Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12.89583345
Write A Review
January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

They do good work to protect wild animals, but not apparently because they want them to live in peace. They
are a pro hunting organization so they want to save wildlife from poachers so rich people can have the
pleasure of killing them on safari. Hard to understand. They seem to have the
attitude that animals
are ours to exploit without out any rights of their own.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

December 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Too much of their money is spent on overhead and advertisements aimed at getting more donations. They do little "boots on the ground" work and some of their philosophies run counter to true wildlife conservation. EG. They actually support hunting of some endangered species. They also have a tendency to pander to govts such as the Chinese. There are many other organizations out there doing solid work in combating trafficking of endangered species. Those same orgs also more more money into doing actual work and less money into supporting huge administrative overhead.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love animals and if you love animals you should donate. Habitat Loss and Pollution are the main factors that are wiping out wildlife. WWF helps protect wildlife from these, by helping establish laws, create captive breading facilities, etc...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Although I totally support the cause of helping wildlife and animals in general, unfortunately my experience with WWF was a very bad one. When I called to donate I was told that I would receive a "save the tigers" t-shirt. When I called weeks later and inquired why I never received it the employees were very arrogant and rude to me. They gave me the brush off and talked to me in a very unprofessional and insulting manner and even hung up on me. This left a very bad impression on me and I will never donate to them again. They really need to address the lack of common sense and professionalism of these employees who take the money over the phone.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 8, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I can't speak as an insider, but I live in Rwanda and since WWF has managed some of the parks here, the parks have increased revenue for badly needed tourism (it's hard to get people to travel hours to a forest if there is no infrastructure and without tourism, the dire poverty in the area causes people to poach from the forest and take out resources). For example, when I recently went to visit a habituated (understand that does not mean "tamed" or "in captivity") monkey troupe, the tracker was a local woman. There are managed honey gathering and candle making projects that use resources sustainably rather than using the burning-out method which did significant damage to the forest in the past.. I don't know who owns the lodge at the edge of the forest (Gisakura GH) but WWF staff were staying there in very modest quarters. I'll keep paying attention to issues people say about the compensation and the overkill on publicity, but I think they are doing important work in the field.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer I was very sad because I oberved huge waste of money, so people like Janet46 who gives donation to WWF in fact has s asmall percentage of her donation that really help wildlife and environment. I am don't trust WWF when they had to cover up a big scandal about corruption in Africa. Their are good at marketing and since it is a old and famous one, people donate, but if they really knew!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

World Wildlife Fund is the premier global wildlife non profit organization. They work in numerous countries around the world helping endangered species and their habitats. They also have a strong focus on climate change and how it affects the Earth and its inhabitants. They have a heavy involvement in the war on wildlife trafficking. The WWF campaign that touches my heart the most is the one trying to save wild tigers. Wild tigers could become extinct in my lifetime if people don't step up to help. WWF is one of the leaders in trying to save wild tigers by their efforts in saving tiger habitat and trying to stop tiger trafficking and poaching. I an proud to be a supporter of World Wildlife Fund.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

WWF needs to be more transparent and more dependent. Too much money is wasted!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

not convinced about their spending.. too much moent spending on fundraising and expensive staff

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

too big, too much waste of resources, and in some countries (e.g. cameroon) corrupted. I was involved for WWF before...

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers