Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 13, 2014

I joined the board of Wounded Warrior Homes this year. I have been extremely impressed with the quality and care in which it is run. It is truly an amazing organization helping our military vets in times of greatest need! What an awesome group!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get it more funding to help our vets!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 11, 2014

I volunteered for this organization as an externship for CalState San Marcos. What an incredible group of folks; they are passionate about their mission to care for local wounded warriors. Best experience od my college career!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 11, 2014

This charity helps combat wounded veterans suffering from PTS and TBI injuries as a result of military service recover and transition back into civilian life. Often, these veterans lack the financial resources or are waiting for military disability benefits. The staff sincerely cares about those who have served our country and have suffered debilitating injuries as a result. As a veteran and volunteer at this organization, I know the staff is very knowledgeable, caring, and very efficient in the way it allocates its funding. Donations can be used to fund general functions or donors can request that their donations are used in specific ways whether housing programs or otherwise. This is a first rate organization and I am proud to associated with it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see the organization expand to cover a wider geographically area. Currently, the organization primarily serves the San Diego County area of California which is also the home of the largest number of new veterans in the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 9, 2014

During my senior year in college, I was required to find a location to do an internship for. At that point I had yet to decide on the population I wanted to serve once I completed my education and knew I needed to start making this decision soon. I contacted Wounded Warrior Homes in Vista and met with them shortly thereafter. After only 30 minutes, the dedication of the staff (Mia and Gene), as well as the truly unique approach to transitional housing for our country's valuable veterans was inspiring. They let me complete my internship with them and I have continued volunteering long after my required obligation was complete. I truly believe this program design is the most effective way to support these veterans. Anyone who spends just a few minutes talking with the staff and other volunteers will see the dedication and compassion they have for unfortunately growing population. My time with Wounded Warrior Homes has helped give me direction and a population to serve in my professional life moving forward.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding to help more veterans in need!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2014

This organization offers a phenomenal opportunity for Veterans who are in transition. Often these Veterans are homeless, and without direction. Offering them sanctuary is often the step needed to start moving forward.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 14, 2014

The heart of the people involved in this organization is what makes it so wonderful. They truly care for each and every wounded warrior assisted by their efforts and their heart aches for every veteran that has to be turned away. The goal is grow in capacity and efficiency so that every veteran that needs assistance can receive it. Proud to be a member of such a worthy and necessary organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 2, 2014

Veteran homelessness is a serious problem every American has an obligation to not only understand, but to take action against. These men and women defend the very freedom all Americans take for granted. Wounded Warrior Homes has taken up the mantel for these men and women. Those who have served and left their service time with traumatic brain injury and post traumatic stress need all the support they can get while they wait for their benefits to kick in. Good bless Wounded Warrior Homes and everything they do!!! And God Bless America!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 26, 2014

I am very grateful for where I am and what Wounded Warrior Homes has done for me. I was a veteran of 18 years who had two combat tours and numerous Humanitarian deployments as a Navy Corpsman. Unfortunately, after an injury and years of taking opiates, coupled with Post-Traumatic Stress (PTS) and Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) symptoms ultimately led to my early departure from what I loved to do, which was saving lives. With a quick departure from the military I was left jobless, homeless and without a car. I was constantly moving around living on friends’ couches. After having a series of blackouts, no one was willing to take a risk with me and ended up in the hospital with nowhere to go. I was fortunate enough that I was able to get temporary shelter at a local crisis house for two weeks. While there, I was able to work with my case manager who referred me to Wounded Warrior Homes. With everything seemingly to be falling apart around me and the situation didn't leave me with any options or reasons to “carry on”, it was a positive in a seemingly negative world. Since living here a lot of the stress has been taken out of my life and that allows me to gather my thoughts and priorities and focus on myself and what needs to be done without the stressors of everyday life. I honestly can’t say where I would be if it weren't for Wounded Warrior Homes, but I don’t know that I am in a better place now and grateful for everything they've done and are doing for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014

more

January 16, 2014

I am honored to serve with the wonderful people in this organization. Everyone is so dedicated to providing housing for and giving support to the veterans that may not otherwise have anywhere or anyone else to turn to during their challenging transition out of the military. The care given and the planning to make it all happen is so thoughtful and comprehensive. I have witnessed the impact that Wounded Warrior Home, Inc. has had on the lives of many men and it is truly amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2013

more

December 7, 2013

I was looking for a volunteer service learning experience for college and chose the Wounded Warrior Homes because of their interest in assisting post 9/11 veterans that had been injured while serving on active duty. I found their purpose and passion genuine, and immediately embraced their vision of assisting the community with the needs of providing transitional housing and support to the recently discharged veterans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers