Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As the father and stepfather of 4 beautiful adult women, I learned of the Worldwide Fistula Fund by reading the Kristofs' "Half the Sky" and was horrified to learn of the abusive reality under which so many African women have been forced to live. I have been deeply moved by the work of the Fund and have asked my own family members as well as friends to consider a donation to this organization. There is no reason that ANY woman anywhere should be subject to such abuse. As Nicholas and Sheryl have pointed out, women comprise the largest group of humans to suffer discrimination and ill treatment simply because of who they are. We can make no progress toward universal human rights unless 50% of the human race is included in our mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I first came to know of Worldwide Fistula Fund organization via Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn's book - Half the Sky. The organization is one of a few organizations that is dedicated to help women with obstetric fistula. in most cases, treatment is simple with positive life-changing impact for these women. I quote and believe "Women are the cornerstone of the family and in the bigger picture they're what animates society every single day. Women need to be well, and they need to want to be well in order to ensure that those bigger pieces work." - Dr. Jane Dimer, GHC. I know my donation is well spent for a worthy cause. Thank you for your hard work and dedication, WWF staff and volunteers!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In September, 2012, I joined the team at the Danja Fistula Center as a physician learning fistula repairs. I have dedicated my career to the care, education and empowerment of girls and women. The Worldwide Fistula Fund which operates the Center is visionary, and everyone I worked with was passionate about raising the level of consciousness and care around fistulas. The Center cares for the girls and women in a holistic manner which is truly unique. As impressive as the care delivered is, the team is also dedicated to the prevention of obstetric fistulas. This is the true difference between this and other fistula Centers. The Worldwide Fistula Fund shines a light on the value of girls and women. I will return to Danja.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

The Worldwide Fistula Fund operates the Danja Fistula Center, one of only a handful of dedicated fistula hospitals in the world. During the two weeks I visited the hospital in September with a team of medical and administrative staff and volunteers, 24 women had surgery to repair an obstetric fistula. Many of them had been ostracized by their families because of their condition and others had had multiple failed surgeries in sub-standard clinics. Here they received excellent care by a skilled medical team. It was a privilege to be with these lovely and brave women, and I took great comfort in knowing that the Worldwide Fistula Fund was changing their lives. This is an organization that is making a tremendous difference.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Worldwide Fistula Fund steps up to provide invaluable help to arguably the most disenfranchised women in the world. Against the odds, it has built an incredible hospital on the border of Niger and Nigeria that provides free service for any girl or woman afflicted by obstetric fistula - a horrible condition that ruins lives and tears families asunder. The WFF has collected a team of the most respected clinical practitioners in the world to battle this condition and also works to raise awareness of safe birthing practices within affected communities to prevent the injury from ever occurring. There is perhaps no other charitable contribution one could make that has such an immediate and important effect as saving a woman from a lifetime of misery. The average price of this surgery is just a few hundred dollars...yet millions of women continue to needlessly suffer. The time to end this is now. It is an incredibly worthwhile cause and a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have done some media work for WWF and love what the company stands for. Unlike other nonprofits, WWF continually keeps the public and donors informed on what's going on and the progress being made. They are clearly making a difference in women's international health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I've been the volunteer anaesthesia provider at Danja Fistula Center for two months now. Working with WFF has done for my career exactly what it needed - a reinvigoration with enthusiasm through partaking in meaningful work. The long-term team are obviously dedicated and driven to deliver a holistic soution to obstetric fistulae. This is not just 'another third world facility', but a hospital that offers a high-standard service whilst being culturally sensitive. I have been very well supported by the US office.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I visited the facility in Danja to conduct a Needs Assessment for the non-profit medical supplies agency Project C.U.R.E. The needs were great and we (C.U.R.E.) expect to help with supplies. The people working there are competent and are dedicated. And the development of local staff is impressive. Most impressive however, is the impact on the lives of the women who are served by WFF. But there is more that must be done in staffing and other areas to get full benefit from the facility.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I helped out at the WFF for the last two summers, and it has been the most rewarding work I have done. The staff is so hardworking and dedicated to helping the women in Danja, and it was truly inspiring to work with them. I was also fortunate enough to visit the clinic in Niger. I met patients and saw the medical team in action. I saw how the WFF provides free, effective, and holistic care to women afflicted with fistula--and how the women were truly enabled to change their lives. I also saw how supportive the Danja community is of the WFF's efforts, and how the WFF puts back so much into the community by hiring local workers and using local resources. I believe the WFF is a top quality nonprofit that provides aid work ethically and efficiently, and I would be honored to continue helping their efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I learned of this organization from an editorial written by N. Kristof in the New York Times. I was amazed to learn about the traumatic births many women endure, and the injury these women sustain. All of the people involved in fistula repair deserve recognition and honor. The Worldwide Fistula Fund works tirelessly to end obstetric fistulas for all. Big kudos!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers