Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
435 Reviews
123.7747145
Write A Review
March 9, 2015
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2015
9 people found this review helpful

In the fiscal year ending 9/2013, WWP took in almost $235 million. Of that, it spent only $91 million on its programs - that is, on wounded warriors. It spent $57.7 million on fundraising, with of course a decent chunk of that going to the fundraising companies. Another $9 million went for administrative expenses. Its executive director scooped up $375,000 (including a 50% bonus) and the next top 10 execs made between $160K and $360K - again with bonuses greater than the annual incomes of many of the wounded warriors they claim to be helping. All told, of that $235 million, WWP spent $158 million. Do the math - $77 million left over! I don't doubt the organization does some good work, but with that kind of income it should be doing a lot more. I'm both saddened and hopeful for the wounded warriors I see in WWP's heart-tugging ads, and sickened by the knowledge that too many people are riding to riches on their backs. This kind of self-dealing is all too common in charities today - since when did it become normal for the CEO of a charity to make hundreds of thousands or even a million bucks a year? The pay scales are just another example of the infiltration of the Wall Street mentality into American charities (and hospitals, and universities, ad nauseam). For those at the top, charity work is not about charity but a lucrative career path. Shameful.
January 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

My husband served in the USMC from 2002-2006. He has suffered from PTSD, TBI, back pain, and other injuries. WWP has not only offered tremendous opportunities for him to experience great activities, meet wonderful veterans, and gain interests in new hobbies. I, as a "WWP caregiver" have also been provided opportunities to join my husband in these activities and watch him enjoy life again. The particular office that we have been working with is based out of Boston, MA and we look forward to more great events and benefits from WWP as they build and solidify a strong presence in the city!
December 8, 2014
22 people found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2014
22 people found this review helpful

Recently a good friend's father passed away. Her father was very impressed with the Wounded Warrior Project, so my husband and I sent a $200 donation in his name via check and using the online form for donation in honor of him. It has been nearly 2 months, and the cards to inform the family and the pdf file they promised to email have not shown up. I have talked to them twice and they say the cards to notify the family are in the mail. At this point it seems pointless to call again, and it is very embarrassing on how to tell my friend that we sent a donation in her father's name, but the organization did not see fit to let them know. I will never donate to this organization again for any reason.
October 26, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

I was shocked when I saw the financial statements of this organization. It is a huge rip-off that exists primarily to line the wallets of its executives, fundraisers and consultants. I have a PhD in business, with substantial experience in the fundraising field, and I assure you that the percentage of the money raised that actually goes to vets is shameful. Celebrities who are endorsing this organization need to stop endorsing it immediately, and journalists need to write exposes about it.
October 23, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Wed warrior project is a rip off as a Vietnam vet suffering from kidney failure I feel that wounded warrior project should be helping all vets. thewounded warrior project should not be paying it'sCEO $678,000.00 a year. I feel that 90% of all monies collected should go to all wounded warriors of all wars

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Look up the financials on WWP. You will find that only 17% of the money they raise goes to the warriors and or projects for the warriors.
October 22, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am the father of a Marine He has had problems from the time he got home from the war. Years of BS from the VA The things our family has gone through is unspeakable. I never served in the service I can try to be understanding But I never had to experience what these warriors endured. I have had my son tell me how certain things unnerve him such as things on the road certain people signs and such. after feeling like we were out of options I told him to call the WWP. Now if you have delt with the VA you know you may have to wait for a response. I can tell you honestly within a week I know at least 5 people from WWP called my son. I watched as these folks talked to him for hours. I watched him break down and cry and I watched him laugh. With each conversation I saw some hope in his eyes. something I have not seen in years. Someone from WWP sent him tickets to take his family to the Vols/Chattanoga football game it was a vary big deal for my 6 year old grandson. Honestly we don't have the means to do things like that anymore. My son has not been able to hold a job for 7 years. I became disabled about 5 years ago and am in a wheelchair most of the time. It was a big deal for the family. Like I said he was contacted by many people. He was told about an educational type siminar in N Carolina we live in Tn. Like I said I saw hope in his eyes as he asked if we could go. He said they would provide hotel and lunch. So we packed a few things checked the oil in my $200.00 car prayed that we would make the trip safely and hit the road 370 miles to go. All I had was what was left of my disability check we thought we had enough for gas but had no idea how much we had to eat on so we dident. We made it to the hotel WoW the Embasy suites Big place. Mind you we live in an old doublewide in the back of the haller. Everything was setup and waiting on us. The help the service and the room were amazing. We were hungery and hopeing for a continital breakfast jn the morning. When we woke we went downstairs to a feast oh my God all the food you could iagine. With the sound of the waterfall and stream in the middle of the hotel sitting across from my son we sat amazed at where we were that moment and it was good. And we were full. Now when we went there we were under the impression that this was to do with carrer planning. We found it to be so much more. We attended the WWP pathfinder course This was conducted by Randy and Amanda. I can in no way tell you all the information and help that was provided by the WWP and I cant describe how wonderful everyone involved. If you want to go to school there is nothing they wont do to help you. I could go on and on about great the course was. I was surrounded by other warriors and their support person. I could not help but notice one young lady that did not seem comfortable. After a few hours she seem to be opening up. One of the other female Warriors came up to her and said you seem to be doing better this week. Aparently they had gone on a WWP odesy for women the week before. As we had lunch together she began talking about the same things my son allways had. the same fears and triggers. Things were starting to make a little sense. Ok I've got to tell you about dinner. We were in the capital and they took us downtown. I'm not proud I'm poor. My family depends on the grace of God and the Mormon church for our food. So for a couple country boys we were a little overwhelmed when we went on a food tasting and guided tour of the Capital building. Seated with such wonderful people we dined like someone special. All of these warriors mostly women are something special and it was amazing to watch and listen to them I began to gain some understanding. Once again I watched my son laugh and I watched him cry. After filling up on shrimp and grits lobster mac and cheese we continued with the tour until being picked up and taken to another restaurant were we had wild boar tacos with mango salsa and some thing called feta cheese cake. Feeling like ged clampit we headed back to the hotel. When we arrived back I thought it was over for the day but found that the new founds friends wanted to spend more time together so we found ourselves sitting on the pool deck cool drinks the stars and great conversation. I watched the young lady I had spoken about cry and I watched her Laugh like I'm sure she had not done in years. I watched the fear fade from her face as she began to realize that she had support and that her fellow warriors have been or are going through the same problems as her. We went to and completed the course the next day Once again Randy and Amanda were amazing. We were shown all the options and benefits avalible for my son to persue a future and the support that he will need to achive his goals. A great weekend for sure but I still could not help but wonder if we would make it home on the money we had and like a blessing we were handed 2 $25 gift certificates. And then I was told to expect a check for travel expence's. I felt the weight lift they fed us again and we jumped in the car and headed home. My son and I support each other and it has seemed as if the world has kicked our ass it was so awesome to find the love and support that we found from the WWP and their staff. As it was from everyone that we met. It was an Honor and great blessing to be invited to this event and to be able to enjoy everyone that we met. I'm not sure where I can cut back but I will somehow in order to support this Great organization If you are able to do the same then I would humbly ask that you do so. They change lives they inspire or warriors who are lost in pain and suffering. I confess I am just a simple country boy my life in overtime worried that I will pass anytime leaving only the family homestead my son lost in this dark depression. We left with a sense of hope for the future. I humbly and Honestly testify that everything I have said is true. Larry Bainum Clinton Tn.
September 29, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

According to CharityNavigator.org, this charity spends 57.8% of revenue on "programs and services". and 36.3% on "fundraising expenses". This is in sharp contrast to the 80% and 16% respectively as claimed in this report. Although I believe this is a this is a worthwhile project (and I am a 100% disabled veteran), they should reduce the extensive amount of expenses spent on far too lengthy TV commercials. According to recommendations cited in Money Magazine, October 2014, which says, "...stick with ones that limit their overhead to less than 20% of their budget".
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I recently became an Alumni to WWP and had the pleasure of attending the summit in Nashville. My goal was to learn more about this organization. This goal was met and much more. I learned about what all this org has to offer and I was able to have fun and try new things, stand up paddle boarding anyone? I am excited to come back home, get more engaged with my local WWP group, and spread the word for other disabled vets to sign up! I just told my one friend who lives in Kansas and she's signing up today! She was under the belief that WWP was just for combat vets and I believe a lot of vets think that! I will do my part to educate and get others involved! Thanks again for a great weekend!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The recruiting to ensure that all disabled vets who meet the criteria feel that they can be a part of this organization, and it's just not for combat vets.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

I wanted to thank The New York Yankees and the Wounded Warriors Project for the thrill of a lifetime! My dad was honored during the 7th inning stretch at the July 26th NY Yankees game. He served during WWII in the Army Air Forces. He was overwhelmed by the outstanding recognition he received at Saturday's game. He received a standing ovation and people were cheering and clapping for him even as we walked back to our seats. Everyone was shaking his hand and thanking him for his service. The sweetest moment was when a little girl came to his seat and said, " Sir, thank you for your service." As we were leaving, and even outside the stadium, people were asking to have their picture taken with him. This is something we all will never forget. The Yankees' representative and the Wounded Warriors' representative were so respectful and attentive, making us feel very welcomed as they shared some personal stories with us. My daughters and I also accompanied him on the field. My cousins and my brother were also at the game. My friends from all over the country were calling me to tell us they saw us at the game. We will truly never forget this once in a lifetime experience.
Once again, my heartfelt thanks and gratitude for selecting my dad and allowing him to combine his pride and love of the NY Yankees and in serving his country. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
God Bless America!
Respectfully,
Elena DiCocco

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers