and everyone knows that we are all there as a "huge family" to remember our loved ones, honor their memory and teach our children that everything that we love to do everyday has a price. When the children come out in force it is a joy that thrills my heart. There are so many wonderful memories from the past 4 years, that only comes from love and support of our fallen. WAA is a program that can not be described in few words......but WOW.....blessing.....thanks......love.......sharing.....tribute.... diginity..... honor.......memories.......all come to mind. Thank you to the Worcester family for starting this program. It is definitely a program of LOVE!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

As a parent, leader and volunteer in two Cub Scout Packs and one Boy Scout Troop , I had the opportunity to go with our Scouts with the support of our community to Arlington National Cemetery for Wreaths Across America. A moving, educational, and awe inspiring experience. The ceremonies inspired the boys to research the service person(s) whose graves they placed a wreath on, they really listened to the instructions and paused to pay respect and say prayers for those that served and protected our freedom. They also got to thank some of the active service members who were there for their service. After laying wreaths my family visited the grave of one of my co-worker's daughter, who bravely served and sacrificed her life for us. The boys and all the chaperones who went on the trip were immediately saying this has to become an annual event after the trip. A great organization that provides an opportunity to give back to our American Heroes. After returning from Arlington, we were told of another location closer to our home, that needs more volunteers, so we are planning to go there next year! It was such a moving experience we dedicated all the pictures on our Christmas card this year to it and listed the Wreaths Across America website on them to try to inspire others. Never got so many strong positive responses from Christmas cards before.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

This past year I joined with other members of the John Paul Jones Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution as we assisted the Navy Wives Club of the Nortwest lay Wreaths at the Tomb of the Unknown replica in Bremerton Wa and throughout Ivy Green Cemetery. Our chapter also bought 4 of the larger Memorial Wreaths that were placed on Christmas Eve on Veterans Memorials throughout our county, remebering Veterans of WWI, WWII and Sailors of all wars and conflicts. It was a proud event for our chapter and one that we plan on doing again this year. What an awesome program to remeber those that have gone on before us. From a proud Navy retired Senior Chief Cook, it was an honor to assist in this program!! Mick Hersey. mick143fely@hotmail.com

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

As a local business owner in East Fishkill, NY and a Lieutenant with fire department, nothing has been more heart warming and the personal feel of not just laying a wreath, but walking up to it slowly reading the white engraved stone and placing the wreath and putting one hand on the stone saying a prayer. I make it an annual trip and look forward to it every year and will do so each december. My neighbor a US Army Major and my uncle US Army Master Sergeant and both been to Afghanistan and Iraq and number of times, it is the absolute best feeling, and I thank the wreaths across america family for giving there time for this amazing opportunity.



Michael A. Merlino

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I first volunteered to help lay the wreaths at ANC in 2007 and was so humbled and moved by the experience that I have participated in some way every year since then. In 07 I believe we laid 10 k at Arlington, I came back in 08 and helped lay 15 K. I met Morrill Worcester in 2007 at Arlington and in casual conversation I told him how great it would be if Wreaths Across America could expand to the point that every veterans grave whether in a Nat. Cemetery or not could get a visit from someone who volunteered to remember them by laying a wreath at their grave. He said that was his vision. I also met a young lady and her two boys who had came to Arlington as a planned family event, they had planned to come along with their father but he was killed in Iraq before he made it home. This is when the significance of what Remember, Honor Teach really hit home with me.
I moved back to Ohio in 2009 and due to the nature of being an over the road truck driver I was unable to attend the formal events. Instead I had my own private ceremony at the cemetery where my Father, Brother and Uncle are buried. I would order 4 Patriot pairs so that 4 wreaths would be shipped to my house and 4 would go to Arlington, I placed one on my family members graves and one at the small veterans memorial by the flag pole. This continued until 2012 when Craig Transportation (my employer ) volunteered one of their trucks and me as the driver to help transport the wreaths to Arlington. Delivering 3200 wreaths to Arlington National Cemetery along with 33 other trucks and their drivers was one of the greatest honors I have ever had. It was truly exhilarating to see 20,000 volunteers come to help lay the 110,662 wreaths that were lain. The significance of all the volunteers that came to participate drove home the fact that our nation as a whole is truly grateful. At the same moment when the wreaths were being lain at the Tomb of the Unknown a large ceremonial wreath from WAA was being place at the Veterans Memorial at the cemetery where my family members are lain to rest. The wreath bearer was my nephew who served in both Desert Storm and Iraqi Freedom, there was a color guard provided by the local American Legion post and the first annual wreath laying was started at Floral Grove Cemetery in West Unity, Oh. In hopes to expand WAA Floral Grove Cemetery is now a listed location on the WAA's website open for sponsorships of wreaths to honor ALL 347 veterans graves located there this December. The goal is to also spark interest through out the whole county so that one day as Morrill and I discussed the mission of Remember Honor Teach will spread to all of our veterans.
Wreaths Across America is a great charity to not only remember the ones who have served but also to honor the ones serving now in our military and show them that their nation is grateful and they will never be forgotten. Our youth can learn the true values of their freedoms by attending an event.
Calvin Coolidge once said ~ A Nation that forgets it's defenders will itself be forgotten.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

When my husband and I went to visit my father and mothers grave site at Florida National Cemetery in Bushnell,Fl in January, we were both very touched. It made me feel like they were not forgotten.
Thank you all so much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers