Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 14, 2014

The heart of the people involved in this organization is what makes it so wonderful. They truly care for each and every wounded warrior assisted by their efforts and their heart aches for every veteran that has to be turned away. The goal is grow in capacity and efficiency so that every veteran that needs assistance can receive it. Proud to be a member of such a worthy and necessary organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 2, 2014

Veteran homelessness is a serious problem every American has an obligation to not only understand, but to take action against. These men and women defend the very freedom all Americans take for granted. Wounded Warrior Homes has taken up the mantel for these men and women. Those who have served and left their service time with traumatic brain injury and post traumatic stress need all the support they can get while they wait for their benefits to kick in. Good bless Wounded Warrior Homes and everything they do!!! And God Bless America!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 26, 2014

I am very grateful for where I am and what Wounded Warrior Homes has done for me. I was a veteran of 18 years who had two combat tours and numerous Humanitarian deployments as a Navy Corpsman. Unfortunately, after an injury and years of taking opiates, coupled with Post-Traumatic Stress (PTS) and Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) symptoms ultimately led to my early departure from what I loved to do, which was saving lives. With a quick departure from the military I was left jobless, homeless and without a car. I was constantly moving around living on friends’ couches. After having a series of blackouts, no one was willing to take a risk with me and ended up in the hospital with nowhere to go. I was fortunate enough that I was able to get temporary shelter at a local crisis house for two weeks. While there, I was able to work with my case manager who referred me to Wounded Warrior Homes. With everything seemingly to be falling apart around me and the situation didn't leave me with any options or reasons to “carry on”, it was a positive in a seemingly negative world. Since living here a lot of the stress has been taken out of my life and that allows me to gather my thoughts and priorities and focus on myself and what needs to be done without the stressors of everyday life. I honestly can’t say where I would be if it weren't for Wounded Warrior Homes, but I don’t know that I am in a better place now and grateful for everything they've done and are doing for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014

more

January 16, 2014

I am honored to serve with the wonderful people in this organization. Everyone is so dedicated to providing housing for and giving support to the veterans that may not otherwise have anywhere or anyone else to turn to during their challenging transition out of the military. The care given and the planning to make it all happen is so thoughtful and comprehensive. I have witnessed the impact that Wounded Warrior Home, Inc. has had on the lives of many men and it is truly amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2013

more

December 7, 2013

I was looking for a volunteer service learning experience for college and chose the Wounded Warrior Homes because of their interest in assisting post 9/11 veterans that had been injured while serving on active duty. I found their purpose and passion genuine, and immediately embraced their vision of assisting the community with the needs of providing transitional housing and support to the recently discharged veterans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2013

more

December 2, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Wounded Warrior Homes for over two years. From the first event I volunteered for I felt the passion and all encompassing heart and soul being dedicated by the Founders. I have seen Wounded Warrior Homes thrive and grow through the pure dedication and hard work of the founders and a small group of volunteers. Just in the past year I could personally see their first home for transitioning wounded warrior veterans come to fruition and can see and regularly be involved with its' successes.
One of the things that makes me stay involved with Wounded Warrior Homes is that it is a local non-profit where I can literally "see" that it is working and that donations are used properly in helping these wounded veterans heal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

I am Co Founder of Wounded Warrior Homes. The personal eye opener for Me was having 2 service members end up in our house after serving in Iraq post 911. Both somehow ended up on the same area on the living room floor. When asked why they told me they felt safe there and then proceeded to tell Me in great detail everything they had done while fighting for our freedom. I asked the first one to stop as I have never served and had a hard time taking in the story I just told. At that moment I really understood the sacrifices that our service members and there families make. The challenges that I saw over the next couple of years was tough to watch. The next thing I know is Wounded Warrior Homes is born. We currently have a full house and are looking to open another house. Getting our warriors before they end up living on the streets is our goal. Steve Roseberry

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 29, 2013

I am a retired social worker, new to the San Diego area, who was looking to do some volunteer work. I heard about Wounded Warrior Homes from my cousin, a retired U.S Marine who had taken a business class with the Executive Director, Mia Roseberry. I was really excited when I met with Mia because I had the type of work experience that I felt would be beneficial to their program. I had prior experience as a Regional Administrator and Program Director of several transitional residential programs. I have been working with Wounded Warrior Homes for over two years and seen it grow from a start-up to a fully functional program serving the needs of veterans. None of this would have been possible were it not for the tireless work of Steve and Mia Roseberry and their volunteers. The generosity and support of businesses and community members has been outstanding and allowed us to open the first home Sept. 14, 2012. Our challenge now is to increase our capacity as we have had to turn away other needy veterans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue focusing on development and capacity building.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 28, 2013

Wounded Warrior Homes has been there for m, help me out with hard times. When my services was done for the country. My life was missing people in my life that care. I suffer from having post traumatic stress and traumatic brain injury. Its been tough getting my life together. I would like to say thank you to the Wounded Warrior Homes staff for all the assistants.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I choose to volunteer for Wounded Warrior Homes initially for college credit. I am truly honored to work with such a great group of people. Everyone here has a big heart and desire to help those who have been injured with traumatic brain injury or PTSD. I am very happy to be a part of this worthy cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers