Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

“I’ve had my family held at gunpoint, I’ve had malaria, I’ve had a serious exposure to H.I.V., I’ve been separated from family, and I’ve spent about a million hours crammed into coach class on airlines, but it’s worth it. I’d much rather live a meaningful life than a comfortable one.”

Dr.
Arrowsmith, a physician who left a comfy job in the U.S. to rescue young women suffering from obstretic fistulas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2012

more

December 20, 2012

I had the honor of traveling to Niger as a medical assessor for Project C.U.R.E. Spending a week in Danja at the facility, working with the medical team, and performing the hospital assessment all demonstrated what a phenomenal organization this really is. But the real joy came from meeting the women whose lives are transformed by the work done by WFF. The smiles and songs and laughter of these women were the most potent and undeniable evidence that the work done here is truly making the world a better place. This organization is a wonderful example of people deciding to implement positive change in the world and then making it happen. Having performed medical assessments all over the world, Worldwide Fistula Fund is truly a fantastic organization and I would urge anyone who cares about women's health to support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had read an article in Christianity Today a few years back. I could not get the picture of these ladies (some children, as young as 14) having to live over drains. Being a woman and in the medical field my heart ached for these women. Seeing so much "medical waste" and expense here in the U.S. got me thinking about the small cost for a huge difference in a lady's life. I started a business and told my husband that they would be the ones we supported with 10% of sales. I have had just a few comments about why I am not supporting something in the U.S. WELL until you can show me one person who has to live like that in the U.S. I will continue to do what I can for these women. These women are outcasts, but they are loved. I have seen some stories on how these women's life are changed (and only 400 per surgery). We look to the day we can donate thousands to help these ladies and all those volunteering. The true thankfulness and smiles on these healed women are remarkable. I tell others when at vending opportunities briefly about them so they know a portion of their purchase goes to such a wonderful cause. More and more women are getting familiar with what a fistula surgery is (in very general terms).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Three years ago a friend told me about a book, HALF THE SKY. I was so moved by the stories of these women who had overcome so many hardships and obstacles. They were not victims but had used their knowledge to turn around and help others. It was the first time I had ever heard about fistula. I was saddened and shocked that women were suffering from a medical condition that could be easily remedied. One of the organizations mentioned that was trying to deal with this condition was WORLDWIDE FISTULA FUND. So I decided to put this organization on my list of charities. The stories I have read regarding the change in the lives of these women is remarkable. They can now live without discomfort and shame. Those things which were brought to them through no fault of their own.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The Worldwide Fistula Fund does a great job helping to heal women with obstetric fistulas in areas in which they would not otherwise have access to such health care. In particular, they operate the Danja Fistula Center in Niger under difficult conditions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I first heard of obstetric fistulas through NIcolas Kristof and Shreyl WuDunn's insightful book, Half the Sky. The book detailed the unthinkable treatment that women with unfortunate condition endure and the impact that the organizations like the Worldwide Fistula Fund have on changing the lives of women who would otherwise be treated as pariahs. This organization works to heal women who are physically and socially marginalized by funding surgery and creating hospitals. The organization also keeps its donors updated with developments through regular emails. The WWF is a truly honorable effort.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

When a woman's fistula is repaired, her entire life changes; she goes from being an outcast to a productive member of society. I learned of this group through a column Nicholas Kristof of the NY Times on WFF and have been a supporter ever since then. There are a lot of great organizations out there that address the vast medical needs in the third world, but am guessing there are very few that do what WFF does; I am also certain that WFF attract sa small fraction of the funding that goes to the bigger (and also important) groups. I hope this review persuades some people to support WFF, which helps change lives by addressing a medical problem that too few Westerners are aware of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I had opportunity to volunteer as a nurse with WFF before the Danja Fistula Hospital was up and running. During that time we operated on 10 women and it was such a joy to be a part of their healing process! Many women have been rejected by husbands and families and are often cast out of their communities. At Danja, they quickly make friends with the other women. As nurses we made sure to hold hands, hug, and dance with these ladies. Some of them hadn't been touched by another person for years. WFF helps provide not only physical healing through surgery, but also emotional healing. You should see the celebrations we have during a dress ceremony which is a time of dancing, singing, and thanksgiving after the women have a successful surgery and are dry! WFF helps provide life skills to the women, and also helps train local nurses and other personnel in fistula care. Both of these activities help empower and educate local Nigeriens which is crucial for helping stop the cycle of obstetric fistula. I strongly support WFF and hope to one day be able to volunteer again at the Danja Fistula Hospital.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I was moved by one of Nicholas Kristof's articles in the New York Times to make a contribution to this extremely worthy organization, and am delighted to continue to support their important work. These are the most forgotten of women whose lives are being restored by the dedicated professionals who work with the Fund. God bless them all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

What a tremendous cause...and they are really making a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers