Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
435 Reviews
123.7747145
Write A Review
March 6, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

Following a wartime injury and separation from service I felt both bitter about being "let go" from the Army and hesitant to call myself a "service-disabled" person because I had seen other soldiers who were hurt so much worse than I was. I felt like I didn't belong as either a veteran or a civilian. Wounded Warrior Project (WWP) brought me in to a SoldierRide event and just accepted me. Surrounded by other warriors- some with severe injuries and some with invisible wounds, I just felt included. I was never separated out within the group for being "not injured enough" or "not injured in the right way". They just made me feel part of the team. My experience was so positive, in fact, that I later looked for job opportunities with their team- they just made me feel whole.
March 29, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

As someone that works with Veterans daily it's appalling the salaries the staff of this charity make. It started off with good intentions then as in many cases greed took over and it became a way to get rich off of the disabilities of Veterans. They even tried suing another organization because it had Wounded Warrior in it's name. By the way that charity actually helps Veterans without taking a cut for personal gains. When you look at a Veterans charity look at the salaries and that will tell you who's helping who.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Restructure the leadership!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 29, 2015

more

March 29, 2015

My name is james and i found out about the wwp when I was a resident at the roseburge va hospital. Since then i have been on an odyssey tr ok p and many local outings . they wwp has given me some of my self respect back . i am alive today thanks to them . my last outing was mid march this year . deap sea fishing out of depobay oregon. Like all outings i run into guys i havent seen since 2004. But this trip i cam home more alive than ever. My government threw me away but the wwp helped me become a human agai
March 25, 2015

more

March 25, 2015

I have been involved with WWP for a year now which has allowed me to meet amazing people and have unique opportunities I would never had the chance to participate in. They have changed the lives of myself and my peers and continue to support Soldiers active and retired. I hope they can continue to support vets and soldiers for years to come. I recommend them to all of my soldiers in the wtb. Thank you for for all you do
March 23, 2015

more


1 previous review
March 20, 2014

Laura Lamon has been a tremendous help for me transitioning into the workforce. She has been a big help in attire and pre employment applications. WWP has been great to me and my family in their dedic... more

March 23, 2015

Having attended a recent WWP alumni summit and all the programs it offers, it has really helped me personally with getting to know other vets in the area as well as self growth and physical well being. The staff at the event was very helpful with my question and were all on top of it when it came to helping me. We had a good time at the event and it was very informative. I highly recommend them as a former combat vet and help to see my brothers in arms do take advantage of getting better from the memories of war and unseen scars many carry after returning home from Afghanistan and Iraq. Danitza in the Virginia region has been fantastic and helpful in transition and events that are offered, helping me out with anything that I need. Keep doing what you're doing WWP!!!
March 20, 2014

Laura Lamon has been a tremendous help for me transitioning into the workforce. She has been a big help in attire and pre employment applications. WWP has been great to me and my family in their dedication to help veterans like me. I am glad to have had Laura in keeping me motivated to find employment.
March 21, 2015

more

March 21, 2015

This nonprofit has changed my life for the better!
March 15, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Excellent organization for comradery among vets n soldiers especially those of us with "Battle Scars" we attend events that bring up our self esteem and quiets those demons of war..
Lots and lots of resources and information we need to get help and the benefits we deserve.. I highly recommend
WWP to other OIF and OEF Veterans.
March 9, 2015
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2015
9 people found this review helpful

In the fiscal year ending 9/2013, WWP took in almost $235 million. Of that, it spent only $91 million on its programs - that is, on wounded warriors. It spent $57.7 million on fundraising, with of course a decent chunk of that going to the fundraising companies. Another $9 million went for administrative expenses. Its executive director scooped up $375,000 (including a 50% bonus) and the next top 10 execs made between $160K and $360K - again with bonuses greater than the annual incomes of many of the wounded warriors they claim to be helping. All told, of that $235 million, WWP spent $158 million. Do the math - $77 million left over! I don't doubt the organization does some good work, but with that kind of income it should be doing a lot more. I'm both saddened and hopeful for the wounded warriors I see in WWP's heart-tugging ads, and sickened by the knowledge that too many people are riding to riches on their backs. This kind of self-dealing is all too common in charities today - since when did it become normal for the CEO of a charity to make hundreds of thousands or even a million bucks a year? The pay scales are just another example of the infiltration of the Wall Street mentality into American charities (and hospitals, and universities, ad nauseam). For those at the top, charity work is not about charity but a lucrative career path. Shameful.
March 6, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Curtis Fluitt and the Wounded Worrior Project has been then most amazing help to me. I had a claim that was messed up in the system for over two years and the hard work and dedication Curtis put in had it finalized in a matter of months. Once again VA messed up the claim so I called back and he was willing to help again and have the final issues resolved within a month of me calling. Great work ethics and dedication to veterans who have sacrificed so much. I would recommend and have recommended several of my fellow vets to use them! 5 stars without hesitation for me!
March 4, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Please, please, do something do something in or near Roanoke Va.
My wife has been looking after me for a long time and she deserves a retreat.
I unfortunately can't afford to give it to her. My health is failing pretty fast, can WWP please help.
Lewis Campbell
540-278-3696
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers