Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.636365
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 23, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 23, 2013

This is a rip off. According to guidestar only 16.5% goes to charity.

http://www2.guidestar.org/organizations/27-0426467/wounded-wear.aspx

I would avoid this one with all due haste until their CEO coughs up how much money goes into his pockets.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Investigate the CEO for fraud.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 13, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Wounded Wear for over three years now and have seen the direct impact on our wounded warriors. The organization is about the warriors, not themselves. They run a top-shelf, organized, and strategic volunteer faction with few paid employees. The employees who are paid earn far less than they would in the "civilian" sector and volunteer as much if not more than their paid hours. I highly recommend finding an event to serve as a volunteer in order to see the profound impact they are making at a local and national level. Amen to Jason Redman, the wounded SEAL who founded this organization and to his wife, Erica who continues to support her husband and thousands of wounded men and women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add other locations across the US to expand their reach

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I cant say enough good things about Wounded Wear. The man that runs it Jason Redman is a TOTAL inspiration and a leader. He is lucky to be alive today and his will to live brought him where he is today. Providing specialty made clothes for Wounded Warriors and rebuilding the Warrior Within.

This outfit here is Truly a God Send. They have so many events for Wounded Warriors and Gold Star families. If you ever wanted to donate to a TRUE Good Non Profit this is it......10 Stars for sure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013

Outstanding organization founded by a special forces (Navy) operator who never wanted this job as a non-profit leader. His severe wounds sustained in combat seemed to be more than enough to kill his spirit if not his body. But the enemy failed. Jason Redman is alive and well and getting better and better at what he does now: raising awareness so that OTHERS might have hope if they've been wounded in battle.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

more

March 21, 2013

Meeting the Wounded Wear team for the first time in Chicago was amazing. A group of fellow wounded warriors and I were asked to give our names for a clothing kit. I received that kit a few weeks later in the mail and was simply amazed. In the coming year I have grown to know J and Erica and what they do. I was then invited to Jump for a Purpose to honor our heroes and what we have sacrificed. The mental toughness that I see in J has inspired me to want to do more. He is a true leader and someone to emulate. His organization reflects a great value on helping his fellow brothers and sisters. Every time I leave from a meeting with them, I am left with a deeper positive impact knowing they are always there for any of us. If you are a civilian seeking understanding to learn of the sacrifices of our heroes you got it. If you are a wounded soldier, they will never let you down in being right there for you with tremendous programs of support and belonging.

T. Charlie Huffstutler
President
Warrior Chef

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

more

March 21, 2013

An organic, home grown, non profit organization that has significant positive impact nationwide on our combat wounded veterans and their families. I am so impressed with the dedication and service of the founders/members/volunteers of Wounded Wear. They are definitely bettering their community and positively supporting the military community. A very worthwhile organization to support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

more

March 21, 2013

Based on a very small start up location, small number of regular participants/volunteers this is a great organization! The work that is being conducted by Wounded Wear has long lasting positive impacts on the true heroes of this great country of ours. I have witnessed the Jumping for a Purpose event and cannot believe the empowerment provided to the Wounded Warriors and Gold Star family members the event results in.
I have also witnessed first hand the powerful change of a Wounded Warrior's attitude when provided with something as personal as clothing customized for their special physical condition.
Great work by all of those who support Wounded Wear both financially and with your time.
With Respect,
JT

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Wounded Wear came to Bethesda Naval Hospital where my son was recuperating from an IED blast where he lost both legs and multiple fingers. Wounded wear gave him a huge duffle bag filled with clothes and even ones that would fit over his bulky prosthetics before he got his new ones. They gave him great encouragement with stories from Jay and my son resonated with him right away. Jay was like magic to me because before this my son would hardly come out of his room. He met Jay, they talked and Jay invited him to Jump for a purpose, a sky diving trip! That day turned my sons life around and to this day a year and a half later my son is thriving! Thank you to Wounded Wear and all the team members who give of themselves everyday so they can make a difference in someones life like my son! In my eyes, they saved him! I will forever be grateful to Wounded Wear and I support Wounded Wear 100%!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

more

March 21, 2013

As a person who has the utmost respect and admiration for our soldiers, I find Wounded Wear to be a great source to give back to our wounded warriors. Operated by a veteran who was wounded in action, the company is run by honorable, honest people with integrity and a drive to do the morally correct thing.
Their events are well put together, their funds go to the people they are trying to help (not to massive overhead and administrators), and their results are tangible.
I don't support many charities or foundations--because they are too often overinflated in their results. But Wounded Wear continues to amaze me and provide the actual service they set out to provide.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wounded Wear is an amazing organization that not only supplies our wounded hero's with modified clothing and equipment to make their lives easier, but they also supply them with hope, friendship and a network. The Wounded Wear Warrior is not defined by their wounds or scars, they are defined by their spirit and their will to push past tragedy and defy the odds. They are an example to all American's of a true warrior. It doesn't end on the battlefield. Their love for life and the importance of making every minute count is what exemplify's them. This organization makes a huge impact on our military and by far one of the best charity's out there. I am a brand new volunteer photographer for them, but I have gone to their events in the past, and they know how to make not only our wounded feel special, but our military and veterans as well. This org is amazing, and I am honored to be part of such awesomeness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers