Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I was unaware of the existence of fistula until I found out about this organization. Obviously, a condition that causes so much misery to so many women is worthy of our attention and support. I will be a contributor to their cause from now on and will work to spread the word about fistula.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I first learned of Drs. Lewis Wall, Steven Arrowsmith and the Worldwide Fistula Fund in 2009 when reading "Half the Sky" (Kristof & Wu Dunn) a few months after my first experience working in Africa with women with fistula. After years of work in pelvic and women's health as a physical (physio-) therapist in the US and a lifelong interest in global health and human rights, becoming involved as a provider, collaborator, and advocate for women - and specifically for physical (physio-) therapy programs addressing fistula-related concerns - was deeply meaningful; made much more so by connecting with the great people behind WFF. The commitment of this organization to sustainable and thoughtful care is solid and born out in their on-the-ground actions, contributions to the scientific literature and advocacy on behalf of women with fistula to the general public and medical/academic communities. It is a deep privilege for me to count the volunteers and Board of WFF as colleagues and friends in this work and I stand in full support of their team and mission. Sooooooo….bottom line….5 stars!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Obstetric fistula is practically unheard of in the developed world, but it is estimated that 2 million or more women in developing countries live with the consequences. WFF is one of the organizations working tirelessly to raise awareness of fistula and to offer treatment to women who are affected, not only the necessary surgery, but also the rehabilitation and support required to return them to their homes and families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I read about obstetric fistula a couple years before starting my graduate program in occupational therapy. As I investigated this condition further, I learned about the WFF and it's comprehensive mission. Although occupational therapy (OT) is not traditionally part of the obstetric fistula healthcare team, it seemed as if OT would be a valuable addition to help these women live fulfilling, meaningful lives. Despite being a student, the WFF was open to my ideas and supportive of my involvement. I am incredibly grateful for the open-mindedness and generosity of the WFF and its partners in encouraging me to explore the role of OT in rehabilitation for women with obstetric fistula. Thanks to the WFF, I have had the pleasure of working with talented and passionate professionals from around the world in physical therapy, medicine, social work, counseling, research, etc. Additionally, I have learned about the incredible women the WFF supports -- women who are resilient, strong, and motivated despite having an obstetric fistula.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Wow! I cannot express how much the Worldwide Fistula Fund Inc. has impacted my personal and professional life. This organization has sprouted from the life passion of Dr Lewis Wall who started the WFF in order to provide sustainable medical care in developing countries for women with obstetric fistulas. The WWF is an on organization interested in providing not just the necessary surgical care but also the rehabilitation needs for the women as well. Women who have become victim to an obstetric fistula have a tremendous need for rehabilitation both before and after surgery so that they can go on to live productive happy lives. As a Physical Therapist, I was asked to volunteer my time and talents for this wonderfully deserving group of women. I have gained much in the process. I never imagined that my professional skills could be utilized for women in such a profound way! I am greatly appreciative that I can help and that WFF has a vision to provide sustainable care in the future! The brave women I have helped have given me insight into what is true inner beauty and for that I am grateful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

After learning about obstetric fistula ("Cutting for Stone" and "Half the Sky", both wonderful books, were my first introduction) I started doing some research into how I could contribute to this cause. One of the highly rated organizations I found out about was the WFF. Rather than simply making a donation now and again, I wanted to find a sustainable way to make money to donate to the WFF on an ongoing basis. At home in Singapore, I set up a social enterprise, "Liberty Rocks", designing and making jewelry to sell, with all the profits being donated to WFF. The jewelry is designed in Singapore and then made by women in Afghanistan and Thailand (who also benefit from the income) and then sold in Singapore. The idea is to create a positive cycle of women helping women. Raising awareness of fistula is a further benefit - around 95% of people I have met have never heard of it. WFF has been most supportive and sent me information which I am using as part of my campaign to get people to donate either directly or by buying the jewelry. I am very happy to say that the response has been very positive. Thank you to the WFF for their wonderful work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I plan my giving carefully because I want it to go where it will directly benefit people in need. I heard about this organization through Nicholas Kristof's articles and was so impressed with the work they do and the Charity Navigator ratings. I'm proud to have given to the "Love a Sister" campaign and will continue to give to this worthy organization that is transforming the lives of women every single day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Providing financial support for the important work of WFF is an opportunity to do something concrete to right one of the worst wrongs that are inflicted on innocents by an evil part of human society. Women suffering pain and shame and who may die sooner than later are given a new opportunity for a somewhat normal life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

To quote the great and beloved fistula surgeon, pioneer, and advocate, Dr. Reginald Hamlin, referring to the fistula pilgrims that he would find standing alone in urine soaked rags at the bus stops of Addis Ababa: "To meet only one was to be profoundly moved and called forth the utmost compassion that the human heart was capable of feeling."

I heartily commend the mission of the Worldwide Fistula Fund! Obstetric fistula is an 'orphan disease'. Victims of VVF need love, attention, compassion, caring, and help and the Worldwide Fistula Fund is championing this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have followed the progress of this organization for many years and have been impressed by its steady development. They were able to build a functioning fistula hospital in the world's poorest country (Niger) which is no small feat! They have supported advocacy, research and public awareness at national and international meetings and have been a consistent presence in the fistula world for nearly 20 years. WFF is actually the oldest charity in the United States devoted to work on obstetric fistula. I have seen their work firsthand. It is a good organization which continues to grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them develop a better corporate presence, better ongoing publicity, and more consistent fundraising efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers