Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
272 Reviews
123.3014745
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

The wounded warrior program helped me greatly to know how to transition from the military back into the civilian life. They have helped me with my resume and with great meetings with employers. We recently had a luncheon meeting with employers at Minute Maid Ball Park. It was a great experience and a real joy to find other people just like me that are having problems finding a job after the military. The Wounded Warrior Program is a great tool..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

Wounded Warrior project is by far the best nonprofit organization that I have ever been involved with. They helped me and thousands of other Veterans transition back into the civilian world through hundreds of programs and resources tailored for veterans in all aspects of life. The oddesy program is life changing, it re-energized me and changed my life forever. Thank you Wounded Warrior project for your dedication and geniwiness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has a 60% + overhead. A reasonable amount would be 30% or less. Go to charitynavagator.com to find out the truth about this nonprofit agency.


American Veteran with 23 years of sevice

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

I have been a alumni for the past 2 yrs I served in Afghanistan....This organization help me to deal with my PTSD...I was diagnosed with chronic PTSD don't go out much, but with WWp I have been to many of their event...I cannot express how much I do appreciate WWp...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To be honest I wont change much, but I do hope this organization can help OEF/OIF Veteran that is having Financial problem are able to help them... With a grant...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 7, 2014
16 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2014
16 people found this review helpful

I have been watching the TV adds, It breaks my heart. I'm a 100% service connected DAV, 1st Gulf War. I decided last night to go online today to do a monthly contribution even though I live on a tight income. I have donated to many charities for hungry children, until I read financials and what really went to the children. I came on here to review that first and read ratings. I am so disappointed about the salaries and the only people saying it is ok are probably those that make that or more! These veterans that are 100% disabled are paid by the VA maybe 1% of that 319 thousand (not to mention tax free) that the director makes. They almost gave their lives and then this organization forms so these staff people can make a ton of money it seems to me. Superbowl tickets which were probably donated, fishing trips etc, probably donated as well. Their volunteers care and give their time, energy, and real concern to the Vets they help. No one that actually wants to work for a non-profit should expect to be paid that kind of money plus bonuses, healthcare, etc. You should want to work for the non-profit for a reasonable salary and out of the goodness of their heart because they want to do for the people for whom the organization is set up to help. Help financially the vets with things that MEDICARE AND THE VA will no longer pay for. IE: They non longer pay for DA Vets to have someone to come in an help with housework or cook. Only baths and if they live alone like me, with no help from others, can't do that stuff for themselves and with a limited income can't afford to actually pay an agency to come in and do it for them they have to sit in a dirty house, not have a hot home cooked meal. eat cereal, microwave dinners, lunchmeat, canned tuna and junk food. Healthy foods that you don't have too cook are to expensive. I will not be giving what little I could give monthy to this organization. PS..The paid professional actors on the commercials were not what caused me to want to give it was the disabled vets that made me want to give. I understand them. Save the money and use real people, real volunteers who I'm sure are more than confident enough to either memorize the lines, or read them off a prompter and would not have to ACT like they are concerned about the DA Vets because they would truly be feeling it. It's great what they are doing for the DA Vets that left a review here but they could do so much more with that money and pay the direct even 100K which may be reasonable but based on what he collects not bonuses for what he collects. The rest the staff are way overpaid as well. I bet some of their volunteers only make minimum wage at their jobs outside this organization yet graciously give their time unpaid.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

lower salaries, more out to vets and also help them financially with things the VA, Medicare don't help with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 8, 2014

more

February 8, 2014

I am a disabled veteran, seeking unemployment - the Wounded Warrior Project has helped me get clothes for an interview, redesigned my resume and send out a weekly listing of employment opportunities that may end up in full-time employment. This group of people are absolutely AMAZING! They go the extra mile ALWAYS! Lines of communications are always clear - they help in so many ways! We look forward to connecting with other veterans and veteran families. Our family no longer feels alone after leaving service. WWP is an extended family that helps begin the post-military healing. 20 Stars!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 6, 2014

more

February 6, 2014

I was afforded the opportunity to attend the Super bowl with a fellow Warrior and mentee. This was very special for he, and I since our time spent together is limited due to the distance that are between us.

Not only did we get a chance to converse on all levels, but we experienced five
star accommodations. The hotel, food, and other amenities was absolutely amazing. I had time to bond with my mentee who has become a friend. We were blessed by having a chance to share our life experience, ideas, and stories abound. These were days, I know made a difference in someone's life, and they in mine.

Being able to get away and experience something of this magnitude is definitely a game changer. Especially, when I know it was something almost impossible for me to do without the generous donation you made. Your contribution is making a difference one life at a time. I am grateful and thankful to have been chosen to receive such an honor.

Thank you and God Bless!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change absolutely nothing! Based on the experience that I had this past weekend...it could only get better in a dream. Even then, I don't think my imagination would allow me to go that far. This was truly a life changing experience for me! I could not have asked or planned a more relaxing, and fun filled event than the Super bowl experience. Thank you for making a dream come true!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 25, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2014
10 people found this review helpful

$148 million contributions, $36 million fund raising, fiscal Year Ending Sep 2012........those prime time TV ads with Professional Actors, are just too slick, don't you think?
Senior Vice President, WWP, sits on the Charity Navigator Board. WWP ignores requests to verify whether their TV
ads use professional actors........'nuff said?
US Army Veteran

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CONFIRMING EMAIL ADDRESS; lbmanning@msn.com lbmanning@msn.com

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

i note every vet group limits what they do and who for. I was an officer at a big older org and found they have great ratings and MANY OTHERS TOO, DO NOT SHOW SALARIES OF MOST OR MANY ACTIVITIES, INCOMES and EXPENSES. Separate accounting for various divisions can make agencies look very different than they actually are. Most big charities pay big $$ to top execs. Be nice to have more willing to do it for less but reality is that is not the case anywhere. Reasonable salary vs program figures are the best we can hope for. Asking for more inclusion and more useful programming is always a good idea.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to do more for most in need vets of all eras. More housing and basic services and not doled out to those agencies who don't really do it... and Less Sports/ entertainment from them and all the non vet disability agencies until all disabled vets and all nsc disabled vets and other USA disabled are housed and helped.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

in 2010, according to their SF990, their top 5 people made about $1.5 million? I also question how much they pay all the Hollywood stars to do all their ads. This used to be a wonderful program, there are better out there, sadly these folks have lost their way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get back to basics, look for efficiencies and serve veterans even if it means you don't get any publicity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers