Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12.89583345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

These bad reviews are ridiculous. Where are the claims of corruption etc coming from?

http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=4770#.U_yb67xdW2Q
January 5, 2014

more

January 5, 2014

Here is another dishonest organization using lies to get money to supposedly help animals. If they lie to get the money then they are more then likely not using most if any of the money to help any animals.

They keep lying about global warming saying the polar bears habitat is shrinking
when it has grown by 50% going along with the bankers and power companies who are making billions of dollars on these lies.

Never ever give any organization money who lies to get support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would quit lying and deceiving the public to get donations. Remove the fake polar bear commercial WWF needs to get the facts before posting false information like that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Contrary to many of the reviews here, WWF is an organization which is very much "boots on the ground" - more so than most other large conservation NGOs. That's not saying they could not improve, but they work on long term initiatives, with collaborating with many partners, to make lasting impacts to wildlife through management improvement, laws and regulations, and innovative initiatives.

When considering the amount of overhead for any NGO it's important to consider this in relation to the scale of the company, and also keeping in mind that for profit businesses wouldn't be successful if they couldn't pay their employees a decent salary and spend money on research and development or training of employees or other expenses that are not "boots on the ground" but that make those boots SOOOO much more effective when they are on the ground (and make sure that boots are trampling the correct ground/direction).

Regarding the hunting aspect - well controlled and regulated trophy hunting is one of the best conservation tools out there. As animal lovers we might not like it, but this is the truth. It is incredible brave and forward thinking for WWF to be working on well managed trophy hunting for the long term preservation of species - even though people sitting in their comfy house in the US with their pets don't agree.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Why does the CEO make $495,806????? I am not sending my hard earned dollars to here. Sorry, but that is too much. there are may charities out there that don't spend so much on salaries. That's just not right.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The income statement numbers on Charity Navigator do not match the ones released by WWF (2012 annual report). There is no way to tell then what percentage is spent on programs. How did Charity Navigator come up with the numbers in the income statement?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am dismayed by the small percentage of donations that go to the programs. If you go to their website, they claim that they spend 84% of their budget on programs . Either that's an outright misstatement or they haven't been checked out by CN lately. My cut-off is 75%, so these people are off my list. Also, staff is too highly paid for a non-profit.
Last year I made the mistake of allowing them to charge an automatic payment against my credit card. In January this year, I called to have that arrangement cancelled, and, in fact, it did not appear on my February statement. But it just appeared on my March statement. Of course, I will have to make another call and have my credit card company disallow this payment. I don't need this.



More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Like many other reviewers, too much of my donation goes for fundraising (22%), plus the CEO is too richly paid for this type of organization. Didn't know what one reviewer said: that they support hunting ...is that true?? Gave them 2 (vs. 1) star 'cause I do think that they have an impact on some important wildlife projects. I have shifted most of my donation, however, to Wildlife Conservation Network, a very lean, focused, professional organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

more

January 23, 2013

No more donations to WWF, they spend some of our money to send mails all the time and waste papers. Help other group like Endangered Species International or the Center for Biological Diversity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I gave $200 in early 2012 and every few weeks received solicitations for more money. I saved every one of those mailings and their combined weight over a year is a tad more than 3 pounds. I am extremely unhappy and will be giving elsewhere in future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013

This is a really good charity organisation, with the charity getting donations online, by mobile and from advertisments the organisation helps animals and their habitat to stop them becoming extinct. This is a charity i would highly recommend you to donate to this charity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers