Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
403 Reviews
123.719645
Write A Review
November 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Aside from many different wonderful events, the thing WWP did for me, in which I am most grateful, is helping me secure employment.

When I started working with Warriors to Work Specialist, Tiffany Daugherty, I was employed, but unhappy with my current career. I was working in a commission
only job, and did not want to take my next step in life, which was starting a family, with that pay structure. Tiffany took the time to identify my strengths, skills and exactly what I was looking for. She helped edit my resume, searched for employers and even put in good word for me when applicable. Due to our efforts I landed interviews with 2 different employers. One was a poor fit, but the other was an incredible opportunity! I have been enjoying a very nice salary for the past 6 months and recently asked my girlfriend to be my wife. I'm engaged!

I would strongly recommend the WWP as a great destination for your charitable contributions. Also, anybody who has been injured serving this country should contact them immediately for support as well as a much deserved improved quality of life.
November 15, 2014

more

November 15, 2014

Wounded Warrior Project is a phemomenal organization. When I return from the war, I had a lot of trouble reconnecting with others socially. WWP programs and events gradually prepared me to be comfortable around others. I've tried other organizations and there's no comparison. There's no doubt WWP care about the Wounded Warriors! I recommend WWP to all wounded war vets!!!!!
November 14, 2014

more

November 14, 2014

The wounded warrior program has helped me in a number of ways.

1 they have help with my PTSD issues with equine therapy. This has been a huge help in my daily life I'm stress management and anxiety control. Before I started his therapy I could not even go into the grocery store with out
having massive panic attacks now I can make brief trips to the store after having some horse time. This therapy has also helped me reconnect with the community by allowing a safe place for me to volunteer in a safe environment and help the clients with special needs.

2 I have been able to be in contact with other veterans from around the country that have similar issues and have been able to learn what helps them and been able to find out other things that help me deal with the day to day life post deployment. Things like Yoga, horse riding, biking, and just being able to talk with other vets.

I am happy to have the WWP involved in my life and am grateful for the learning experience form the WWP that impacts my life on a daily basis

Charles R Heimerdinger
November 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am a mother of a vet. He has been home for about ten years now. Most of time, he has been with me. The VA was canceling appointments with him and he quit making them. And the only advise they gave me, regarding all of his issues was to kick him out. A mother can't do that. I was slowly falling apart myself trying to keep him alive. The stress I was experiencing played a role in my losing my job. I myself was diagnosed PTSD about the same time. Wounded Warriors showed up on my e-mail and I joined. In a very short time I was invited to a writers retreated. I most be honest, it had been year's since I held a pen in my hand for anything but work. I had lost all hope at this time. Alone, dealing with just survival, I applied to go to the retreat, never thinking they would except me. All these years of solitude with my son, I really needed this break so bad. And they said yes. I had no idea what I would be going to. And I was so nervous, thinking they had made an error and they would tell me so. But they welcomed me with open arms. And they told me there was hope. And I swear for the first time in years , someone hugged me. I actually took my wedding ring hoping to sell it to pay for rent. The mentors at Wounded Warriors said I can get help and they would help lead me through it. I am hopeful and moving forward. So anxious to get my son into programs that may bring him back to a healthier mental and physical life. God Bless Wounded Warriors and everyone involved.
November 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

WWP is a non-profit and as such has grown enormously.

I have joined them for a few events, and I really do believe that they make a difference in some veterans lives. yes, they will not help everyone. Some are not susceptible for it - but for some they make the difference. For me.. they
have shown me that there are some that keep fighting to help a group as diverse as our veterans, in any way they can. That, to me, is awesome.
November 8, 2014

more

November 8, 2014

Helped me tremendously!! Got me my disability fast!!
November 8, 2014

more

November 8, 2014

Wounded Warrior Project is AMAZING! I adore this organization and their consistent support of wounded veteran’s and their families.

I am the spouse of a wounded warrior and the benefits given to me are incredibly thoughtful and heartily welcomed. It’s not often that entities encompass the
veteran as a whole. However, the Wounded Warrior Project (WWP) not only supports a veteran for the long-term, but extends much the same kindness to anyone who is caring for the brave and selfless warrior.

When my husband was injured in Afghanistan, he was immediately flown from his tiny outpost to a larger one. Once there, he was examined and told that he needed to go to Germany for treatment. So, my husband had no choice but to leave everything he owned in Afghanistan and continued his journey on to Europe. He was met at the hospital by a fellow wounded warrior and given a backpack overflowing with all the essentials that my husband needed, but no longer had. If it had not been for them, by husband would’ve worn a hospital gown throughout his recovery instead of the warm track suit and t-shirts.

They came to his need when he was alone. Something even I couldn’t do.

This past weekend, I (the spouse) was also given an incredible gift, one that will forever remain enveloped in extreme gratitude.

Various outings are scheduled throughout the States, but it’s not often that something of this magnitude affects little ‘ol me. WWP planned a weekend away for spouses and an opportunity to explore their writing skills, while having a mentor ‘coach’ them. Um – whaaaat?! Let’s talk about the warm-and-fuzzies ‘cause I certainly had them and they stuck around for the entire event. That’s how cool it was.

We flew to Colorado and stayed at a beautiful conference center, where we were given our own rooms (HGTV was turned on from waking to bedtime!) and all meals were taken care of. Silent sleep and not having to cook? They had me at silent…

The next two days were spent with published writers from various outlets. Screen-writers, journalists, playwrights, poets, novelists, and the like – all volunteering their time to mentor 40 women and offering the tools needed to effectively communicate via written word.

This was my dream.

Having started writing after my first cancer in 2009, I’ve been mulling over the idea of writing a memoir. But, a memoir is incredibly difficult to prepare when I have so much I want to say. I don’t want to write just about my cancer’s, but also about life as a military spouse; the challenges of finding self after recovery from alcohol addiction; life as a mom of very active and bright (read: annoying, at times) boys; amongst other insanely relevant, yet crazy topics.

I met a lot of women there who are the main caretaker of their spouse… many, if not most of these veteran warriors, are missing limbs and/or are paralyzed. PTSD is a common theme and between all of us, we could tell you things that you would make you stop in your tracks, want to look a soldier in the eye, and thank them deeply for their life of sacrifice and pain on behalf of the freedom our country still has. That freedom is because of the men and women on the front-line, fighting for you and me.

If you only knew the lives these soldiers and their families now lead, you‘d understand the magnitude of their bravery. While these warriors have been injured both internal and externally, the families also have their own set of hurdles. Imagine having a husband who has such severe brain trauma, that he will stand at the door for the entire day and wait for you to come home from work, unless you were to tell him to go sit down before you left. Imagine a life where Child Protective Services is called because your spouse is having a flashback so horrific, that neighbors are terrified of the screams.

Wounded Warrior Project does its best to support the soldier and his/her family. I even get an email from a WWP person around the time of my birthday, just to wish me a happy day and also to make sure we aren’t in need of anything.

This weekend was for me…the wife and caregiver of a wounded warrior. Just amazing. Not only that, but we are slated to return to Colorado in May and have a follow-up time of mentoring. During the six-months in between the conferences, we are also being coached on whatever it is that we want to write about. The event itself was amazing, but the fact that it continues on to help us pursue a dream is something that my words cannot express fully.

So, thank you Wounded Warrior Project. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for being an organization who really cares… and giving me back the excitement I needed to continue to pursue with passion, the telling of my journey.
November 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Wound Warrior Post in Colorado Springs keeps forgetting that there are Wounded Warriors that live South of Colorado Springs most are in Pueblo, Colorado City, Rye and Beulah Area. They NEVER have events listed for Southern Colorado. The State Fair was in Pueblo and not 1 event was listed. Pueblo also has a Veterans Day Parade but once again, because we are south of Mile Marker 132 on I-25 we don't exist or matter to the bigwigs in Colorado Springs. I am tired of being forgotten about. Colorado Springs, you need to start including events in Pueblo.
November 5, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

WWP is a sneaky underhanded organization. I am a disabled Marine veteran and this organization has refused me help each and every time I have went to them. They have also refused to help me seek gainful employment. I know plenty of other wounded warriors they have treated this same way. The organization itself refuses to hire wounded combat veterans. 90% of the donations they take in go to pay the ridiculously inflated salaries of their CEO and upper tier management. That leaves only 10% to help us who were wounded. What they do with that 10% is make cups and hats and send em to us. I called them out on this on Facebook and they blocked me. There are better organizations out there who really do care please take your donations elsewhere America.
October 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a 20 year retired military veteran. I served in both the US Marine Corps, and US Army. I was wounded on 21 March 2007. I joined the WWP with my own doubts as far as it's reputation. After two years in the program, they have helped in so many different ways, from getting out of the house and join others that have been in the same situation as myself, to helping me and my wife attain gainful employment. WWP has been a cornerstone in my life, and hope that they (WWP) continues to grow as an organization.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers