Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12.89583345
Write A Review
August 26, 2012

more

August 26, 2012

These guys tell you how much they care about the animals, but your donations go to the government. I don't like that they have no donor privacy policies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 29, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I am impressed with the work of this organization and as a business leader in the for-profit world, I must say they are incredibly efficient with their expenses. On nearly every "larger" non-profit's reviews one can find multiple comments criticizing the CEO's compensation. However, a CEO of such a large nonprofit organization must be knowledgeable about running a large, sophisticated enterprise. They must have a working knowledge of finance; operations; fund development; marketing; and a myriad of other aspects of running a business. I personally as a donor want to make sure that a competent leader is at the helm. I would be quite frightened to see a $75k/year leader running a $150+M business - this level of individual would likely not have the business acumen to fulfill the requirements of the job. Plus, the nonprofit sector competes with the for-profit sector for top executive talent, where a similarly-situated individual would likely command a compensation package of $1M or greater. Look at the percent of the total budget the CEO's comp amounts to, and at this size organization, it should be less than 2%. Here, it's less than 1/2 of 1% - amazing. I feel better knowing my donor dollars are managed by a fairly-paid executive who can handle the complexities of an organization at this level.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 19, 2012

they love to call and mail you stuff nonstop, but i don't know that donating did anything other than pay someones salary. they have refused to remove me from their lists when i requested it and never explained how they got my information in the first place either

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Seem to be good, but not clear on where my money went after I gave it. Would like more transparency.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 13, 2012

When I saw the amount of money going to the CEO I will not continue to donate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am not a Donor yet. I'm concerned about their expenses. I'm also upset that when I called to donate, I was surprise to hear that the Adoption fee per month was higher than mentioned in the TV Ad. I'm not calling this bait and switch but its close. I have no problem with the token gifts as the one women seemed to be. She should realize the first payment will cover whatever they send and they will have the monthly donations from then on. What she should be concerned about is the Expenses they call out! Salaries appear high. This unfortunately is the trouble with a lot of charities, to many fat cats at the top, no pun intended.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

March 24, 2012

Hello, just saw a tv commercial regarding endangered tigers and decided to check out wwe.org. I was happy to see that a claimed 80+ cents of every dollar goes towards the conservation efforts, but appalled however at finding out what the CEO's yearly earnings are... If you're listening wwe.org, reduce that salary and you'll have my contribution... Yes, I am living what I preach. I've taken a 33% hit in my salary due to the down turn in the economy by starting over and taking an entry level position in public service, but can still live a comfortable life by cutting back on some unnecessary expenses... and as I ready to sign my name up to help a tiger out there, I find myself disgusted at the CEO's salary...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012

WWF claims to have spend millions of USD over the years in Madagascar, yet, nothing to show for it. They tried very hard once to kick out De Heaulme, who owns the Berenty Reserve out of his own property! They would rather see the poorest among the poor (Mahafaly, Antandroy) being kept this way rather than see them developing real sustainable projects for it would harm their message (wildlife is endangered everywhere you look)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 16, 2012

I am not sure how high to rate WWF and that is why I am writing, because I have a question on what has been bothering me. I would like to know where these "free" gifts come from. Are they donated to WWF or is WWF buying them and if so how much of our donations are going to the purchase of these "free" gifts. That is my main concern as well as the salary of the CEO, but if someone can tell me that part of my donation is not going to give "free" gifts out, which I never accept, then I might feel better about donating. Can someone answer this question for me?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I notice that two prior reviews also criticize WWF for their INCREDIBLE avidity for my supplemental donations, and that they are similarly alarmed with the frequency and persistence of these requests.

My concern is actually with two sub-topics of the WWF marketing effort.

1) Do we
really ONLY care about pretty, anthropomorphic, dewy eyed animals occasionally interspersed with bold, proud and gorgeous carnivores? The photographic theme of WWF's materials is much too glamorous and cute, without ANY true naturalistic view of the humble and non-statuesque critters who might need saving.

2) I give to 70+ charities (social, political, environmental, service-sector) and NOBODY pushes out as much swag as WWF. With your donation, we'll send you greeting cards, calendars, hats, tote-bags, umbrellas, T-shirts, letter-stickers, shoelaces, plush toys, and ash-trays (ok, maybe not ash-trays). Every year, I review their Charity Navigator ranking, expecting there to be some recognition that they have become a tax-exempt wholesaler for environmental trinkets and NOT an environmental organization of impact or utility. It's AMAZING that they maintain a 4-star rating, and endangers my trust in Char-Nav.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers