Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I was unaware of the existence of fistula until I found out about this organization. Obviously, a condition that causes so much misery to so many women is worthy of our attention and support. I will be a contributor to their cause from now on and will work to spread the word about fistula.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I plan my giving carefully because I want it to go where it will directly benefit people in need. I heard about this organization through Nicholas Kristof's articles and was so impressed with the work they do and the Charity Navigator ratings. I'm proud to have given to the "Love a Sister" campaign and will continue to give to this worthy organization that is transforming the lives of women every single day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Providing financial support for the important work of WFF is an opportunity to do something concrete to right one of the worst wrongs that are inflicted on innocents by an evil part of human society. Women suffering pain and shame and who may die sooner than later are given a new opportunity for a somewhat normal life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had read an article in Christianity Today a few years back. I could not get the picture of these ladies (some children, as young as 14) having to live over drains. Being a woman and in the medical field my heart ached for these women. Seeing so much "medical waste" and expense here in the U.S. got me thinking about the small cost for a huge difference in a lady's life. I started a business and told my husband that they would be the ones we supported with 10% of sales. I have had just a few comments about why I am not supporting something in the U.S. WELL until you can show me one person who has to live like that in the U.S. I will continue to do what I can for these women. These women are outcasts, but they are loved. I have seen some stories on how these women's life are changed (and only 400 per surgery). We look to the day we can donate thousands to help these ladies and all those volunteering. The true thankfulness and smiles on these healed women are remarkable. I tell others when at vending opportunities briefly about them so they know a portion of their purchase goes to such a wonderful cause. More and more women are getting familiar with what a fistula surgery is (in very general terms).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Three years ago a friend told me about a book, HALF THE SKY. I was so moved by the stories of these women who had overcome so many hardships and obstacles. They were not victims but had used their knowledge to turn around and help others. It was the first time I had ever heard about fistula. I was saddened and shocked that women were suffering from a medical condition that could be easily remedied. One of the organizations mentioned that was trying to deal with this condition was WORLDWIDE FISTULA FUND. So I decided to put this organization on my list of charities. The stories I have read regarding the change in the lives of these women is remarkable. They can now live without discomfort and shame. Those things which were brought to them through no fault of their own.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The Worldwide Fistula Fund does a great job helping to heal women with obstetric fistulas in areas in which they would not otherwise have access to such health care. In particular, they operate the Danja Fistula Center in Niger under difficult conditions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I first heard of obstetric fistulas through NIcolas Kristof and Shreyl WuDunn's insightful book, Half the Sky. The book detailed the unthinkable treatment that women with unfortunate condition endure and the impact that the organizations like the Worldwide Fistula Fund have on changing the lives of women who would otherwise be treated as pariahs. This organization works to heal women who are physically and socially marginalized by funding surgery and creating hospitals. The organization also keeps its donors updated with developments through regular emails. The WWF is a truly honorable effort.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

When a woman's fistula is repaired, her entire life changes; she goes from being an outcast to a productive member of society. I learned of this group through a column Nicholas Kristof of the NY Times on WFF and have been a supporter ever since then. There are a lot of great organizations out there that address the vast medical needs in the third world, but am guessing there are very few that do what WFF does; I am also certain that WFF attract sa small fraction of the funding that goes to the bigger (and also important) groups. I hope this review persuades some people to support WFF, which helps change lives by addressing a medical problem that too few Westerners are aware of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I was moved by one of Nicholas Kristof's articles in the New York Times to make a contribution to this extremely worthy organization, and am delighted to continue to support their important work. These are the most forgotten of women whose lives are being restored by the dedicated professionals who work with the Fund. God bless them all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

What a tremendous cause...and they are really making a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers