Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
123.5217445
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter who is 17 committed my family to a $35 monthly donation. This charity did not ask if she was 18, ask for ID or if she had permission to commit my family. I find that this is poor practice for an organization who is looking for world class recognition.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

The following are two reviews for two different sponsored children through World Vision and two different situations entirely: one for a short lived sonsorship in Ghana, and  one that came to an abrupt end by World Vision in India this month.
1) I sponsored a girl in Ghana, but could not shake
the feeling that I was being ripped off by the local "charity".  I received a picture of a different girl, and when I called WV in the US to find out what was going on, was literally told that children change as they get older. Mind you, I had just started sponsoring the girl a few months earlier, so she must have turned into a different person within a few months. After insisting hat this was a different human being, they agreed to look into it. I never heard back about it. I also asked the WV employee on the phone how much oversight they had over Ghana employees, as I never heard back form the sponsored child after sending her mail. I was of course reassured that I had nothing to worry about. In the course of the following weeks, I sent another letter and parcel but never received an answer. Instead, I got a "progress report" (fill in the blank card) that was clearly filled out by an employee. He/she had the audacity to draw three lines in the back (drawing area for children) and write "vase" and "tree" next to them. The "drawings" were done with the same ballpoint pen, yet I had sent the girl color pencils and crayons. The girl being 10 years old, I expected her to at least draw her own drawing (what else is the point of it?!)and fill in the blanks on her report herself. (My name is ____ I am ___ years old... nothing fancy here!) When I called to inquire, the WV staff were ignorant to the fact that this 4th grader lived in a country with English as its official language and reminded me that they operated in countries where translators were needed!! They must have passed on my complaints, because I received 4 letters within 2 weeks, one thanking me for "all the gifts". The letters  were typed and kept referring to the girl as "the child". I decided not to keep sponsoring some corrupt Ghanaian employee's villa any longer and wrote one last good bye letter. Sadly, I will never know if this girl ever even knew she had a sponsor, or if she ever benefited from any money I sent. ............................................................. 2) I have been sponsoring a girl in India for the past 5 1/2 yrs, during which time, I only received two "progress reports" that were not even filled out by her herself, but by the WV employee in the respective office, though at the time of the last one she was in 4th grade and had taken English since 1st grade. Yesterday, I bought back to school gifts I wanted to send to her. When I logged into my online account last night to look up the address, a different child was presented to me as my sponsored child, in a different part of India, whom I had presumably started sponsoring 3 weeks ago?! I called up the office today and they informed me that WV was no longer needed in my sponsored girl's region and that they are stopping operations there. I no longer could sponsor her, write to her, find out about her, would never be able to get in touch with her due to their child protection policies, and in short, should just get over it and sponsor that other child they already signed me up for or any other child I chose. I am completely heart-broken, because I had planned on visiting her, on the day I made this commitment (it was never a matter of "if" and always a matter of "when") , I had commited to myself to see her through college and make sure that, when she is old enough, she would know that she has someone who can help her if she ever were in need. In short, I was determined to make this specific girl's life better and give her a real chance in life. While the monthly gift goes to the community, I had hoped that through letters, books, writing utensils, writing paper, an atlas, etc., she would gain an appreciation for school, and through an education have a better life. Now, I won't ever know anything about her. I never ever thought sponsorship could come to such an abrupt and unnatural end. The WV employee on the phone commended me for taking such interest in a person I do not know, and reminded me that child sponsorship never really goes directly to the child anyway, but to the community... yet, THEY create this bond on purpose by sending out a photo and a name, so that, as a sponsor, you associate ONE person with your gift. How would I not feel saddened to know that all this was taken away form her and me without as much as a prior notice.
Also, I never knew if she ever received any of the books, letters, pens, pencils, toys, etc. that I sent her. I am now looking to find a different organization where communication is more open. I feel burned by World Vision and can't get over the fact that I will never know if "my little girl" ended up on the street, in a brothel, as a child bride, or in college. And I will NEVER stop wondering.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring a girl in Mexico for two years. I gave 100 dollar special gift . I did get a picture of her with her gifts which was nice . The letter seemed fake though like it wasn't her talking. Also the letter had the wrong name on it. I called the field office and they said I was her only sponsor and not to worry. Besides thevthank you letters for money she never wrote.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 9, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I sponsored seven children and did not find out the truth about sponsorship for many years. All of the thousands of dollars that I paid all those years to ensure that my sponsored children had food, clean water, education, and medical care were wasted. In addition, I gave multiple $500-$1,000 "gift notifications" to World Vision to buy things for specific children, for example to purchase oxen (twice), to build a home, and to build and stock a chicken farm. When inquiring about a specific child who I had sponsored for seven years, I was told that she was being fed three times per week at school. OK, so World Vision feels that three meals a week constitutes the child being fed? What about the rest of the time? No food help from World Vision. I also learned that yes, the child receives a medical exam once per year, but not treatment of any health problems. My child needed iron tablets, which cost pennies, but World Vision would not provide those to my child. It makes me sick to think of the thousands of dollars I gave to World Vision now that I know almost no good was done with any of it. Donors, beware!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I only hope the money I give will do good for the child I am sponsoring and his family as well as his village. I did receive a letter from my sponsor child's parents thanking me for sponsoring their child, it was a nice letter. I hope World Vision will only become more efficient with funds and continues to try to help people as best as they can. I'm not a Christian but I think this is the best charity to help a sponsored child, and that is what really matters.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have donated monthly to support a child for a couple years now and we think it is the best nonprofit organization out there. We love how they help people and how they get their donors involved in helping others. We also think how they break down their finances is reasonable and purposeful. If any employee is making a lot of money, we trust the organization to have good reason for it. It is easy for us to say that they make too much and the money should go to help others, however we trust them and believe that their hearts are in the right place and I'm sure they use their own money to be generous to others as opposed to lavish spending.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

For those of you debating about what the World Vision President makes: The email circulating is false, but only in that it refers to World Vision (Canada). The President for World Vision U.S. is the one that makes nearly half a million a year salary. The email was correct, however it should have noted World Vision U.S. President Richard Stearns and (not) World Vision Canada President Dave Toycen. Regardless, they're under the same umbrella. If you still don't believe it's true look it up, it's all public info. Here it is on Forbes: http://www.forbes.com/lists/2010/14/charity-10_World-Vision_CH0194.html

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Unfortunately I did not do my research when I sponsored two children from World Vision, to see what their employees or CEO's are paid, or even researched what the children are learning. I was already a sponsor with Compassion International for 3 children at the time and another sponsor had a child with World Vision so I chose a couple also. Since then, which has been almost 6 years now, I have noticed the difference between Compassion and World Vision and I would prefer to give more support to Compassion. I do believe World Vision does a lot of good work but I like the openness of Compassion and how they do things regarding the paperwork and the finances. I was actually a volunteer level II Advocate until this past January when I had to give it up due to Shingles affecting me physically, I still have them. I would never tell anyone not to choose World Vision nor would I promote them, I tell everyone that they are a good organization but I do prefer Compassion. Every years since I became a sponsor Compassion has continued to show good results through Charity Navigator.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

tours and field trips taken to a couple of the countries where I sponsor children. I actually was able to meet two of my children on two different trips. I and others on the tour received a tour of the Compassion Local Offices to see how they handle the letters that are sent to the children; also tours of some projects, and actually visited some of the homes of some sponsored children. There was a distinct improvement between Compassion sponsored children and non-sponsored children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't believe I would change anything.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I did not not make a gift, I sponsor children and partner with 3 child survival projects as well as include a separate donation for their HIV/Aids program. I was prompted by the Lord to become a sponsor. The Earthquake in Haiti did prompt me to send in a separate donation just for those with Compassion who had lost families and homes in Haiti.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

See above.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I would tell them just what I told the various churches that held Compassion Sundays, that Compassion was a reliable, caring, loving organization that only wants the best for the children of the world, especially in third world countries, that they are honest, trustworthy, and care more about helping the children not only survive but to come to know Jesus Christ. They also care more about how their money is used to help the children, which includes their families, their projects, their communities and eventually even their countries.

May 28, 2012

more

May 28, 2012

No doubt it is a good charity and the goal is admirable. Still $380.6 K is a lot of money for someone whose goal is to help. If he made !00 K less, think of how many more children could be helped. As a percentage of the money involved, his salary is probably not exhorbitant. Nonetheless, the more he takes, the less goes to the children. I guess the Salvation Army needs to go overseas. I did not volunteer time. Just a pretty good chunk of money in 2011. Those who give a physical effort God bless and more power to you. You are good people. . . . all of you and Mr. Sterns as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Alvin, the email you are referring to is completely false. Snopes even ran an article on it: http://www.snopes.com/politics/business/charities.asp

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers