Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
123.5217445
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
May 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

A recent circulating e-mail states that World Vision is one of the highest offenders in paying CEO's: "The World Vision President (Canada) receives $300,000 base salary plus: a supplied home valued at $700-$800,000 which is completely furnished. All housing expenses are paid, including taxes, water/sewer, telephone, high speed weekly maid service. Private schooling is provided for his children, he receives and upscale automobile, a $55,000 personal expense account for food, clothing, etc and a $125,000 business expense account, etc., etc. Please respond to this. Is it true????

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Having attended numerous World Vision trips and functions I can tell you first hand you will not find a better source for your charitable dollar. World Vision's Area Development approach is by far the "best in the business". With a budget of over 1 BILLION dollars World Vision was able to recruit the CEO of Lennox, Rich Stearns. Rich took a significant pay cut to take over World Vision and basically walked away from millions he would be making in the corporate arena. Read his book before you decide to stop helping save the lives of the poorest of the poor. There's a reason why World Vision was the 2nd largest charitable organization in the USA last year. World Vision has earned my trust.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been donating to World Vision for several years and finally decided to check them out on Charity Navigator. I was shocked to read some of the reviews and esp see how much their CEO makes. I compared this with the other child sponsorship organization CEOs and most of them make way less, some nothing at all, devoting their time for free. I wrote to World Vision to express my disappointment and got a long rambling response validating and justifying WHY their CEO makes market salary. If he wants a market salary, he should work for a large corporate house not an organization supposedly dedicated to serving the underpriveleged. I am a salaried person who makes a fraction of what their CEO makes and have been denying myself several things each month so I can donate to a child for several years now. I can only hope my donations found their way to my sponsored child all thes eyears. And I am taking my hard earned support elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

I have been giving to world vision for several years I decided to check them out on charity navigator. After seeing their ceo make three times what I do I think I'll find another charity to donate to. Noone needs that much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

After reading the book "The Hole in our Gospel", my wife and I decided to sponsor a child in Africa through World Vision. Having looked at various charities with similar goals, we choose to use World Vision. Their rating is high; their effectiveness is unquestionable and the amount of our donation that actually goes to the children is extremely high. We were also moved by the personal commitment of Mr Stearns. While executive compensation is always going to be second-guessed by donors or potential donors, we looked at the compensation in the context of the overall effectiveness of World Vision and recognized that a person with the experience and skills to lead an organization of this size and influence is worth his pay. We're pleased to be able to help children through World Vision, and we are more than comfortable that the Lord's money is being well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love this charity. I support 3 kids through it monthly, and have been for years. I wonder why they feel they need to pay the president so much though?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 14, 2011

I thoroughly enjoy the relationship I have with my child I support in Africa. When I get the mailings with the activity book to sign and send to him, I get to right a nice note to him and his family.... more

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I support this organization because of their great service to humanity. And because such a high percentage of my money goes directly to programs for the needy. Through World Vision, I've been able to supply food, water, medicine, mosquito nets, and farm animals to people in Africa, increasing the quality of life there.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

getting pictures of my sponsored child and his community, and regular updates on the progress of projects there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

You should donate to them. They are very efficient in their operation, and it changes the lives of millions of people in great need.

February 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoy the relationship I have with my child I support in Africa. When I get the mailings with the activity book to sign and send to him, I get to right a nice note to him and his family. I receive pictures and notes from them periodically. It's great.

My gifts have helped
fund a well for good water, animals, food, medicine, school supplies, clothing and much more for a greatly improved community.

We have SO MUCH in my country that we take for granted. Over there, clean water is a luxury. It does my heart good to help.

This is an organization that is lean on the management side, and every dollar I give is used very wisely. A very impressive percentage goes directly to the benefit of the people I aim to help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As I mentioned, I experienced the results of this organization via the great pleasure of helping those in need, and watching a boy grow up healthy and educated in a wonderfully improved community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of much improvement. They've been at it so long that they are VERY great at what they do. I might like more pictures of the community I'm helping, but what I get is fine. Anything else I might like to see would cost money and take away from the community, so I'm happy as is.

February 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I sponsor two kids through World Vision: a 12-year-old girl in Ethiopia and an 11-year-old boy in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It’s such an amazing experience to be able to reach out and touch a young life on other side of the world. World Vision's project work to improve entire communities through the sponsorship of children – to attack poverty and to provide better living conditions and resources for all nearby – truly makes a lasting impact for current and future generations in these impoverished countries. A few times a year we receive letters from our sponsored kids, and at the end of each year we get a detailed update about them and the project in their community. The letters and the updates often come with pictures drawn by the kids, and we receive the letters written in their original language as well as translated copies. I find it incredible that the World Vision field workers can reach so personally into the lives of each sponsored child, while the charity as a whole is able to maintain such wonderful organizational transparency and excellent program money usage. We want to sponsor a third child soon!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sponsoring two kids, one in Ethiopia and one in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

December 9, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 9, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

My first experience with WV was in 1976. After a 2 year commitment to the Peace Corps in Nepal, I was visiting Bangladesh and saw the work of WV. A severe famine had forced many people into Dhaka to search for food. WV was providing food and shelter but also a means to make a living for folks with no land. (In a subsistence level farming society, a family with no land has no way to support themselves.) WV provided sewing machines, a silk worm farm, small fishing boats and nets to assist these people in making a living. I have been a sponsor ever since and provided extra funds for one of the children to go to a technical school for an associates degree in agricultre. Having experienced the waste and inefficiencies of government programs, WV is a model of good stewardship in my book!

Photos

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

I like what World Vision is doing to help those in need. I think they are being good stewards of the money that is being given them. I don't completely agree with their policy of not hiring those who don't share the same faith because WV accepts money from people of different faiths/beliefs and those people are working with WV to help those in need too. Seems contradictory. I understand they are a faith based organization but who knows how many people could be reached by working for them who didn't know Christ before?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers