Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
433 Reviews
123.7782945
Write A Review
February 24, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Wounded Warrior Project has been an immense help to this retired vet. My VSO Shawn Poston was my ONLY contact throughout my VA disability claim process that took the VA over 15 months to come to a decision. Not one time did the VA contact me during that 15 months to let me know what was going on with my claim; however, Shawn sent me an email nearly every month, in addition he enrolled me into the WWP Alumni program, they provided me with assistance in resume writing, job fairs, clothing allowances once I got my new job to help me purchase business attire. Bottom Line, the entire team at the WWP Nashville office, specifically Shawn Poston, were instrumental in helping me make the transition from 28 years of military service with four combat tours to civilian life. WWP has gotten some grief in the press about their overhead costs and how much of donated dollars actually go to a vet....well, all I can tell you is, the proof is in their effectiveness. They have offices in every major city, which means they have to employee a large number of people, pay rent, etc... this costs money...but these people provide direct assistance to the vets, from counseling to acting as a VSO to training. I received a 90% disability rating from the VA, yes I am broke, but had I not had Shawn there to guide me through the process, I probably would not have claimed injuries I should have or gotten a lesser rating....even when I got my rating the VA said they were not counting me as married, even though my wife and I have been married for 26 years, all of which I was in the Army....Shawn immediately called the VA on my behalf showed them that they had made a mistake and they revised my claim on the spot, this means real additional dollars in compensation....I could go on and on....bottom line, WWP is an amazing organization, wholly focused on supporting veterans, and you can't find a better place to work with as a vet or send money as a donor. WWP gets the job done!
February 17, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

THE WOUNDED WARRIOR PROJECT CHANGED MY LIFE. LITERALLY. I'M 47 YEARS OLD, AND WAS SENT TO IRAQ IN 2004. SINCE I'VE RETURNED FROM IRAQ, WITH INJURIES, I WAS SITTING AROUND DEPRESSED AND SUICIDAL. NOTHING SEEMED LIKE IT WAS GOING WELL FOR ME. EVERYTHING, LIFE, JUST SEEMED SO MISERABLE AND UNHAPPY FOR ME. I AM IN CONSTANT PAIN, BOTH PHYSICALLY AND MENTALLY, AND THAT REALLY TAKES A TOLL ON ME. I LOOKED INTO THE WOUNDED WARRIOR PROJECT, AND I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT. THEY TURNED OUT TO BE THE NICEST, KINDEST, MOST CARING PEOPLE I HAVE EVER MET IN MY LIFE. FROM A CHARITY POINT-OF-VIEW, I CAN PERSONALLY ATTEST TO THE FACT THAT THEY SPEND THEIR MONEY ON THE VETERAN. SERIOUS. I HAVE VIEWED THEIR CHARITABLE ACTIONS FIRST-HAND, AND HAD THE PRIVILEDGE OF BEING A RECIPIENT. THEY REALLY DO SPEND THEIR MONEY ON THE VETERAN. IF YOU CHOOSE TO DONATE TO THE WOUNDED WARRIOR PROJECT, THE MONEY REALLY DOES GO TO THE VETERAN. I CAN'T STRESS THAT ENOUGH. THEY TURNED ME AROUND FROM A DEPRESSED, SUICIDAL LUMP OF CRAP, AND HELPED ME BUILD MY LIFE BACK UP. THEY HAVE DONE MORE FOR ME THAN ANYONE EVER HAS. I HAVE ACTUALLY BEEN HAPPY SINCE I MET THEM, SOMETHING I WASN'T FOR 9 YEARS. THEY ARE THE REAL-DEAL. HOOAH.
February 17, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

I have had nothing but great experiences with the wounded warrior project. From the friendly and awesome staff at the local office to the family events, and the different physical abd wellness things I have participated in.
February 16, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I'm 100% disabled VET. In (ALASKA) and my wife and I because of kind people and their donation were able to spend a weekend at Chena Hot Springs in ALASKA with WWP ,it was educational and exciteing.This was the first time in almost 10 years my wife and I were able to spend that type of quality time together and with people that deal with the same issues we deal with on a daily Bases. Also like to make a special shout out to Jason, Sean and Brooksi thank each one of you for the information.and also special shout out to all those people who donate to (WW P ) I want to let you know it does make a difference.Thanks agin The Shepherd Family
February 13, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I am the spouse of a wounded warrior and the WWP has been phenomenal in helping us. I am a licensed attorney who has had a hard time finding a job. The WWP has assisted me with revising my resume, as well as helping to pay the cost of my admission fees so that our family can become more financially secure. When my husband was active duty, I participated in many of the career fairs and resume writing workshops, but never received as much help as I did with WWP. We are so thankful that there is an organIzation out there that helps wounded warriors and their families. Thank you again WWP!
February 13, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

My husband was critically wounded while serving in Afghanistan. One of the injuries is a moderate brain injury. Sadly it has affected my husband in a lot of ways. Not feeling like he has a purpose and not being able to experience fun are some of the ways this has impacted us. Thanks to the Independence Program, which helps moderate to severely brain injured veterans link up with recreational therapists in the area to gain access to things that help bring them joy again. One of the best things we have connected him to is equine therapy. Being around horses puts a smile on his face like nothing else I have ever seen. It is truly a miracle to see him smile like that.

Recently, I got to go to Amelia Island in Florida with other caregivers of veterans in the Independence Project. It was so nice to relax and bond with others going through similar situations. I can't thank you all enough for what you do for our veterans and families. Anna Frese, Andrea Bridson.. thanks a million.
February 11, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I mean where do I begin? The Wounded Warrior project is simply AWESOME! They are just a bunch of awesome people EVERY single one of them! They are always looking out for veterans like me AND my family. I tell all my Veteran friends about the Wounded Warrior Project. They are always concerned about my needs and look out for my wants as well. They treat me and my family like GOLD!. The benefits team goes above and beyond and not only because I won my VA claim but because of how they informed me of the process and explained everything to me and didn't make any broken promises. I'm very proud to wear my WWP shirts and hats and brag to everyone about them. I highly recommend supporting and becoming a part of this nonprofit.
February 8, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

There is so much to say about the wounded warrior project and what they have done to help the current and returning veterans cope with the everyday life they once had. I'm fortunate to be able to do my share as a veteran with the WWP by donating time for any events that they need help with! There are many agencies out there but this is the one that truly helps the veterans!!!!!
February 5, 2015

more

February 5, 2015

My husband was displaced from his job August of 2013 due to severe PTSD. He filed for benefits within a week. His displacement was due to one letter from a DR that he went to at his VA hospital. We kept running into brick walls with no response. I tried to handle everything on my own and was very overwhelmed. We were on the verge of losing everything. We had no options, low on food in the home unable to provide for our three children by the time I contacted the Wounded Warriors Project. Thanks to Shawn and the resources that he recommend and all the hard work they put into helping us we finally received my husbands benefits. If anyone has experienced having a loved one with PTSD you can only imagine the stress that this process placed on my husband. A man that gave ten years of his life serving his country only to come home broken. We had pretty much given up on any hope that we would survive this ordeal. Thanks to WWP we were able to breathe again. On at least three occasions they sent gift certificates that allowed us to feed our family and drive from point A to point B as well as providing Christmas for the children. They took away the sense of powerlessness and replaced it with a sense of relief. They let the VA know that our Soldiers should not be punished or suffering hardships. They uplifted our spirits on numerous occasions. I have tried my best to say in words what WWP did for our family. It is very hard to express unless you have been through this lengthy horrible process. I will be grateful to WWP for the rest of my life. My family is now able to relax and know that the bills are paid we will eat and that the hard times are past us financially. There are thousands of Veterans fighting for what is rightfully theirs and WWP is dedicated to help all those who ask. Please do not be to proud to ask for help. Please reach out before you or your loved one that is suffering reaches a point that they just give up. I believe that the sense of hopelessness that Veterans have whether they are suffering from an injury that is unseen such as PTSD or one that is visible is exactly why WWP was created. With a group like this I am sure that they have saved many lives and marriages. They have allowed mothers and fathers that have served to continue to be there for their children. Again, I can not thank WWP enough for what they have done for us and other fellow Veterans and their families. THANK YOU!
Nichole Seifert
Missouri
February 4, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

The WWP is an awesome organization in whole. I am truly greatful to be alumni. Although, living in Tucson really makes it difficult to take part in day events in my region, since most of the events are in Phoenix, Albuquerque, or Salt Lake City. In reality for Tucsonian Wounded Warriors, in the SW region, either we fork up the cost and time to travel long distances to connect with fellow Warriors, or just stay home. I thought that when I was finally medically retired from the Army, I could work on healing my mind and body with the WWP. In reality, I can't afford the travel expenses. Therefore, I am hoping and waiting to see a loal event in my area. I'm being patient.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers