Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I had opportunity to volunteer as a nurse with WFF before the Danja Fistula Hospital was up and running. During that time we operated on 10 women and it was such a joy to be a part of their healing process! Many women have been rejected by husbands and families and are often cast out of their communities. At Danja, they quickly make friends with the other women. As nurses we made sure to hold hands, hug, and dance with these ladies. Some of them hadn't been touched by another person for years. WFF helps provide not only physical healing through surgery, but also emotional healing. You should see the celebrations we have during a dress ceremony which is a time of dancing, singing, and thanksgiving after the women have a successful surgery and are dry! WFF helps provide life skills to the women, and also helps train local nurses and other personnel in fistula care. Both of these activities help empower and educate local Nigeriens which is crucial for helping stop the cycle of obstetric fistula. I strongly support WFF and hope to one day be able to volunteer again at the Danja Fistula Hospital.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I was moved by one of Nicholas Kristof's articles in the New York Times to make a contribution to this extremely worthy organization, and am delighted to continue to support their important work. These are the most forgotten of women whose lives are being restored by the dedicated professionals who work with the Fund. God bless them all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

What a tremendous cause...and they are really making a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As the father and stepfather of 4 beautiful adult women, I learned of the Worldwide Fistula Fund by reading the Kristofs' "Half the Sky" and was horrified to learn of the abusive reality under which so many African women have been forced to live. I have been deeply moved by the work of the Fund and have asked my own family members as well as friends to consider a donation to this organization. There is no reason that ANY woman anywhere should be subject to such abuse. As Nicholas and Sheryl have pointed out, women comprise the largest group of humans to suffer discrimination and ill treatment simply because of who they are. We can make no progress toward universal human rights unless 50% of the human race is included in our mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I first came to know of Worldwide Fistula Fund organization via Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn's book - Half the Sky. The organization is one of a few organizations that is dedicated to help women with obstetric fistula. in most cases, treatment is simple with positive life-changing impact for these women. I quote and believe "Women are the cornerstone of the family and in the bigger picture they're what animates society every single day. Women need to be well, and they need to want to be well in order to ensure that those bigger pieces work." - Dr. Jane Dimer, GHC. I know my donation is well spent for a worthy cause. Thank you for your hard work and dedication, WWF staff and volunteers!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In September, 2012, I joined the team at the Danja Fistula Center as a physician learning fistula repairs. I have dedicated my career to the care, education and empowerment of girls and women. The Worldwide Fistula Fund which operates the Center is visionary, and everyone I worked with was passionate about raising the level of consciousness and care around fistulas. The Center cares for the girls and women in a holistic manner which is truly unique. As impressive as the care delivered is, the team is also dedicated to the prevention of obstetric fistulas. This is the true difference between this and other fistula Centers. The Worldwide Fistula Fund shines a light on the value of girls and women. I will return to Danja.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

The Worldwide Fistula Fund operates the Danja Fistula Center, one of only a handful of dedicated fistula hospitals in the world. During the two weeks I visited the hospital in September with a team of medical and administrative staff and volunteers, 24 women had surgery to repair an obstetric fistula. Many of them had been ostracized by their families because of their condition and others had had multiple failed surgeries in sub-standard clinics. Here they received excellent care by a skilled medical team. It was a privilege to be with these lovely and brave women, and I took great comfort in knowing that the Worldwide Fistula Fund was changing their lives. This is an organization that is making a tremendous difference.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Worldwide Fistula Fund steps up to provide invaluable help to arguably the most disenfranchised women in the world. Against the odds, it has built an incredible hospital on the border of Niger and Nigeria that provides free service for any girl or woman afflicted by obstetric fistula - a horrible condition that ruins lives and tears families asunder. The WFF has collected a team of the most respected clinical practitioners in the world to battle this condition and also works to raise awareness of safe birthing practices within affected communities to prevent the injury from ever occurring. There is perhaps no other charitable contribution one could make that has such an immediate and important effect as saving a woman from a lifetime of misery. The average price of this surgery is just a few hundred dollars...yet millions of women continue to needlessly suffer. The time to end this is now. It is an incredibly worthwhile cause and a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have done some media work for WWF and love what the company stands for. Unlike other nonprofits, WWF continually keeps the public and donors informed on what's going on and the progress being made. They are clearly making a difference in women's international health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I've been the volunteer anaesthesia provider at Danja Fistula Center for two months now. Working with WFF has done for my career exactly what it needed - a reinvigoration with enthusiasm through partaking in meaningful work. The long-term team are obviously dedicated and driven to deliver a holistic soution to obstetric fistulae. This is not just 'another third world facility', but a hospital that offers a high-standard service whilst being culturally sensitive. I have been very well supported by the US office.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers