Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
322 Reviews
123.555945
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I am a Recreation Therapist for the City of Reno and have had the pleasure of collaborating with Wounded Warrior Project (WWP) to support area veterans through adaptive recreation. Nino Gray is passionate about the warriors he serves and goes out of his way to provide resources and support to America's Heroes. It is with his support and the support of WWP that we have been able to continue to provide local opportunities to veterans such as the Military Sports Camp and veteran outreach events that help support these warriors in their continued post deployment success. I am forever grateful for the opportunity to work with WWP and Nino Gray.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I am a WWP Alumni, former employee, and supporter of the Project. I worked briefly in 2011 as Warriors to Work manager in the Northeast, and left on good terms to take a position at the VA. I have to say, my experiences as alumni and employee were all outstanding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014

more

May 27, 2014

As an active advocate and certified claims rep for my County in CA I have worked with the Northern CA staff of WWP and all I can testify to is positive results. Whenever I am searching for a non-profit to support a veteran in need they are one of the first ones I reach out to for assistance because I know the mission will be accomplished.

As a combat veteran myself, I am an Alumni with WWP and have found the feeling of "family" that I once had when I was in service. Because of their outreach coordinator I was able to connect with other veterans that have walked a mile in my shoes before, which made it comfortable to participate in activities again. I KNOW firsthand that the non-profit uses its donations as it should to help impact the lives of those battling physical and mental injuries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a satellite office in the Department of VA Oakland Regional Office.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

WWP has help to change the lives of so many veterans in Northern Colorado by providing funds to Path International, which in turn distributes funds to accredited therapeutic riding centers. Our program, Hearts and Horses for Heroes, has worked with over 73 veterans since the program began in 2012. Many of those veterans received support from WWP in order to participate in our equine program and feel the program has been life changing for them. “The Hearts for Heroes program is a safe and sacred place where we feel empowered to heal our wounds and each other’s. We take great comfort knowing that WWP is helping to ensure this safe place will always be here for us. Your continued commitment to funding the Hearts for Heroes program speaks volumes to your integrity as an organization and dedication to your mission. You know how critical it is for alumni to know intrinsically that they are not forgotten and you speak this truth through your actions. I am eternally grateful that you give freely this gift.” Gretchen Moran CW2 US Army
April 9, 2014

more

April 9, 2014

What We Do
L.A. SHARES is a non-profit materials reuse program, which takes donations from the local business community of reusable goods and materials (both new and used) and redistributes these items FREE-OF-CHARGE to non-profits and schools throughout Los Angeles .

How We Do
It
Through their interactive website www.lashares.org , interested schools and non-profits create an online profile of their organization, including a "Wish List" and "Top 20 List" of needed items. This profile is then entered into our unique, relational database, which proactively identifies each organization's needs and continuously seeks to match those needs with the donated items on record.

When a need is matched, the recipient is notified, via e-mail, to come to one of our two area warehouses to retrieve their items or instructed to go directly to the donor for pick-up. Either way, this state-of-the-art system is designed to help schools and non-profits obtain needed items quickly.

Who's Involved
The success of L.A. SHARES is a true collaboration between an outstanding Board of Directors and a host of extremely generous financial supporters, "material" donors and in-kind partners.

Our Background
Created in 1991, L.A. SHARES was formerly a pilot program for the City of Los Angeles Cultural Affairs Department known as Materials For The Arts. In 1994, in an effort to expand and service even more non-profit groups and schools, L.A. SHARES became an independent, non-profit organization.

Since 1991, L.A. SHARES has worked with 1,000+ local companies to give away more than $120,000,000.00 worth of goods and materials to over 2,500 organizations throughout Los Angeles .

Our key partner is the City of Los Angeles, Department of Public Works, Bureau of Sanitation, Solid Resources Citywide Recycling Division.

Together, we have made a commitment to increase the amount of reuse opportunities available to the citizens of Los Angeles, in an effort to reduce the amount of goods and materials being sent unnecessarily to our already overburdened landfills.

Program Benefits
In addition to L.A. SHARES' obvious benefit to recipients, donors receive tax deductions for items contributed and save on the disposal cost of unwanted items.

L.A. SHARES will immediately arrange for a school or non-profit to quickly pick up your donation.

We have done this thousands of times in our 23 plus year history. L.A. SHARES will not let you down.

Of course, donors can also drop off their donation to one of our two, local warehouses.

By utilizing L.A. SHARES, California businesses adhere to Assembly Bill 939, which requires them to reduce their landfill-bound waste. Last year, L.A. SHARES helped companies divert more than 1,000 tons of useful goods and materials from needlessly entering local landfills.

Our Achievements
L.A. SHARES has been recognized by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, The White House Task Force on Recycling, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, and the City of Los Angeles for its outstanding environmental achievement. Consequently, L.A. SHARES is now used as a "model" program for similar materials reuse efforts throughout the country.

L.A. SHARES has helped more than 2,500 organizations and schools throughout Los Angeles County including: Boys and Girls Clubs of America, Organization for the Needs of the Elderly, Habitat for the Humanity, Inner City Cultural Center, Union Rescue Mission, Angeles Girl Scout Council, the San Fernando Valley Child Guidance Clinic, John Marshall High School, Canoga Park Elementary School, Los Angeles Family School, and hundreds more.

Moreover, over the last 14 plus years, L.A. SHARES has partnered with the local business community to become the largest single donor of goods and materials to the Los Angeles Unified School District, the Arts community, After School Enrichment Programs, the Recreation and Parks community, the Theater community and the Alcohol and Drug Recovery community, among others.

Please visit our website www.lashares.org for more information and ways to contact us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see them be open on weekends.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

While attempting to raise money for the WWP, we submitted the application along with Credit Card information to cover their expense. Was told it had been accepted as a Fund Raiser. Two Days later received a call from out of Jacksonville office stating that because a National Resturant Chaine, Tilted Kilt was involved they withdrew from Tournament after we had made up Posters, Signs and sent out emails. They took awhile before refunding the Deposit. Never will we attempt to raise money for this organization as they selectively pick who they want to assist.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take away the perks as leaders and put Military Veterans in Charge. They pay a great deal of money to advertise and in most cases the actors, entertainers are paid. There are more then enough who would donate their time. i.e. Lt. Dan

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Read their 990 tax form, then tell me what is good about them? They farm out all the help and do not pay for it.

Any one who donates to them is wasting your money.

See facts do not lie, here is the tax return directly from their
website.

http://www.woundedwarriorproject.org/media/477620/wwp-900-fy-2012.pdf

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Wounded Warrior Project is not only what Veteran run organizations should strive to be like, but the caliber of people that work here area amazing and is what they should strive to have on their team.

I have had the pleasure of working directly with, Joseph Franzese, the Warriors to Work
Specialist for the Midwest Region.

He is an enthusiastic and passionate advocate for Military Veteran’s and their well-being and is always striving to assist Veterans in their job search and transition. I have had the pleasure of working alongside Joseph and have seen his invigorating attitude in regards of placing Veterans in meaningful employment. Joseph was an essential part of my military transition as he assisted me to not only gain meaningful employment, but persuaded me to further my education and attend DePaul University. I’m proud to consider Joseph one of my most trustworthy colleagues as well as a friend.

I now work at another nonprofit that is similar to WWP, and I always look forward to working with Joe and assisting him or him assisting me.

Sincerely,
Juan Perez

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

This company has one thing in mind and its not the wounded warriors. They get hefty salaries in all levels, unlimited spending on $10,000 dollars credit cards for all staff members, unlimited under armor clothing for all staff, all medical and dental benefits are paid fully by the company yes the company. Insperity is who they use for the money matters so everyone knows. Staff spends absolutely crazy amounts of money on motels, food, and luxuries for themselves. Oh the key words are "in support of" wounded warriors. These people are all getting rich of the wounded warriors in this country. They are despicable and arrogant and need to be stopped. They hand pick who attends events that they sponsor, hand pick for who they want to work in there companies like Pepsi. Why they keep getting away with this is because they use their legal to threaten all employees, they fire veterans they hire and rehire a person of the street who drinks the kool aid and keeps his mouth shut. They use Jim Collins leadership books to run the company Good to Great.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire everyone and start over, invest the money like it was intended, in the wounded warriors not the pockets of 489 employees.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

http://www.woundedwarriorproject.org/media/477620/wwp-900-fy-2012.pdf This Wounded Warrior Project return should make everyone sick to your stomachs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers